We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night trip and cannot say enough about this place. Absolutely terrific....we were picked up by the hotel on Friday and left on Wednesday morning having never left the resort!! Note: We are not normally like that..we are doers but other than a morning workout in the fitness center and 1 great snorkel trip we never needed more than we had! This place knows what they're doing and they do it right.We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindyweigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa with the traveler community of TripAdvisor. It is a real pleasure to host and delight our guests with the smallest gestures that make each of their moments meaningful and memorable.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed every minute of your stay and you found in Maroma a perfect getaway place to return.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our little paradise in the near future.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    137
    46
    33
    17
See reviews for
129
705
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just got back from a week at Maroma and it is a truly magical place -- one of the best beaches in the world. And the staff is truly top notch -- they saw to every need we had, including a few we didn't know we had until the anticipated them! Truly, we have stayed at luxury hotels around the world and have never had a better experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Tamara,

Greeting from Sunny Maroma! Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and with a wider audience as TripAdvisor is.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and got a true authentic experience of being pampered by our Maroma Family. As I always say, there is only one way to have a happy guest and that is having a happy team!

We look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future in our little Paradise.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from 2 glorious nights at this jewel of a hotel. The surroundings are beautiful, the food is delicious, but the highlight was the amazing hospitality we received from all of the staff members. Everyone whom we encountered went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable, welcomed, and as if all our needs for relaxation were met. We thoroughly enjoyed a couples' massage at the Kinian Spa on the grounds, which I highly recommend. I can't say enough about the beautiful experience we enjoyed at this resort.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ushasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure that you recently chose to stay at Belmond Maroma Resort and Spa. I would like to thank you for the feedback you have provided me with following your stay, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments were much appreciated.

On behalf of the Belmond Maroma family, I hope that we may welcome you back very soon in your home in this little paradise.

Sincerely,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviera Maya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent 2 1/2 days here for a quick mid-week break. The hotel is above and beyond expectation, and we have stayed at nearly all the O and E hotels (now Belmond). The website definitely does not do justice to the beauty of the resort and setting. The staff is top-notch and knows just when to approach you (or not). We loved our short and sweet break here; worth the extra expense for this amazing resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Suzanne,

I sincerely appreciate the lovely comments you've shared concerning your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa with the TripAdvisor community.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay. It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home.

Looking forward to welcome you and your mom in your home in Little Paradise,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Belmond Maroma (formerly Orient Express) is classic luxury. None of the imposing Las Vegas flash like so many places you pass on the way from the airport. It is beautiful, quiet, small, and the people working here could not be nicer. I have honestly never been treated better and I am really lucky to have found this place. You will not believe how nice the outdoor dining patio and bar area are at night under the stars with the ocean just steps away. The only problem is the food - it is so good you will probably eat too much. Fortunately they have a great workout facility, tennis courts, and other activities to offset this issue. Thanks to everyone here that made our stay so perfect and memorable.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in rooms away from the main building. The north side of the resort was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to share it with our TripAdvisor readers.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. As I always say, there is only one way to have a happy guest and that is having a happy team!

Looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to your paradise home, away from home.

Best Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I recently re visited the resort after 5 years since our first time. We have stayed at most of the 5 star resorts in the area. The Fairmont, Rosewood, Banyan Tree. All are beautiful and all have there own charm. That being said Maroma is by far the best beach property that we have been to in a long time. If you want a spectacular beach front vacation where you can really enjoy the ocean it is hands down the only place to go. Once you realize the natural beauty of the ocean and jungle surrounding you then all of a sudden you remember that you are in a 5 Star resort. Every person that is associated with the resort are some of the greatest people that I have ever met. You actually get the feeling that you are making them happy when they see you happy. There is nothing that they won't do for you and make the stay so memorable. The food is fantastic, service is impeccable and surroundings are as they say in the hotel paradise.

Room Tip: Rooms near the spa are away from the main hotel and are very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 661OCEANFRONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest:

On behalf of our hotel and staff, thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa with the TripAdvisor community.

I am pleased to learn that we have surpassed your expectations with our seamless service and that you enjoyed your stay while being embraced by the magic of this privileged little piece of paradise and being pampered by our friendly staff.

Maroma Family looks forward to host you back in a near future.

Best Regards from sunny Maroma,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at Maroma for a week in January 2014. We had an excellent experience. The staff is incredibly attentive and provides very high level of service, and that includes everyone -- concierge, room service, restaurant servers, beach attendants. The food is excellent. Breakfasts and dinners on the terrace, just steps from the beach, were very relaxing. The hotel was not full when we arrived, so they upgraded us to a beautiful, spacious suite. Morning coffee/tea/hot chocolate delivery to our room was a treat. We could sit on the balcony and watch the sun rise, with the occasional coati wandering through the early morning stillness on the resort grounds. The grounds were spotless. They rake up seaweed on the beach and remove it several times a day just to keep it nice for the guests. It's a really nice beach, and we enjoyed taking long walks down the beach in both directions. The staff will arrange private tours of Mayan sites, cenotes, and snorkeling sites on request (though these aren't cheap). Just an excellent all around vacation for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saratoga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience in our little paradise and for choosing our hotel for your stay. Nothing is more satisfying than to learn we have met our valued guests' expectations.

Hoping to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,857 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,834 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,138 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Property: Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, an award-winning luxury beach resort hotel on the Riviera Maya, Mexico. Experience the magic and the beauty of profound well-being in an eternal paradise located in a breathtaking corner of the Yucatan jungle on the Riviera Maya. Enjoy also One of the finest Playa del Carmen restaurants, El Restaurante's eclectic daytime menu offers offers an array of delicious regional specialties. Baja California style shrimp tacos, pescadillas, panuchos and sopes are some of the delicacies on offer. By nightfall, tables glow with candlelight, while a band serenades diners. Be tantalised by our executive chef's interpretation of traditional Mexican cuisine. Dishes include crispy duck tacos with salsa borracha, seafood pozole and lobster enchiladas. El Sol Tapas & Restaurant combines exquisite Mediterranean-style cuisine with a unique Pre-Hispanic Mexican twist. With a relaxed ambiance, large windows afford uninterrupted sea views. The tapas-style menu features a symphony of flavors. Feel your tastebuds tingle as sharp citrus contrasts with olive oils and chilies. Complement your dish with a selection from our international wine list. Or try a new-generation Mexican wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing