We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have visited 13 different Mayan Riviera resorts over the last 12 years. For the first time we recently returned to a resort for a repeat visit. There is everything to like about the Catalonia Playa Maroma. The employees are very friendly and accommodating without being obsequious. The food was once again excellent. The a la carte restaurants have great menus. Activities are great and animators excellent. The beach was superb for swimming or walking. You can easily walk 2 or 3 kms in either direction. This time we stayed in the "Privileged" section of the resort which had many additional perks including its own beach area with ample lounges which meant no early morning chair claiming. ZERO COMPLAINTS!! LOTS OF POSITIVES!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank TorontoThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,735 - 1,741 of 7,895 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

The beaches are absolutely beautiful, the place is very clean, but wasn't the all inclusive I have experienced in the past. The food was ok, but breakfast and lunch we're the same everyday. Dinners, you are only allowed to go to the restaurants once. Entertainment, was ok. A very quiet resort. The staff was friendly, but very few english speaking people. They also make you wear bands which represent if you are priveledge or not. Never really figured out the difference except if you we're priveledge then you can eat at the Terrace restaurant or you get to sit on the left side of the beach, and you got robes and slippers in your room. However, because of the bands,if you left the resort, people in town knew what hotel you we're staying at and would try to scam you. Also, not a big fan of the monkeys or whatever they we're. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: We were in building four, which was half way to lobby, where breakfast is everyday, and halfway to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and 2 teenage sons from March 21-28 during spring break. The most beautiful beach and ocean that we have seen in Mexico! The entertainment staff was very friendly especially Jesus and Alice. Americans were the minority there but we never felt left out. our favorite place to eat was the buffet. No wait and basically the same food as the restaurants. Lots of activities to keep you busy during the day and nightly shows.Dive shop was helpful in booking an excursion to Garden of eden cenote and akumel beach where we swam with lots of sea turtles! We did find that you need to reserve your beach chairs by around 6:00 am by putting your beach towels on them. We had a lot of fun bringing bread into the ocean to feed the fish while you swam off the beach. The ice cream and crepe bar was very refreshing on the hot days! We stayed in building number 4 which was beautiful. We found that the walk to the lobby was enjoyable due to the beautiful landscaping and it helped walk off some calories!

Room Tip: We chose the ground floor so we didn't have to climb stairs frequently. buildings 4 and 6 are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank joecomet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

are 10 years that I spend my holidays in this wonderful place every year I go back there 's always something better, the director and his staff are delightful hope it does not change anything,'cause it's a team that works very well

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paolo_alessandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Upon arrive from the states there is a mad house in the lobby, because the resort was so over sold we could not even get a room and we had made reservations for 2 rooms and our friends another 2 rooms. After 4 hours of arguing we were able to get two of the 4 rooms we booked so our kids and parents had some place to sleep. They offer to ship the rest of us to another hotel 45 min away. Just how we wanted to spend out first day on vacation away from our families. We stayed to have dinner and on our way out they had a cancelation and we were told it was a double room, so we jumped at to avoid three more hours of travel. When we got the room there was one king bed that the four of us had to share. The next day we spent most of the day moving luggage from one room to another once we got the rooms figured out. They did give us some addition al la carte dinner options and some massages for the ladies. The service is very slow, most meals taking 1.5-2 hours no matter the time of day and with kids this is ridiculous. The day activities coordinators are the high point of this resort. I have stayed at several in the Rivera Maya area the past 3 year and I would not come back to this one. The owner was on site and I’m surprised this is as good as it gets when their owner is here. Do not recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a privileged room, they are nicer. I got to see both even though I booked a privileged r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week at this hotel. The resort is spotless, the rooms comfortable and the staff friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent with 3 a la carte restaurants and the buffet. Also a creperie which was outstanding. The beach is pristine and the water warm. The little coati's roaming this jungle setting were very cute. People have a hard time remembering they are wild animals and try to pet them and feed them. This is discouraged as they have sharp claws and teeth. The hotel staff pays great attention to detail and the service in the restaurants was very good. Along the path from the lobby/reception area to the pool/beach is jungle on both sides with beautiful lighting at night and speakers hidden in the foliage playing beautiful Mayan music. A special thanks to Jesus, Filipa and Daniela for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The buildings are laid out from the lobby/reception area to the pool/beach. Of course the Privileged...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Catalonia Playa Maroma in February 2013. When we checked in, we were greeted by friendly staff, and even a tray full of Tequila Sunrises as we registered. Impressive. We sat at a table at the lobby bar for a while and met Jessica and Ana, very nice ladies who served us most of the week in the lobby.
Rooms were nice. The service on the beach by Porferio was outstanding. The beach here was FANTASTIC!
The food: Good. I liked going to the buffet more than the a-la cartes. Everything I liked was there so why not.
We attended a few shows..they were not Las Vegas but nice and the entertainment people were excellent. Especially Alice, Jesus and Amaurey. We interacted mostly with these three people and they certainly enhanced our visit.

Nice pool, nice set up. I did not mind the long walks from beach to rooms (or the lobby)..it was kind of cool actually.

We left there saying that we would certainly come here again BUT....then it happened. We were checking out at 6:30 am so we could catch our flight. My wife had removed her rings early on in the trip because her fingers swelled and she kept her rings (wedding ring, engagement ring, etc) in the safe. When we were leaving, she laid them on the TV stand and finished zipping up her suitcase. Then we left and she forgot them. When we got home, I called there and was told by guest services that they would check with house-keeping services and they would email me back (because they could not phone) So I waited a few days and no email. I called again and was once again promised an email). Once again, nothing! My wife eventually wrote them a letter. While we acknowledge that it was our fault for leaving the rings behind, here's what gets in my craw...we tipped our housemaid 50 pesos a day..we felt we were being generous. We tipped everyone well throughout the week. I guess it was foolish of us to expect honesty. After we left, I am guessing cleaning services would be the first ones in that room I guess, but who can know for sure? Either way, the rings never surfaced and that is that. What an anticlimax to what was surely an excellent week. Now, just in principle, we can never stay at this place again! The thing that makes this the worst is that we were never contacted to say "sorry, we could not find your rings".

Room Tip: Don't forget anything when you leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaMaroma, General Manager at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dea Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. Please contact playamaroma.rrpp@hoteles-catalonia.es to follow up directly with us. Thank you again for having chosen our hotel for your vacation.

Enrico Rubli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
0.4 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Playa Maroma
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,265 reviews
14.3 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,439 reviews
23 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Playa Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Playa Maroma

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km. 306+250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: $198 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Playa Maroma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Playa Maroma is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 35 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen. Regarding to the Travel Channel, Playa Maroma is one of the most beautiful beaches of the world. The typical Mexican decoration with its vibrant colors and palapa roofs surrounded by the native jungle make this resort the perfect place to spend a wonderful vacation. The Mayan World has to offer a lot to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Catalonia Playa Maroma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Playa Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Catalonia Playa Maroma Del Carmen
Playa Maroma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing