We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation/hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Vacation/hotel”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is now called Catalonia Privileged Maroma. My girlfriend and I went to this resort for a week in the beginning of November. The drive from theCancun Airport is approximately 30 minutes. Get 2 beers from the airport for the drive. We arrived at the resort where we booked a privileged room. This is an upgrade from the basic room. We had no wait for check in because we were privileged guests. The walkway from the lobby is long but cool because of the beautiful trees and the coati's. They are friendly little racoon/monkey looking animals. The walkway was also frustrating. The resort has alot of french people there. The walkway is wide enough for 4 people to walk side by side easily. Almost every time we walked down this walkway, there were ignorant french people walking 3 people wide and not move over causing them to bump into you.

The room was awsome. The bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was a litle dated but definately aceptable. The beach was huge. Lots of chairs to sit on. There was a waiter coming around to get you drinks. The ocean water was rough. Not calm at all. You couldn't snorkel from the resort because of the rough water making it cloudy.

The 3 restaurants were all equally great. The food and service were great. The restaurant above the beach bar had an amazing view to go along with the food and service.

Take a snorkeling trip to palancar reef. It was amazing. There are no shops near by. Downtown Playa Del Carmen is around 35 minutes away. That ia a $25 taxi ride each way. We will definately be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,420
    2,529
    691
    279
    198
See reviews for
2,022
3,639
116
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

ok just returned from my return trip to Catalonia Maroma for our second time, first let me say the weather was not in our favor this trip but i cant blame the resort for this. this was our second trip to the resort and was very happy with the updates that were made and ver surprised also. We had a constant strom that came thru here and there but the staff continued to do their best and never missed a beat. I must agree with some of the other comments who say its catered to the Europeans but honestly who cares because we still had a great and i mean great time!!!! We were greated by a banner that said welcome back on our door and drinks and a basket of fruit in our room which was a great surprise.... Thanks. We met a couple from Ill Bob and Nita who who were celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary who went out to eat at the Blue Lobster with us. huge Lobster but my first time and last time eating lobster but everyone enjoyed. To everyone who says its not for Americans, i do understand but when you are outnumbered 98 to 2 i can see why but we still found time to enjoy. Food good but sure after 6 days its going to be the same. Staff great, room just ok, after being in my own bed that hard bed was not the greateast. I still love this place and olny thing i really missed was being able to feed the fish in the ocean due to the weather and the waves in the ocean. I had never been to the Catalonia in November but trust me i would never chance it again because the weather was a monster for sure.. Still the greatest beaches in the world i think, geratest staff and beautiful place for sure. things that could be fixed, please bring back the shuttle to Playa de Carmen i really missed it, even if you need to up the fee just a little bit, maybe more english speaking events but honestly who care just get new UNO CARDS and i could care less, and maybe a real backgammon game. I suggest guest bring playing cards or a game to play because the wear and tear has beat theirs up, bring a ro go mug to keep from running bak to he bar, and just relax and enjoy the place uts really great!!!! Cant wait to return in the early summer months forsure lol

Room Tip: take the upgrade before you go, its really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upmovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

It only gets better! This was our third stay at Catalonia Playa Maroma and it was not disappointing. From the time we stepped off the bus, the excellent service started and never ended. We booked in the Privelege section and were escorted to the private check in. Debra in the Privelege office was so accomodating. The room we requested was undergoing renovations, and we were upgraded to a beautiful Honeymoon Suite. The room faced the jungle which was perfect since our balcony had a jacuzzi.

The grounds of Catalonia are stunning, you see staff constantly tweeking and cleaning.; and always stop to say hello;[ hola ]. Anywhere you are you will see luscious landscaping and lots of friendly little critters [ iguanas ; coatis ; etc. ] .

We dined at all restaurants during our stay and we have to say, we were not disappointed. A special thanks to Nayeli, hostess at the alacartes and to Carlos, the Captain, for their kindness. Victor, our server at the Toscano was very attentive to our needs and all these folks made our dining experience pleasant. We ate breakfast at the buffet by the lobby and Roberto, in section 2, was there every morning ready to assist with any of our needs. Their service was outstanding!

The beach, the one thing that comes to mind is AWESOME. It is never disappointing. the beach is kept clean, and we walked every day in either direction from the resort and were not bothered by stray dogs or unwanted vendors. This beach is a private area where only 3 resorts including Catalonia sit. The ocean is glorious, by far the best we've experienced and we've been to many beaches in the Cancun and Playa area. It was and has always been for us a glorious experience! The water is alway clear blue and no rocks or shells in the sand in the water. The sand on the beach is cool to the feet.

The animation team, they work so hard to keep everyone entertained. Twelve hour days with one day off. We had a private archery set with Jesus, it was sooo much fun.

If you read other postings and you are not sure if you should visit Catalonia Playa Maroma, don't think twice, book it! It will be the experience of your life. The resort is it's own natural beauty, You can sit in the wicker chairs around the pool bar and beach and gaze out onto the ocean. Have an ice cream sundae or crepe from the creperie! Eat a snack from the grill, or have lunch in the terrace overlooking the ocean. As I said, anywhere you are in the resort you will experience a wonderful site! This is a very laid back resort, with people from all over the world. One thing we appreciate about this resort is that the guests are very courtesous to one another and to put it bluntly, in a Texas term, you don't see a lot of drunk idiots running around !!!

Again, we wanted to give special thanks to DEBRA, in the Privelege office, she is so fantastic with guests. People arrive at the resort after a long flight and bus trip and she treats each one as an individual guest. We really appreciate her and can't say thank you enough for her kindness. CARLOS, the Captain of Toscana, Tortuga and the Tia Pedro restaurants, was one of the hardest workers we've seen. Dinner is a special time on vacation and Carlos really makes dinner time enjoyable. And his staff is always well trained. One of the staff that works has a hostess for the Italian restaurant, Toscana, her name is NAYELI. This lady always has a great smile and makes your vacation a memorable one. We always appreciate her kindness. VICTOR, a server we had several times, was very helpful and alway had the answer to any questions we had about dinner. LETICIA, the concierge, helped us a couple times getting in touch with our return transportation and always had a smile and genuily glad to help us. Through the week she always would ask if there was anything she could help us with. Kudos to ROBERTO at the breakfast buffet, section 2 and Hi to SAMANTHA at the front desk. You all made a trip special and we wanted to take time to tell you so. Catalonia Playa, thank you for hiring such wonderful staff and for providing us with another unforgettable vacation. We can't wait for our next visit!

Thank you, Mike and Beth

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beachcomer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We just returned from 6 days at this resort. Not our first time at an all inclusive in Mexico but definitely our best experience. Great staff, clean accommodations, better than average food and an absolutely superior beach.

Room Tip: Upgrade to privilege superior room is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This Resort is truly stunning. a great place to relax and enjoy your holiday!!

We booked this through First Choice/Thomson and this was a change of resort due to building work at our first choice of destination. And what a great bit of luck we had!!

The resort itself is about 45 minutes from Cancun Airport and we arrived in timely fashion post our flight. we were a little nervous on approach to the resort as they were building the road and had only just started so it was extremely bumpy. BUT please don't let this get in your head - once past this small road you'll enter paradise.

On arrival at the reception, we were told we were privileged guests. this was not something we booked originally but we assumed the upgrade was done due to us having to change resort at the last minute. we were pleasantly led to a separate one on one check-in area which was really nice and efficient.

The Grounds
Stunning - the resort itself is set in a rainforrest/jungle so you get to see alot of wildlife including Coati, birds, Crabs and if your lucky (depending on your fear threshold), snakes. there is a main pathway leading from the reception to all the Building blocks and the pool area and beach. a lovely relaxing walk. the grounds are amazingly well kept, with people clearly working hard to maintain such a beautiful surrounding. the pool area is large and spacious with a pool bar and Creperie and three Ala carte restaurants to the side. the beach, amazing. pure white sand and crystal clear warm waters. the beach was also well kept and maintained. there are two separate sun lounging areas, one for privileged guests and one for standard guests. both were beautiful.

The Room!

Beautiful. the room itself was very spacious and airy with two double beds and a mini bar stocked up daily with branded drinks. the rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed everyday. the view from the room was lovely. our balcony overlooked the gardens and it was very peaceful. My only gripe was that we booked a room with one Large bed. as a gay couple we didn't want to make a scene although this was confirmed that we would receive a double bed prior to departure. in the end it wasn't to bad though as we got to sleep with some space.

The Food/Drink!
All very good, the main buffet restuarant had a different theme everyday to mix it up so there was always a variety of things available and beautifully presented. the drinks in the hotel were all very good. premium brands were available at no extra cost, you just had to ask for them. all round a good experience. put on 5kgs in 2 weeks so it cant have been that bad HAHA!! there was also beach parties held by the entertainment crew at lunchtimes so you could dine at the beach. this was very nice.

The Entertainment!!

this for me was the only thing that annoyed me a little. it wasn't till our second week that one of the entertainment team came to speak to us. Jesus(The calendar man - he will know who we are now) was lovely. he spent extra time with us every time he saw us and made sure we knew what was going during that day. he was so friendly and accommodating - really cant praise him enough!!, my problem comes here. he was the only one who made an effort to involve us. the others, whom we saw alot of, didn't seem to want to speak to us as we weren't their selected language group. at times it felt that we were getting looks from them rather than them even attempting to talk to us. Also when announcing everything, English was the last spoken language interpreted - and after 4 other languages the staff seemed less enthusiastic by that point. it could have just been us but we felt that if the English was spoken with a tad more enthusiasm alot more people would have joined in.!!

Moan Over, the nightly shows were a great end to the evening. there was something for everyone, from a Madonna night to Moulin Rouge night. all very entertaining

Overall

if you want a lovely peaceful holiday then go here. it was truly the trip of a lifetime for us and we loved where we stayed. if you read negative reviews - IGNORE THEM!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Block 6 - its closest to the beach and pool!! Make sure you take a Credit card...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank funkylondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just returned from this fantastic resort.!! We have traveled all over Mexico and I must say I will return to this resort!!! First the beds are wonderful Mexico is known for hard beds but these were pillow top mattress with great pillows also. Room was very clean with modern furnishings cleaned daily.We were in the privledged package well worth the extra $. All restaurants were excellent even the buffett. Every one goes out of their way to welcome or help you in any way.The beach is the best in Mexico!! Privledge side of beach has drink servers who are very quick and come around often. Drinks were not watered down top shelf available. Pina coladas with mucho rum were excellent!!
We had booked a privledged ocean view room however due to ac problems we were instead assigned to a honeymoon room we were given the opportunity to move two days later to the original room however we decided to stay in the honeymoon room as the ocean view was not much of a view and had older furnishings then what we had (this was in building 6.) Our honeymoon room was in building 4 we had a jacuzzi outside on patio (private) 4 poster bed with sheer draping,flat screen tv and great ac. No ocean view mainly jungle view but that was ok. We had no problems with mosquitos everything was perfect.My only negative was the lobby area,lobby bar and buffett are at least 1/4 mile walk from building 4 however we were close to beach and fantastic pool.There is a beach bar available during day. Crepes were excellent as was the ice cream and milk shakes.We had no gastric distress from food or water. Felt safe at all times.We are US citizens which was a minority here but really no problem at all staff speaks at least 3 or 4 languages. We went into Playa by Taxi it was $23 USD each way but 5th ave is well worth the trip and it was a rainy day so may as well shop!! They do have ocean front suites they looked very nice but we did not price. As privledged guests we were given passes for suppers in special restaurants we enjoyed terrace for lunch excellent cheese burgers and bikini sandwich with russian salad was to die for!!! We had 1 supper in this restaurant We were given pass for 1 supper each in this restaurant and food was just super great!!! Steak house was good but steaks were tough with no flavor get the chicken or fish.
We were at beach pool; area daily by 10 am and there were many chairs available for lounging so no need to do the "towel game" Entertainment group were very good with many different types of activities daily for all ages. Night entertainment was good also.
This resort is just a great vacation spot. I am worried it may become so popular that it will be difficult to book a stay.Any questions pls feel free to contact me. ENJOY!!!! PS: we were not on our honeymoon we have been married for 45 years this was far better then our original honeymoon room!!!!

Room Tip: buildings 4&6 are close to pool and beach and it is quiet area at night. Also closest to most re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aspargus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two weeks from 7th Oct to 21st Oct 2013 and have to say we loved every minute of it, in short it was clean friendly staff, fabulous al la carte restaurants the weather was hot hot hot and the Most amazing beach I've ever been too and you would likely to see, everyone goes out of the way to make your stay a happy pleasant one and even though the hotel is geared more towards the French, and Italians it didn't put us off. (We like to do our own thing on holiday ) the only thing I would suggest would be to pay a little extra and upgrade as previously stated you get the extra little perks well worth the extra cost in or opinion, will prob go back at some point as we had the best holiday we could of asked for, but we do like to try different places. P.s take plenty of bug spray the mossies are very thirsty here !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MRS-PEEPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,605 reviews
8.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,918 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,251 reviews
7.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Playa Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Playa Maroma

Property: Catalonia Playa Maroma
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km. 306+250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Playa Maroma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Playa Maroma is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 35 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen. Regarding to the Travel Channel, Playa Maroma is one of the most beautiful beaches of the world. The typical Mexican decoration with its vibrant colors and palapa roofs surrounded by the native jungle make this resort the perfect place to spend a wonderful vacation. The Mayan World has to offer a lot to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Playa Maroma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Playa Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Catalonia Playa Maroma Del Carmen
Playa Maroma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing