We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Best all-inclusive resort"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Best all-inclusive resort"”
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The resort is absolutely gorgeous, with breathtaking views and beaches. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Each bungalow had its own concierge, there were waitstaff at both the beach and the pool, and the grounds were impeccable. As soon as we arrived we were offered a cool towel and a glass of champagne. There was no wait for the check-in. This was definitely the best all-inclusive resort we have ever stayed at, and we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah110580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,308
    1,575
    441
    140
    65
See reviews for
578
9,116
87
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

This high end all inclussive adults only resort was worth evry penny. The staff was amazing, always happy and couldn't due enough to make your stay the very best. The beach is absolutely beautiful with the pools being no less so. We choose this location to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and we will be back long before our 35th!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonKingJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed at this resort for 1 night and within 1 night I experienced some of the best service ever. The hotel was amazing and the Beach , just as described. It is truly one of the best in All of Mexicio. If you have anyone celebrtaing anything special and intimate feel very comfortable about your recommendation. Lonely Traveler.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelForlife087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Unbelievable service with a smile. Never experienced being waited on like this in my entire life. My wife and I had a wonderful time and would recommend Secrets Maroma to anyone who wants to kick back and chill out. However, do not come here if you are looking for a crazy mexican party. You will not find it here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vincevuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about this resort. It was absolutely gorgeous! My husband and I had booked this trip last year for our honeymoon, but the dreaded swine flu hit the week before we got married. We decided it would be safer to cancel, and re-book the next year, so we finally got to go, and it did not disappoint. We were able to keep the honeymoon package we would have gotten had we gone last year, and we were treated just like honeymooners with the sash on our door. We booked the preferred club junior ocean view suite in building 16, which was beautiful, and our concierge Roberto was wonderful! Check-in was a breeze, the preferred club was definitely worth the money, and we got champagne while we waited. There was also a bottle of champagne chilling when we got to our suite. Needless to say, it didn't last long.

The grounds are lovely, the people are friendly and helpful, and the pool is so much fun. I was a little disappointed with the infinity edge pool since I couldn't even see the ocean from it, which I thought was the whole point. It should have been elevated because all we could see were sand hills and plants when we were in it. I also wished that they could have joined the two pools so you didn't have to get out, and get back into the other one just to get a drink at the pool bar, but that was a minor inconvenience. We never had trouble finding the mats to float on, or chairs under an umbrella. If there were towels there, but no other evidence of people (bags, shoes, sunblock, etc.), we just moved the old towels, and took the chairs. I'm not a beach person, but the beach was lovely too.

I would highly recommend taking advantage of the spa. The hubby and I got a couples massage, and were able to use the hydrotherapy circuit beforehand. It was one of the most relaxing parts of our vacation. We also loved the Sugar Reef sports bar with the tables in the water. It was so relaxing to sit there after dinner, drink, and cool your feet in the water. We met some really nice people there, who we remained friends with through the duration of our stay, and exchanged contact information with so we can keep in touch.

As far as the restaurants go, our favorite was Portofino. We ate there three times! We liked Seaside Grill, Oceana, and Himitsu as well, but if you go to Himitsu, make a reservation for one of the habachi tables. I would also recommend telling them, before they seat you, that you have a reservation for one of those tables because they tried to sit us at an ordinary one. We had to clarify that we did have a reservation, and they moved us.

Sadly, we weren't able to use our romantic dinner on the beach portion of our package because it was extremely windy in the evenings. I didn't feel like having to worry about my food flying off the table in a strong gust, so we just went to Portofino again that night. One other thing that we had an issue with was the fact that three of the nights we were there, we had to deal with all the vendors that line up to bug you on your way to dinner in the main building. Everytime we had to pass through there to go anywhere, we would get pestered to buy something, and they don't like to take no for an answer if you're not interested. That should be more limited to once or twice a week at the most...not three times.

All in all we had a great time, and will definitely visit another Secrets resort. We may go to the new Cap Cana one next time since we've been to both the Capri and Maroma already. I hope this review is helpful to someone out there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maroma2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We just returned from a one week stay at Secrets and it was by far the best all-inclusive hotel. We had some minor issues at the Cancun airport as our flight arrived with several other incoming flights. I would definitely recommend scheduling your arrival before noon to beat the long lines at immigration. Once we arrived at the hotel, the staff immediately took care of everything and made us completely forget about the awful 3 hour ordeal at the airport. Since we arrived a little late our room was ready and they took our bags right away to the room while we checked in. Once we were unpacked we headed right to the pool to catch some sun before the end of the day. Everything about the resort was simply perfect from the interior design of the main areas to the landscaping all around to the gourmet food. To better describe each piece:
Rooms:
We had a partial ocean view on the second floor in bldg 23. It was the perfect distance from both the lobby area where most of the restaurants are to the pool area. Even though we were on the second floor we had a great view. The swim out rooms seemed like fun but we did not see them being used too often. The rooms were unbelievable clean. We happened to walk by another room being cleaned after a guest had checked out and the rooms were scrubbed from top to bottom. The rooms were also very spacious and beautifully decorated. I enjoyed just sitting out on the balcony in the mornings watching the sun come up. The maid service was also amazing with a turn down service at night that added an extra touch. We took advantage of the room service which was extremely fast and the food was great.
Pool/Beach:
The pool was amazing with plenty of seats and shade. Waiters came around often to provide drinks and food. There was also great food available for lunch buffet style at the barefoot grill. The beach was amazing although it was a little windy for a few of the days which made the waves a little larger than normal. There is also waiters that come around the beach lounge chairs and a food cart that sets up for lunch with burgers and a different type of stir fry.
Restaurants:
All of the food was great. My favorite was Himitsu and Oceana. I would definitely recommend making a reservation as soon as you arrive for the main table at Himitsu so you can enjoy the Hibachi show, it fills up fast. You don't need to make reservations for anything else and we were able to be seated immediately. There were also several outdoor parties while we there with live music and shows with buffet style food. I would recommend these as they were alot of fun and the food was great plus you get to meet other people at your table.
Other:
The entertainment was excellent with plenty of things to choose from all day long. We went to almost every nightly event and really enjoyed it. The stargazing party on the beach was unbelievable with a very talented acoustic guitar player and singer. I would recommend bringing a light sweater for women as the nights were slightly chilly with the wind. Definitely bring lots of sunscreen as you don't want to get stuck having to buy it from the gift shop as it tends to be more expensive. We never had any problems with mosquitos as they seemed to take care of this every night. They provided you with enough bottled water that you didn't need to worry about this. Others in our group drank the water provided at dinner (not bottled) and never got sick. Although tipping is not required and there is no pressure to do so we felt that the staff really went above and beyond here so we decided to provide tips (we brought alot of $1 bills to handle this). I wish we would have taken the organized trip to Playa Del Carmen but there was just so many things going on it was tough to decide.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug52010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Armagh Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Where do you start this resort is amazing in every sense of the word. The Service is second to none all the staff will go out of their way for you from your concierge (Luca is great) to the waiters in the restaurants and at the pool you can be as active or unactive as you wish the entertainments team always have something going on at the pools or on the beach you dont even have to leave your lounger for food as the chefs go around the pool with snacks ie shrimp cocktail, chicken tacos, fish, sushi (yummy) cakes, ice lollies and of course the drinks service at the pool is brilliant you will never be out of drink they are so attentive. All the restaurants are great especially the italian and the asian we ate in these twice we also did the Romantic Candlelight dinner on the beach and really was the highlight of our honeymoon was so romantic and even at $150 was worth it as you get bottle of champagne and main course is steak and lobster the food was amazing and it will be a memory we will cherish for the rest of our lives! Yes we were also there when the air conditioning broke down but we didn't let it ruin our holiday as it was just one of those things and if you have been disturbed by things like ash cloud (we missed 3 days of our honeymoon because we couldnt fly) it put things into perspective I would still recommend this resort to everyone and we will hopefully be back soon maybe for our first year anniversary if am lucky lol also just to mention the entertainments team they are great there was something on every night we were there from Mexican Fiestas to Grease show (a lot of fun) and the fire show (amazing) another important thing take bug spray or get the bracelets you can wear on your arms and legs as the mozzies are really bad here due to the jungle and high swamps I was eaten alive while we were there. Another good thing to do is the hibacthi the asian restaurant where you all sit around the grill and the chef cooks your main course and does a few tricks and that it is well worth booking and doesnt cost you anything its was the first time me and my husband ever tried sushi and we loved it I had sushi 3 times more before we went home yummy so all in all this resort is amazing and well worth the money we got so many lovely things for our honeymoon like lovely banner on our door bubble bath with rose petals, rose petals on the bed with swans, 2 bottles of champagne which made our honeymoon so much more romantic. The beach was also great but we aren't beach people we prefer the pool which is really impressive and there is always a lounger for everyone but if you want an umbrella you really need to be at the pool for 10am at the latest as there isn't one for every couple we met some lovely couples while we were there and the people are so friendly I miss it already oh and try the mango tango and the dirty monkeys (yummy cocktails even virgin)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shahug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,710 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,160 reviews
8.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing