We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant location BUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“brilliant location BUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

the rooms were excellent and the air conditioning worked a treat, Overall the beach staff were very friendly as were most waiters in all restaurants, the Italian, Mexican and Asian restaurants were of a high standard of service and quality of food very good with understanding if you didn't like something the chefs would go out of their way to produce you something different, which was nice.Pappitos restaurant were breakfast and lunch was served was good, but the service for the evening meal was shocking, they only had 2 waiters on for serving possibly 15-20 tables In 10 days the restaurant was open twice, the first time was a steak and fish menu with 8 choices of main meal but it took 2 hours to get served for 2 courses.The standard of waitering was poor with evrybody running round like headless chickens. i complained to the executive chef who thanked me for my comments and knew they would have problems that night as it was their first night of opening, we decided 4 days later to try it again, thinking they will have taken on board my comments, however this was worse. To start the menu had gone from 8 main courses to 2 with only one steak and salmon on the menu, we arrived at 7.10 for the meal and finished our soup by 8-45 which was Luke warm, it had obviously been left out after being served as you could see the turine was piping hot, we eventually finished our 2 courses by 9.20. I again complained to the executive chef who gave me another story of they had run out of food and had to go to a sister hotel down the road and ferry food in by car stored in their botts of the car, which in that heat and humidity didnt seem good, i told him i wouldn't open it until the staff were trained, i told him for breakfast you have 5 waiters serving coffee, tea and fruit juice but for an a la carte meal you only have 2, I got the impression the executive chef just paid lip service to you.Also we felt at night there was no comfortable seating with an outside bar the 2 bars in use were the pool bars or ricks bar which is indoors, the seating at night was the same in the day to deal with people in swimming gear it would have been nice to have a cushion.
To all English people beware our American and Canadian friends are used to tipping for everything and do , but consequently all the staff without exception are waiting for tips from the English when you have paid all inclusive the idea is you don't carry money with you in the hotel, if your strong your ok just walk off.
Overall apart from a few things the location setting and appearance of the hotel you couldn't fault, and everyone were very friendly and always smiling, the beach was brilliant you could walk for miles with a little marina for fishing trips and catamaran rides , as well as jet skies, speedboats and para gliding
would we go back yes we would and would hope that the standard of service in papitos matched up to the high standard in the other 3 restaurants

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forest8081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ignacio l, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate all your honest comments and great words regarding our service and accomodations.

Regarding the food and beverage, I would like to appologize for not having met your expectations. We certainly had problems sometimes with the daily operation but we have to look the way to provide the same service always. Thank you for share your opinions and comments with us giving us the opportunity to improve for your next visit and for other visitors.

We will look forward to serve you again if you can give us another chance.


Best regards,

Ignacio Lazaro
Gerneal Manager
gm@eldoradomaroma.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,543
    463
    139
    55
    36
See reviews for
230
2,549
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

As others have said, the service is top-notch -- this is what will bring us back to El Dorado Maroma.

Jonas and the other servers at Papitos made each breakfast special. Eating lunches poolside at Sabores was always a treat (and the guacamole is my favorite ever!). Even when we had a large group for dinner, we were accommodated as quickly as a table became available, and all of our off-the-wall requests were handled!

Gabby did a great job of keeping us pampered on our day-beds, while the entertainment staff always kept us having fun when we wanted to be more active -- water volleyball is so much fun!

Even though we had pre-purchased all of our excursions through our travel agent, Luis @ Lomas was very good with making sure we had everything on the right days -- like moving our parasailing to an earlier date so that when it was cancelled due to high winds we were still able to reschedule and enjoy it.

Just a thought on the meals... I can see why foodies will say that the phrase "Gourmet Inclusive" is a stretch, but we loved everything... well, except (strangely enough) the food at Mexican Night. But, we ordered room service that night which was fabulous -- quick, fresh, and everything still at the correct temperature. I don't consider myself to be a gourmet diner but I am the one who enjoys bolder flavors over what my wife prefers. There was never a time when both of us couldn't find something on a menu or at one of the buffet-style options. Mexican pizza for her & a guacamole burger for me. Tempura shrimp for her & teppanyaki mix for me. Onion, mushroom and cheese omelette for her & add in four kinds of peppers and some bacon on the side for me. Very good food, although maybe not "gourmet" for those who have a more refined set of taste buds.

Our candlelight beach dinner was great -- we even picked out the menu ourselves ahead of time. And when we were done, we had our in-room jacuzzi tub waiting for us, filled with bubble bath and topped with rose petals . Very romantic! Combine this with the four-post bed and the canopy... good stuff!

The beach was fantastic! Soft powder for sand and it never got hot. The water was really quite clear & great to look out on. For us, having the marina next door was perfect. Unlike many others who had to travel from other hotels, we were able to go on our excursions simply by walking a few extra steps. Think of it this way, for our 9:30 AM parasailing, we ate breakfast at 8:00, walked the beach for a few minutes, went to our room to get changed into our bathing suits, then walked over to the marina to be early for our 9:30 time-slot. No shuttle bus, no waiting around to get back to our resort, just convenience and fun! Perfect!

Room Tip: Some construction is going on now, so the rooms farther away from the water may not be a good choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The overall experience at El Dorado Maroma was a good one. The service is very good and majority of the help are really excellent. We loved the fact it was relatively small with 98 or so rooms. The beach was beautiful but we were surprised by fact there was what I would call a lagoon you needed to wade through to then get to the main area to swim in the gulf. The lunch choices for food were really high quality and very good. We stayed for 5 nights and while the dinner food service options was good - the choices were bit limited on restaurants. There was very good Mexican and Asian cuisine but we felt the Italian cuisine was just ordinary. If we had stayed one week instead of 5 days we would have gone tired of the dinner choices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeC7895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ignacio l, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very sorry for not having met your expectations.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your recognition of our staff's service.

We hope to have another chance to serve you in the future if you can give us another chance.


Sincerely,


Ignacio Lazaro
General Manager
gm@eldoradomaroma.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our second visit, and the first as Exotic members. We really enjoyed the benefits associated with the membership. Our two daughters and their boyfriends joined us this year, and they loved the resort, as well. There is a nice mix of ages (adults, of course!), and the size of the resort is perfect. We hope it stays this way! The young adults enjoyed two days of excursions, and also kept busy at the resort with the kayak tours (Comancho is great!), Spanish lessons, and the spa. The yoga instructor was also great. But it is also a perfect place to completely relax and do very little!
The best aspects of this resort are the beach (amazing, as everyone says), and the staff, as many also mention. Our personal butler Leo was very personable and helpful, and we were so sad to leave Brisa and Javier and all the amazing staff at Papito's. Brisa is such an asset to the resort, and we hope she never leaves! Rene at Bar 24 and Estela as server were most entertaining and accommodating. Again, great service everywhere.
We love the breakfasts and lunches at Papitos, but found the dinners a little hit and miss this time. They seem to be changing things up a bit, and adding a new restaurant, so hopefully this will improve down the road. We still love the resort and will return whenever we can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rk189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our second trip to The El Dorado Maroma in the last year. We just absolutely love the "break from reality" this place gives us! We stayed in a Royale Suite and the view and accommodations were both beautiful. The staff and locale are what set this resort apart from others. Small, quiet, and relaxing. The service there is a cut above the rest. Our butlers Leo and Marcela ensured that all our needs were met and then some. They took the time to create a vacation that will not soon be forgotten. Even our concierge from our last trip Alex went above and beyond his duties to make sure everything was perfect. If you are interested in pampering, Lorena from the Naay Spa will take great care of you. The sky massage and pedicure were just fantastic! Luis from Lomas Travel always makes excursions even better than expected. I just can't say enough. It's not that I am saying everything is perfect all the time, but the resort certainly tries to correct all and any issues immediately! We will definitely return. And will request Leo and Marcela again!!!

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room. Our first trip we had an infinity pool honeymoon suite in building 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at El Dorado Maroma for 5 nites at the end of March. We chose this resort from the reviews and reputation of the beautiful beach. Overall, it was a very good experience. I'll agree with some previous reviews and say this is more of a 3.5 star resort rather than 5. We booked a "regular" room (111), which was fine and we could see a bit of the ocean thru the palms outside our balcony. Most evenings we had a drink on our balcony, which was directly above one of the pools/24 Bar. Interesting comments from the guests at the pool, and quite a few returnees who had great things to say about the resort.(always a good sign!) Our room was a bit tired, but no real complaints. I don't think we had turn down service at all (we didn't care), and our mini bar was only replenished a couple times. We didn't mind walking to the pool bar or Rick's for a drink.
The beach is beautiful and the water was fabulous. We never went in any of the pools, but they looked very inviting.
The food was OK; definitely NOT gourmet. Dinners were a real disappointment. I don't think we had a good dinner the entire stay. We had a couple decent entrees, but found many of the appetizers to be better. Breakfast and lunch at Pappito's was very good, and the guacamole is outstanding! Nice selection of fresh food and the waitstaff was happy to accommodate any request.
The staff is amazing; SO friendly and helpful, which really compensated for some of the other negatives. Would we return to El Dorado again? Yes, I think we will. I hope the management takes the critiques regarding the food seriously and will work with their chefs to provide higher quality meals (especially dinner). Maybe fewer "gourmet" options and more well prepared entrees?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ignacio l, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you very much for having given us the opportunity to be part of your vacations.

I appreciate all your comments, opinions and suggestions that help us to keep improving every day.

Regarding the food, I pased your comments to our Executive Chef, in order to continue creating and innovating.

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a very memorable time in this Paradise.

We will looking forward to your return.


Sincerely,

Ignacio Lazaro
General Manager
gm@eldoradomaroma.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

What an absolutely amazing resort! We don't normally leave reviews but felt we had to about this spectacular place. We have been to Mexico before (to El Dorado Seaside suites) which was brilliant but this place just tipped the scales for us! We wanted a beautiful, relaxing holiday, somewhere where we would feel truly spoilt and The El Dorado Maroma exceeded our expectations. We were welcomed with champagne and swiftly taken to our room which really did have the most breathtaking view - the whole of Maroma beach and the tips of palm trees. Our room was delightful and our every need was met. The staff do everything they can to make your holiday a good one. Alex and Naomi in the concierge could not do enough for us - what an asset to this great hotel. There really are too many staff names to mention! The pools are gorgeous and the beach is stunning - we can see why it is one of the top 10 in the world. And an even bigger bonus... you can always get a sun bed! Hooray! We don't normally go in for lot of excursions while away, but since Maroma beach has the 2nd largest reef in the world we couldn't resist a little snorkel trip. This was good value for money, safe and well organised throughout. We saw an array of fishes ... but not Nemo unfortunately! Lunch times were our favourite meal times because there was a a daily food theme - the bbq was delicious! Evening meals were also a lovely end to the day - we liked the Italian best. Sometimes the service could be a little slow in the evening, at the beginning of meals but who's really in a rush at a place like this?!
Thank you El Dorado Maroma for making our holiday so wonderful!

Room Tip: what can I say - 341!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Bee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.7 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
3.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,482 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,582 reviews
4.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km 55.3, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Spa Resorts, by Karisma)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of Travel Channels Top Ten Beaches in the World, El Dorado Maroma is an upscale, exclusive Caribbean resort for romantic couples and active vacationers alike. Intimate and beachfront. Rustic and luxurious at the same time. the hotel provides outstanding services and gourmet cuisine. Receive personalized butler and concierge service, arrive with style with a champagne check in. It is rustic, because it is not pretentious and was built using traditional materials and with the philosophy of embracing the bounty of the nature and the local environment. It lies directly on the beach of Maroma, considered to be one of the best beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including the Discovery Channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Dorado Maroma Hotel
El Dorado Maroma Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing