We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, relaxing, romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, romantic”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Maroma Hotel proved to be a very pleasant surprise! The grounds are beautiful and beautifully maintained. The buildings and furnishings are simple and elegant. The food is good and the wine and spirits selection extensive. And, more than anything, the staff are amazing! Friendly, engaging, helpful. The experience was a delight in every way and I will return to this property again.

Room Tip: The top-of-the-line rooms with private plunge pools (like room 42) are great and I plan to stay in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_N_SoMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Chris_N_SoMi.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our trip advisor readers, we are delighted to read you and we truly appreciate your kind comments and learning that we have left a smile in your memory!
We have shared your lovely comments to our Family as it gives us the daily inspiration we need to continue protecting and improving our little paradise.

We look forward to pamper you on the near future!

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    134
    46
    33
    17
See reviews for
124
690
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to this part of Mexico. We travel quite often and like very nice hotels and great accommodations. We researched several hotels in the Maroma area and frankly the Maroma Resort sounded perfect...expensive, but perfect. Well as it turned out, it was expensive, but far from perfect. We prefer small resorts that are very high quality so we chose the one bedroom suite at Maroma. We arrived on a beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon in early November and were greeted by many smiling and very friendly staff along with welcome drinks and a complete walking tour of the property....a beautiful property in deed.

We were escorted to our suite and it was lovely with a very nice bathroom and even a small plunge pool hot tub on the outside deck with a beautiful ocean view.. Unfortunately, the rain started in the middle of the night and it rained buckets for the 3 days that we were there....Obviously, this is no fault of the Hotel, however with the torrential rains, came leaks down the walls and standing water in the floors in the bathroom, no big deal, we just put bath towels on the floors and the neighbors below complained about water as well so we had maintenance in our room trying to find leaks...The rain continued, and our hot tub/plunge pool was contaminated with brown water run off from the thatched roof and there was no attempt by housekeeping to clean the pool so it was rendered useless.....even after the rains subsided somewhat, hotel personnel were trying to clean the trash and seaweed from the beach each morning, however, no attempt was made any day to clean and dry the lounging sofas and beach chairs along the beach area.....we were just told by some hotel personnel that "it was the rainy season"

They deliver a small tray of coffee to your room each morning alone with a newspaper at your requested time when you check in...first morning it was prompt and great to have fresh coffee....2nd morning..no coffee....had to call and arrange delivery.

Food was average and very expensive....breakfast was included and very good.

I don't want this review to sound all negative, Maroma is a beautiful property and it is small and intimate, and the people are very friendly but when you pay over $1300.00 per day just for the room(and that was their "Suite Deal" with 25% off) our expectations were very high and we were disappointed. If Maroma wants to be considered a 5 star resort they have a tremendous amount of work to do and a a lot more attention to detail. We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Miami evening before heading to Mexico and had a wonderful experience for less that half this rate......

We traveled to Maroma Resort to celebrate our 33rd anniversary and expected to be "wowed" but frankly, we were very glad that we had not booked a longer stay.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was a great room (only eight of these I understand) however, this is their pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Nick C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our Trip Advisor readers. I appreciate and encourage feedback from our valued guests, as the information provided is of great importance to me, as it aids us in our day to day efforts of both, preserving our little paradise and improving any area of opportunity we may be overlooking.

I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment after having spent your holidays in our little paradise. Please know that I have taken matters into my own hands to ensure all of the issues mentioned are corrected, as well as, measures to prevent them from repeating in the future are put in place.

Should you have a change of heart and decide to give us an opportunity to change your perspective, please feel free to contact me personally.

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The top service and attention to detail of any hotel or resort I've ever been to. Excellent food and attention to detail. As I work in the Pet Industry it was great to see Maroma was also a Pet Friendly Destination. I would encourage anyone with their companion animal to come to this gem of a place. I will be back soon, no question about it! INCREDIBLE!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room you choose. I've toured them all and all are worthy of stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Richard C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!

Family is the base of Mexican culture and Maroma aptly extends this tradition to guests’ four-legged friends. To celebrate man’s best friend, we have renovated our Pet Amenities to please both the owners and the furry family members. We now feature a new, fully organic menu that is tailor-made to the needs and requirements of our canine guests, Private Doga Classes are available to help pooches find their “inner dogi” and help release tension!

We are pleased to hear that we will be welcoming you back to our family in the future!

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second trip to Maroma - we also visited last November 2012. We stayed in the same oceanfront room for 7 nights.... even better than we remembered.

Highlights of our trip:
Beautiful Beach - impeccable service from Pablo
Gorgeous Grounds and Landscape... illuminated with thousands of candles every night
Spa...the best ever - so beautiful and the best massage (Coco & Minora)
Awesome Gym with fruit and chilled water at hand
Restaurant... delicious food and the best service from Marco at breakfast and San Pablo at dinner
Gabriel the Sommelier so knowledgeable- suggested amazing wine... Muga was our favorite.
Freddy & Victor at the Bar... so friendly - we looked forward to visiting them every night
Marco the night manager was so sweet and helpful
IN SUMMARY: We lived in the most beautiful paradise the past 7 nights filled with our favoriate friends...can't wait to return

Our only suggestion is that the hotel consider changing their status to adults-only or designating a specific area of the hotel and beach for families. Much too romantic for little ones

Room Tip: Oceanfront is literally only steps to the beach/ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanticOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Romantic one,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with our Trip Advisor readers. I am glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay and very pleased to learn you are considering returning to this little piece of paradise we call home. Regarding your kind comment about children in the property, our policy did change since January 2011, and we are welcoming children to experience our Maroma way of life with their parents. However, please accept my apologies on the inconveniences encountered; I very much appreciate your feedback and kind suggestion and it has been noted. We have assigned specific areas for them. I would be very happy to assist you on your upcoming reservation to your Mexican home and suggest dates in which you would not encounter the presence of so many children.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is our favorite place to stay when we go to Mexico. It is pretty easy to get to from the Cancun airport and is really a great little secluded resort. The beach is great. The rooms are nice. We are looking forward to going back for a friends wedding this December.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoMcFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear MarkoMcFadden,

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely review with our readers. We feel truly honored to know you and your wife had a fantastic time at our little Paradise, and mostly, that we are having you back so soon to celebrate the union of your friends. Maroma is ideal for weddings and we would love to read your review about your experience!

Mr. MarkoMcFadden, please know that you have you Mexican Home in Riviera Maya.

Kind Regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My two kids, my husband and I have been there last year and it was so beautiful, maroma helps to make this place heaven, everything was so good, from the room to the service right in the beach, We where so in love to this place that we came back this year.

Room Tip: If you are going to pay for this hotel, I recomend to take one ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianavss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Dianavss,
Dear Dianavss,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to read your comment and mostly that you have returned back to your Mexican Home!

We will be delighted to pamper you and your lovely family again and again in our little paradise!

Sincerely yours,
Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I'm years late writing this review, but I wanted to b/c when anyone asks me where to go in Mexico, I immediately say Maroma. My mom, sister and I spent Christmas 2010 (I'm sure it's just as fab now) here and I've been longing to go back ever since, also next time will be with my husband. This place is super romantic, wonderfully quiet, private, and stunning. It's also pretty close to the Cancun airport, which made us feel safer. The building is set pretty far off the main road, and when you walk in, you know this place is unlike anywhere else. The grounds are lush and the beach is gorgeous. Awesome double beds on the sand and someone always asking you if you need anything. We had a wonderful suite on the second story facing the ocean. I especially enjoyed the in room coffee in the morning while looking out to the water. Peaceful and glorious! The food was wonderful. We never left the hotel. We all got wonderful massages and facials on Christmas day. We also got to holiday with Caroline Kennedy and her family who were also there which made us feel like we were in the right place :) I don't know how one couldn't enjoy Maroma. Stay here and you won't be disappointed. It's worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Alexa R,

Wow! thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and incredibly detailed response
Even after so long!
it is such a pleasure to read that after a few of years, our little paradise is still part of your memories and heart. We are very proud for the amazing location Maroma has, so we work as a team to maintain the beautiful balance between our grounds and our resort which results into a reverence for pure escapism into the amazing tropical jungle of Riviera Maya. We will make sure to share your kind comments with the Maroma Family.

We will be very pleased to hear that we will be welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,710 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Property: Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, an award-winning luxury beach resort hotel on the Riviera Maya, Mexico. Experience the magic and the beauty of profound well-being in an eternal paradise located in a breathtaking corner of the Yucatan jungle on the Riviera Maya. Enjoy also One of the finest Playa del Carmen restaurants, El Restaurante's eclectic daytime menu offers offers an array of delicious regional specialties. Baja California style shrimp tacos, pescadillas, panuchos and sopes are some of the delicacies on offer. By nightfall, tables glow with candlelight, while a band serenades diners. Be tantalised by our executive chef's interpretation of traditional Mexican cuisine. Dishes include crispy duck tacos with salsa borracha, seafood pozole and lobster enchiladas. El Sol Tapas & Restaurant combines exquisite Mediterranean-style cuisine with a unique Pre-Hispanic Mexican twist. With a relaxed ambiance, large windows afford uninterrupted sea views. The tapas-style menu features a symphony of flavors. Feel your tastebuds tingle as sharp citrus contrasts with olive oils and chilies. Complement your dish with a selection from our international wine list. Or try a new-generation Mexican wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing