We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June for a weeks holiday. The hotel is right on a beautiful stretch of beach, blue seas, white sands. However, what really sets this hotel apart is the service. All the staff are friendly, helpful and put service at the centre of what they do, without it being overly formal. We paid for a beach front room and were very glad we did, lovely room with a balcony overlooking the sea. All the food we had was great and the breakfasts which were included were superb including freshly made tacos for breakfast. Played tennis, great courts and the beach bar was really good. The only down side is it is a long way to get into anywhere else to eat, but for a week not doing much but rest and relaxation it is perfect. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments concerning your recent stay in our little paradise. I appreciate feedback from our guests as this provides me with important information that is vital to our ongoing efforts of making Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa a unique and special haven for our guests enjoyment.

It's a pleasure to know that we have met your expectations and that you're planning to come back to your home away from home in the near future.

Sincerely,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

This will be a short review. I have absolutely nothing but the best things to say about Maroma. I've been going there since 1997 and through all it's changes and expansions, it has remained a charming, unpretentious luxurious hotel. Many of the staff have been their for years. There's a great feeling of family and nothing is too much to ask for. I try to go every year for a little spa break. It's truly a wonderful place to unwind, heal your tired overworked body and soul and enjoy the amazing food, the amazing spa and the most beautiful beach in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank csritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time of sharing your most recent experience of your stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa. As you know I encourage and appreciate feedback from our loyal repeat guests as the information provided aids in our day to day efforts of making Belmond Maroma that special haven you so much enjoy year after year.

Comments such as yours uplift our team’s spirit making all efforts to provide our valued guests such as yourselves with the very best in personalized service and attention our day to day goal. We all be very happy to know you have once again left with great memories and even happier to know you will be coming back in the near future to this your paradise home away from home.

Until then, warm regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a perfect getaway. We found it in Maroma. Perfect beach, phenomenal food-breakfast is FANTASTIC with the homemade tortilllas, service is outstanding. In addition, the property is very special. So pretty and many beautiful surprises at every turn. And a very nice tennis court. We will be going back soon.!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty good---we loved facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank UncleNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa with the huge community of TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind words which I will gladly share with the rest of our Maroma Family.

It has been our pleasure to have you with us , in the meantime we look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is not easy to find a NON-ALL INCLUSIVE Resort on the Riviera Maya in the meanwhile; if you belong to the crowd who is not fond of this Holiday concept you should consider the Maroma Resort by Belmond.Fair enough-you also need the money for it ...
We had a look at all room types and believe me: all are beautiful! It just depends if you rather want the garden or beach feeling. Garden ist almost an understatement-it's more like a jungle or park! The beach is one of the finest we've been to; even in the hottest lunch hours you can still walk on it without getting your feet burnt.
Try the Tequila tasting and the Mexican steambath-both are a must!!
We'll come back; that's for sure!

Room Tip: The juniorsuites are the most wanted ones ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Dodo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Nothing is more satisfying than to know that our guests get back home still marveled by their recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your feedback with our TripAdvisor community.

You are absolutely right, our garden view rooms and suites that are at the same distance from the beach than the ocean view ones offer a unique experience.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back in our little paradise for more amazing experiences.

Until next time, sincerely,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is not an all-inclusive hotel, but as a result it's smaller and the staff has more time to provide good service & get to know you. The beach is beautiful with plenty of places to lounge. The food is amazing, especially the complementary breakfast which (when I was there) included fruits, yogurt, pastries, fresh juice, coffee/tea, hot chocolate, quesadillas, and a proper breakfast entree on top of that! The spa was also really fantastic—even the most basic option. There are a variety of other things you can do onsite and you can easily spend your entire stay at the resort or you can go on some excursions. My wife and I did the snorkeling (left from the beach) and also the excursion to Rio Secreto (which is a big underground cave with water, stalactites, and stalagmites). This resort is really a great spot. As others have mentioned children are allowed, which is generally not a problem, since the resort is so spread out, but noisy children are most likely to manifest around the pools (as they are at any hotel). It can get expensive, but you get what you pay for (in a good way).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Our biggest satisfaction is to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, on behalf our staff, thank you for sharing your feedback with TripAdvisor community.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. We will continue offering nothing but outstanding food, the best beach and the warmest top notch staff you will ever meet.

Thank you for choosing us for your recent vacation, we look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future, to this your new home away from home.

Until then, sunny greetings from this little piece of paradise,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I haven't been on a vacation without our young children in years. Thus, we were very excited about our five day Belmond Maroma vacation. Our anticipation was rewarded with a five star stay at a five star resort.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted with smiles and margaritas -- great way to start a vacation. And it got better. Our ocean front room was beautifully appointed and comfortable. Umberto checked us in while showing us its amenities. Then all was quiet -- a welcome novelty for parents of small children.

There are a lot of staff, always at the ready to lend a hand -- I thought our waiter at dinner was going to impale himself upon a stake when I poured my own wine -- but they are so respectful and quiet that I only noticed them when I needed something, which was not often (I have poured many glasses of wine in my life, and it only happened once) as their service is so stellar that most of our wants were anticipated.

We spent our first day with drinks on the beach, which, I swear I am not lying, was being raked by resort workers so that nothing got on my feet as I walked to the clear, turquoise ocean which was a delight to swim in.

The hotel has beautiful grounds, activities and arranged for us to tour Mayan ruins with a great company.

A yummy breakfast is included and the guacamole is particularly stellar.

Now, paradise is not cheap but hey, it's less expensive than marriage counseling or divorce so we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Guest Amy:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa. It is always a true pleasure to host our guests and embrace them in our handmade hospitality and nothing is more satisfying than to learn we have met our valued guests' expectations.

Maroma Family looks forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband back soon in your home in this sunny little paradise of white sand and pristine water.

Best regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our first trip to Maroma as we usually go to Cabo and never thought any other resort could compare to the ones in Cabo such as Palmilla and Esperanza. Well to our surprise with the exception of the mountains and desert the Maroma compares in every aspect. From the driver meeting us at the hectic Cancun airport to the friendly way we were greeted at registration and of course with a cold towel and a great margarita the Maroam never disappointed. The rooms were lovely, well appointed, the food was always fresh and delicious and the room service breakfasts were very special.We had all our meals at the hotel and the El Sol rest for dinners were superb. The wine lists offers some great Mexican wines that are not available in the USA. The spa and the services there were out of this world. The only other accolade I can mention is the quality of the people that are there to help you enjoy your stay,they are extremely friendly and willing to cater to your every need.
We will be back as soon as possible

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gregg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest Gregg,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa with our TripAdvisor readers, definitely comments such as yours uplift our spirit. There is nothing more rewarding for us to see than a satisfied guest.

I am pleased to learn that we have surpassed your expectations with our seamless service and that you enjoyed your stay while being embraced by the magic of this privileged little piece of paradise and being pampered by our friendly staff.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your second visit in your paradise home away from home.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,171 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,770 reviews
6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: $554 - $1,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among verdant jungle beside a white, sandy beach, Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa is one of Mexico’s top luxury hotels. Here you can start the day with yoga and end with a session in a traditional temazcal sauna. Spend lazy days in ocean and poolside restaurants or stroll through flower-filled gardens where parrots and butterflies perch. Explore some of Mexico’s great heritage sites, dive in mysterious underwater caves or shop till you drop in Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing