We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Maroma is a special place, a former estate converted to a boutique hotel. The service is fantastic, with at least one staff member per guest. The spa service providers were as good as anywhere in the world. The beach lounges are the nicest I have seen and plentiful for every couple to have one, with friendly staff providing drinks and food. The couple mile beech with four or five bigger hotels spread out along it is perfect. The yoga guy and tennis pro were excellent. Nice and quiet if that is what you are seeking. However, everything is expensive and you are charged for everything. If you budget the all-in cost and can afford it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Steven C,
Many thanks for all your complimentary words and taking the time to share your experience with us with our Trip Advisor readers, we truly appreciate it as it gives us the motivation to keep on protecting this little piece of heaven that we call home. We have painstakingly selected our family members to offer to our guest but the most professional expertise in the Region and we are happy to acknowledge that we have fulfilled our goal. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Our best wishes for you and your beloved ones for 2014.
Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    137
    46
    33
    17
See reviews for
129
705
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Spent a week at this charming resort, with wonderful food, terrific service and great beach. The staff couldn't be more helpful or responsive. The birds, however,were another story. They swooped down and ate the food but it was more amusing than anything else, and led to a lot of smiles. We even had an ice cream vendor on the beach who served us fresh lemon sorbet in cones and even fresh apples every day. A delightful woman made fresh corn gorillas every am and gave us hot quesadillas.. The only possible negative is that it is quite isolated so that going into town necessitates a 20 minute cab ride which is a round trip cost of 50 bucks. If you want to leave the resort, I would highly recommend renting a car...
The only thing I would recommend to the resort is having some scheduled activities during the downpours which lasted all day long.

Room Tip: Rooms on the oceanfront by the beach may have some noise if there is a wedding that weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainlinebooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear mainlinebooker,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us with our Trip Advisor readers, we are so happy to read that you had a gastronomic adventure while your stay in your Mexican Home. We truly appreciate your feedback and we will work hard as we believe we can improve on perfect and make our little paradise even better for your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back here again and again!

Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Maroma offers a quiet and restful vacation. Everything was perfect, our suite was steps to the beach. The service everywhere was fabulous; the chef Juan Pablo goes beyond your expectations. He is out with the staff and guests asking what they would like to eat and how they want it prepared, and each night he did whatever you wanted, the food was great! The staff will know who you are and your name , always with a smile and asking if you need anything. Maria makes fresh tortillas every morning. Victor and Luis in restaurant were wonderful. Coffee is outside your door every morning..fresh and hot ! The spa was just simply idealic, I have never seen a spa like this, all lit with candles, all private treatment rooms..beautiful..

Room Tip: Try for ocean front junior suite...simply wonderful !!!! Rooms on north side are quiet. The grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Cindy N,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind comments with our Trip Advisor readers, I am delighted to read that you had a joyful and amazing time with us. As you mention, our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage team, will make sure you and your beloved ones are having an outstanding culinary experience and our awarded Kinan Spa was built aligned with the stars and under the Sacred Mayan Geometry to assure the energy flows, Kinan means the energy of the sun in Mayan, I am very happy to acknowledge that you could relax with us. We will make sure to share your comments with our family and we hope to welcome you back in your Mexican home!

I wish you all the best for 2014.

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Was only there for lunch and even though the weather wasn't great, it' was wonderful. Absolutely beautiful setting, first rate service and menu. Don't miss the guacamole. And the margaritas are pretty darned good too. Go!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PRCheryl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear PRCheryl_11,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review even in your short visit with us. We totally agree with you, our guacamole is a delicious proposal not to miss while visiting El Restaurante and our legendary Maroma Margarita is a must, we are so happy that you enjoyed them!
We truly appreciate that you could experience our Maroma lifestyle and we hope to have you back as a guest of our little paradise in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The beach and view by themselves are already worth the stay! On top of that, the Maroma offers a great service and a beautiful surrounding. Great for couples and people who want a quiet piece of paradise. Highly recommend the use of the SPA and the massages they offer. Breakfast is also AMAZING!

Room Tip: Definitely worth a room with an Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelaNagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear MarcelaNagy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience back in May with our TripAdvisor readers and for highlighting the stunning views and scenery of our little paradise, we protect and care this piece of heaven that we call home and reading your kind comments gives us the inspiration to continue our mission. We are glad you enjoyed to relax and the service of our awarded Kinan Spa which was built under the sacred Mayan geometry and having as a result a temple of wellbeing.

We look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Sitting in the Cancun airport bound for snowy New York, wishing that the magic of the last four days could continue forever. Perfect setting, accommodations, service, beach--it doesn't get much better than this. Among the highlights:

1. An upgrade to a beautiful Oceanview Master room, thanks in part to booking through Terry McCabe of Altour, one of Maroma's preferred travel agents.
2. Delicious food, usually one of my gripes when visiting Mexico and the Caribbean. Don't miss the Benedictus Mexicanos for breakfast, the shrimp tacos at lunch, and cheese quesadillas with chicken at Freddie's Bar.
3. Flawless service. Where else can you find a staff member volunteering to run down the beach to fetch ice cream cones when we missed the guy who passes them out each day. I generally don't even like ice cream, but the home made strawberry was something I'll remember for a Lon, long time.
4. One of the best massages I've had in a long time.

Michelle Pfeiffer was apparently there at the same time, but you'd never have known it due to the sense of privacy about the place and the discreet staff. No wonder so many celebrities book this little slice of heaven.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pvte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Pvte,

I wish we could send you sunshine from our little paradise!

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely experience with our Trip Advisor readers. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed so much our gastronomy. As you mention, you will be able to discover the true Mexican flavors through our cuisine. We have a very exclusive list of local suppliers that make sure to provide us with the freshest of ingredients for our Kitchen, not to mention the perfect match with our Maroma Family; always willing to pamper you and your beloved ones.
Our awarded Kinan Spa has been Voted #1 in Conde Nast Traveller's Top 25 Spas, Mexico & Central America, 2013 Reader's Poll and it has been aligned with the stars to create an energy flow, it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so much your treatment.

We are looking forward to have you back in your Mexican home and we will make sure to have strawberry ice cream for you!

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful mexican estate with great view to the bay!
Orient express hotels are always special, and Maroma proved this once again!
Food is good, a good blend between local food and contemporary! Recommend doing the gourmet lunch/class, good fun and many tequilas!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Norbs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Njannuzzi,

Thank you so much for your compliments and taking the time to write your review to share your experience with our Trip Advisor readers. As you mention, Maroma is a true sense of place and we aim to help you discover the wonderful Mexican Culture through our little paradise.

We look forward to have you back in your Mexican home!

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,854 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,139 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Property: Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, an award-winning luxury beach resort hotel on the Riviera Maya, Mexico. Experience the magic and the beauty of profound well-being in an eternal paradise located in a breathtaking corner of the Yucatan jungle on the Riviera Maya. Enjoy also One of the finest Playa del Carmen restaurants, El Restaurante's eclectic daytime menu offers offers an array of delicious regional specialties. Baja California style shrimp tacos, pescadillas, panuchos and sopes are some of the delicacies on offer. By nightfall, tables glow with candlelight, while a band serenades diners. Be tantalised by our executive chef's interpretation of traditional Mexican cuisine. Dishes include crispy duck tacos with salsa borracha, seafood pozole and lobster enchiladas. El Sol Tapas & Restaurant combines exquisite Mediterranean-style cuisine with a unique Pre-Hispanic Mexican twist. With a relaxed ambiance, large windows afford uninterrupted sea views. The tapas-style menu features a symphony of flavors. Feel your tastebuds tingle as sharp citrus contrasts with olive oils and chilies. Complement your dish with a selection from our international wine list. Or try a new-generation Mexican wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing