We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Nearby Hotels
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
$475
$405
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amarte Hotel(Playa Maroma)(Great Value!)
$73
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kin Sol Soleil(Playa Maroma)
$375
$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$259
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$246
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$291
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,421)
Filter reviews
8,421 results
Traveler rating
4,086
2,944
832
327
232
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,086
2,944
832
327
232
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivileged guestsprivileged sectiontio pedroprivileged roomstapas restaurantprivileged upgradeprivilege roomprivileged beacheuropean guestscrepesgreat beachjuice baranimation teambeach bara la carte restaurantsmain buffetlobby buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,743 - 1,748 of 8,421 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I will begin with the positives. The beach and grounds are lovely, and most of the staff were great, especially in the buffet. The shows were fun, and we enjoyed the live music in the lobby a few evenings.
Now the negatives. Dont be tricked in to thinking that the only privileged buildings are 5 and 6, we were in building 2, and only saw two buildings that were not marked priviledged. The rooms are old and need updating badly. We asked a Canadian group who had rooms in buildings 3 and 6, and they stated that all the room are the same. Our toilet didnt work well and either ran the whole time or wouldnt flush at all. After cleaning up the mess from the time that it flowed over, I called the desk three times beginning at 5 pm and finally got someone to come and fix it after 11pm. The air conditioning was freezing and ran constantly unless you kept the slider open. The lighting in our room was terrible, although they had a nice magnifying mirror, it was so dark that make up was a struggle. We usually love buffets, and this is the first time after many, many trips to the area that the food was repeatative and nothing really stood out. They have a special drink each night in the lobby for a couple of hours, and they were really good! The problem is that when that is put away, they make all drinks from mixes that are terrible! They will not use fruit or make drinks from scratch. Stay away from the vegetation when choosing chairs by the pool, the bugs are bad, and they bite! Many people were covered with large red bites, including me. We requested a king bed in building 5 or 6, and received two beds in building 2, which was fine. One bed was usuable, not good, and the other was terrible, hard and lumpy.
We are not complainers and do not expect to be entertained, but believe me when I say that except for a few wonderful people from Canada, we felt very alienated. They had trivia in the lobby, which was great if you spoke Italian. We met very few English speaking guests.
Although the grounds, pool and beach were lovely, we would not return to this resort.

Room Tip: Stay away from Caribbean car rental
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kelndel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent the first two weeks of February in this resort and we found the staff was very cooperative as well as the weather. We were surprised that in such a large resort there were no generators when there was a power outage. The food quality was hit and miss but there was a lot of variety to choose from. There was not a single umbrella available at the reception when the rain started pouring in and we were socked wet by the time we run to out room which was 6 minutes walking distance from the lobby. The evening entertainment was amateurish and boring except the nights of Mariachis. We could not find a listing of the daily activities on the beach/pool area to plan our time. Luckily we had opted for the privileged section of the resort which included some umbrellas on the beach, compared to the regular section which had no umbrellas at all, only some palm trees. There are no ocean view rooms other than the bridal suites. The resort is large and seniors with walking disabilities may find it difficult to get around.

Room Tip: Higher floors in building 6, but keep in mind that there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Garo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We chose this property because of all the wonderful publicity about the beach. It is gorgeous, white sand....so beautiful. You can walk in both directions for miles, and to the south there is only one other resort (Secrets Maroma Beach), so it feels like a private island getaway. No need to snorkel here as schools of beautiful angel fish are very tame and will swim right up to you in water just knee deep. We even saw a sword fish!

Absolutely be sure to upgrade to the Privilege section. Your room location and dining choices are so much better and make the trip so much more memorable. "Privilege" guests can also enjoy breakfast and lunch at the Terrace restaurant. The food is great, the service is a little slow, but we're on vacation and with the view you are afforded who cares! Our favorite ala carte restaurant was the steak restaurant, the Tortuga. They have delicious steaks and ribs.

We didn't discover the private "jungle path" to the beach until our last day. If you are in building 6 go to the courtyard area and follow the signs.

Don't miss the butterfly house which is close to the main lobby and open daily. I understand they also give guided tours twice a week.

Our room was wonderful with authentic Mexican decor, which we really enjoyed. With many of the Mexican resorts changing over to a very modern look, I appreciated that our room here made me feel like I was in Mexico, not New York.

The long walkway from the main lobby with intersecting walkways to each of the buildings and eventually the pool and beach area gives the resort a real jungle feel which was unique and beautiful. You cannot see any of the buildings from the walkway which made it quieter and more private.

The large pool area is divided into four sections with varying depths.

Don't miss the Ma Loo juice bar near the beach or the Creperie, poolside (beneath the Terrace Restaurant) where you can get delicious crepes, milk shakes or banana splits throughout the day.

Yes, the resort has primarily European clientele (we were told about 80% on average). We were aware of this before we booked. We travel to experience new things and found the different languages being spoken only added to our experience. The manager and assistant manager Pilar and Tatiana speak fluent English as do at least two members of the animation team - Eder and Jesus. They all made us feel truly welcome.

The entire staff and management went way above and beyond to make us feel welcome and make our stay truly wonderful. Many, many thanks to the manager, Pilar, assistant manager, Tatiana, Restaurant Manager Fabio and the waiter at the Tortuga restaurant, Carlos, Eder and Jesus on the Animation team - we enjoyed visiting with you, your friendliness will never be forgotten. You are all delightful people and I look forward to seeing you when we return next year.

Room Tip: Building 6 is the very best. Close to everything.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank sunlover42429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We decided to book this trip at the absolute last minute and we absolutely loved it. We were impressed with our room and the staff was just lovely! We speak spanish so we had a really good time with the staff an we were treated like family throughout our whole stay. The waiting staff al Pajarito (Juan Mendez, Jose, Darvelio, Olegario, Carlos) were just great and always so happy to see us come in. They were really attentive and very friendly. Same goes for the tequila bar, which we went to every day just to chat with the excellent bartenders (Orlando, Balthazar, Luis, Arturo, Jessica) and have awesome drinks as well as awesome service. The beach was amazing and the pool was a lot of fun too. The à la carte restaurants were not as good foodwise as the buffet (we thought) but the staff was nice, again! The hacienda style rooms are so authentic looking and the nature and little coati are just amazing. Our room was well cleaned everyday and we never missed out on anyhting! The only things that caught a bit of our attention was that we were not properly informed of all the facilities available (we were privilege customers) for example we found out on the last day of our stay that there was a snack lunch and breakfast for privilege members at the tapas restaurant. Also, the fact that europeans run the activities, is a little strange to us. Being in Mexico, we would have thought that the activities be runned only by Mexicans. Other than that, we loved our stay and we would have stayed a lot longer. We will definitley recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 217Elisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Spent a week at this all inclusive via Apple Vacations...mostly European clients with a few Americans. Only an issue when trying to converse with staff. Also had a power outage, which they said happens frequently, yet there was no emergency plan to inform/assist guests, plus all our hall and stair "emergency" lights (battery operated) were out in 20 minutes. The outage lasted a couple hours at early nighttime. Also lots of dark paths to travel, thank goodness for lights on IPhones

The reason for "hit and Miss" is that somethings were great and some were not even close to great. We are beach people, and the beach was great !
If that's enough for you, please go...everything else was good one instance then bad the next. Food, accommodations, a/c, staff, check-in process, Apple rep, drinks. Just no consistency to it all. Also, seemed understaffed in most areas.

Room Tip: All are far from either end of resort (approx 500yards beach to lobby). Number 5,6 blds are closest to beach...but farthest from the main dinning area. Noise on our 3rd floor unit, except for our A/C unit was non-existent
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chucksue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews