We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and i just spend an incredible long weekend at Maroma. The staff could not be more attentive, the food delicious and a beach that rivals any I've seen at luxury resorts around the Caribbean. We cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wittney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Wittney,

Many Thanks for your lovely comments and taking the time to write them. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that Maroma Family pampered you and your beloved ones enough that I am delighted to read that we will welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, but at time an a la carte ripoff. Can't get past 100 bucks a person for taco night!
Can't wrap our heads around those kind of events.
Use to be free transport from airport, now 120 bucks each way. Absurd.




  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rlandsman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Rlandsman4,

We truly appreciate for you taking the time to share your feedback with me and our TripAdvisor readers concerning your recent experience in Maroma Resort and Spa.

I exhort and appreciate the comments from our guests as it nourishes me with important information that allows us to enhance our product and improve our service with continuous assessment, we take every criticism seriously.

I am sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction during your dinner with us. We offer guests an experience that sits within a context and a culture. This is found just as much inside our doors as outside. We have the highest standards of quality in products used in the preparation of dishes; it is not our intention to surprise our guests with high prices, prices for all our services are reviewed periodically and are determined based on market studies, ensuring we are in line with the prices offered by our competitors in the destination.
I only hope to have the opportunity to erase this negative image of our little paradise in a future stay, at which time I will personally make sure you experience the true meaning of our Maroma Resort and Spa way of life.

Sincerely yours,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Mexicos finest if you like exclusivity. Safe and private a great alternative for people that are used to private villas. The service is amongst the finest in the world. Only negative is the large resort next door and some of their guest wander on to maromas beach

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraveleroneWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear TraveleroneWorld,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and taking the time to write your review. We concur with your lovely comments, Maroma is a very secluded and safe piece of heaven that we call home, our lush gardens are the perfect option for a romantic walk, with only 63 deluxe rooms and suites in 25 acres, you can rest assured that our little paradise will always be protected. We look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Service is excellent food wonderful rooms very clean ans spacious the spa is great that is why we are going back to maroma on February 2014 for the fourth time ans hopefully will not be the last we are talking one of our daughters to share with her and husband this wonderful experience

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olgaarosemena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dar olgaarosemena,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that we will be welcoming you back to our family in the February!
We look forward to welcoming you again in your Mexican home.

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Every little detail was thought of. Breakfast was delicious, the rooms are exquisite, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the cocktails were amazing and I loved the fact it was all created in an eco-friendly way.

Room Tip: worth splashing out on a room with a plunge pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemmaHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear GemmaHols,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our little paradise. We look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future in your Mexican home!
Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Maroma Hotel proved to be a very pleasant surprise! The grounds are beautiful and beautifully maintained. The buildings and furnishings are simple and elegant. The food is good and the wine and spirits selection extensive. And, more than anything, the staff are amazing! Friendly, engaging, helpful. The experience was a delight in every way and I will return to this property again.

Room Tip: The top-of-the-line rooms with private plunge pools (like room 42) are great and I plan to stay in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_N_SoMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Chris_N_SoMi.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our trip advisor readers, we are delighted to read you and we truly appreciate your kind comments and learning that we have left a smile in your memory!
We have shared your lovely comments to our Family as it gives us the daily inspiration we need to continue protecting and improving our little paradise.

We look forward to pamper you on the near future!

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to this part of Mexico. We travel quite often and like very nice hotels and great accommodations. We researched several hotels in the Maroma area and frankly the Maroma Resort sounded perfect...expensive, but perfect. Well as it turned out, it was expensive, but far from perfect. We prefer small resorts that are very high quality so we chose the one bedroom suite at Maroma. We arrived on a beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon in early November and were greeted by many smiling and very friendly staff along with welcome drinks and a complete walking tour of the property....a beautiful property in deed.

We were escorted to our suite and it was lovely with a very nice bathroom and even a small plunge pool hot tub on the outside deck with a beautiful ocean view.. Unfortunately, the rain started in the middle of the night and it rained buckets for the 3 days that we were there....Obviously, this is no fault of the Hotel, however with the torrential rains, came leaks down the walls and standing water in the floors in the bathroom, no big deal, we just put bath towels on the floors and the neighbors below complained about water as well so we had maintenance in our room trying to find leaks...The rain continued, and our hot tub/plunge pool was contaminated with brown water run off from the thatched roof and there was no attempt by housekeeping to clean the pool so it was rendered useless.....even after the rains subsided somewhat, hotel personnel were trying to clean the trash and seaweed from the beach each morning, however, no attempt was made any day to clean and dry the lounging sofas and beach chairs along the beach area.....we were just told by some hotel personnel that "it was the rainy season"

They deliver a small tray of coffee to your room each morning alone with a newspaper at your requested time when you check in...first morning it was prompt and great to have fresh coffee....2nd morning..no coffee....had to call and arrange delivery.

Food was average and very expensive....breakfast was included and very good.

I don't want this review to sound all negative, Maroma is a beautiful property and it is small and intimate, and the people are very friendly but when you pay over $1300.00 per day just for the room(and that was their "Suite Deal" with 25% off) our expectations were very high and we were disappointed. If Maroma wants to be considered a 5 star resort they have a tremendous amount of work to do and a a lot more attention to detail. We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Miami evening before heading to Mexico and had a wonderful experience for less that half this rate......

We traveled to Maroma Resort to celebrate our 33rd anniversary and expected to be "wowed" but frankly, we were very glad that we had not booked a longer stay.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was a great room (only eight of these I understand) however, this is their pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Nick C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our Trip Advisor readers. I appreciate and encourage feedback from our valued guests, as the information provided is of great importance to me, as it aids us in our day to day efforts of both, preserving our little paradise and improving any area of opportunity we may be overlooking.

I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment after having spent your holidays in our little paradise. Please know that I have taken matters into my own hands to ensure all of the issues mentioned are corrected, as well as, measures to prevent them from repeating in the future are put in place.

Should you have a change of heart and decide to give us an opportunity to change your perspective, please feel free to contact me personally.

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,126 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,239 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,737 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: $518 - $1,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among verdant jungle beside a white, sandy beach, Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa is one of Mexico’s top luxury hotels. Here you can start the day with yoga and end with a session in a traditional temazcal sauna. Spend lazy days in ocean and poolside restaurants or stroll through flower-filled gardens where parrots and butterflies perch. Explore some of Mexico’s great heritage sites, dive in mysterious underwater caves or shop till you drop in Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing