We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Playa Maroma(Playa Maroma)
$380
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
$475
$405
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amarte Hotel(Playa Maroma)(Great Value!)
$73
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kin Sol Soleil(Playa Maroma)
$375
$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$259
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$246
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$291
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (13,365)
Filter reviews
13,365 results
Traveler rating
10,869
1,767
500
158
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10,869
1,767
500
158
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreferred clubworld cafebarefoot grillel patioour honeymoonamerican idolsecrets boxroom serviceentertainment staffbuilding conciergecoco cafefrench restaurantwelcome homehydrotherapy circuitocean viewpool volleyballmy pleasure
Filter
Updating list...
10,953 - 10,958 of 13,365 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Relatively new resort (3 yrs old) about 30 minutes from CUN airport. Decent rooms. Excellent food and restaurants for an all inclusive. Truly a wonderful beach with crystal clear water. Well laided out with comfortable chairs around a amoeba shaped pool so there's no sense of crowding. One of the two pools is heated. There are first floor rooms with private pools but the people we spoke with who were in them said they weren't worth the extra money.

Good staff. English is still a bit of a struggle but they're trying.

Only negative is the fitness center is small and has little equipment. They need to upgrade that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

WOW! We had the most wonderful time March 07 -14, 2010 at Secrets Maroma Beach; this was our second time and it was as amazing and wonderful as our first trip in January 2009. We are beach people and expect to be able to go for long walks when the mood strikes. THIS BEACH IS SPECTACULAR. We walked for 45 minutes on each side of the hotel (north and south) and could have continued further if desired. The sand was very soft and never hot. The ocean was the prettiest turquoise you imagine. It was windy while we were there and so had waves to play in. We never had a problem finding loungers at the beach. It was decadent to have 'servers' at the beach - and we certainly took advantage of the opportunity to quench our thirst (often!) . I couldn't believe my eyes when the chefs came offering all sorts of culinary treats - in their uniforms - midday.
Lovely.

The pools were beautiful looking but we did not go to Secrets for the pool (or swim up bar).

The rooms were extremely spacious and very, very clean (also high on my list of must haves).

Staff was amazing; food spectacular.

We had a wonderful, wonderful week; it is so hard being back home and back to reality.

We will back - and I can't wait.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanMCousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The first sentence is usually all the folks that read reviews look at so, I'll start by saying this place was a bit overpriced and a tad far from most everything. The "partial" ocean view is a very schetchy description. If you are staying in a "partial" make sure it's on the 3rd floor or higher, otherwise you can't see didly!! The overprice comes in when you want to do things like upgrades of your room or spa services or things of that nature. The resturants at the resort are not the best but they'll do. I suggest making sure you dine out of the resort once or twice, like at a nice steak house like peutro madero or something like that. Now on to the good stuff.... The resort is so packed with things to do that you really don't need to leave for any reason. The staff is great and the beach is amazing. If you want to get away from Cancun and still want to be close enough so that you can run back in town if you need, then this is a nice hideaway. It was a bit far from things for my liking but to each his own.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimt1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

There is only one bad thing about this resort – after you visit it, no other resort would be good enough. Maroma is a true paradise. Spotless and nicely decorated rooms, invisible cleaning people, superbly trained staff, fantastic food, tequila tastings, entertainment and spectacular beach. Try the spa, it’s expensive, but 100% worth it. Out of all resorts I visited in Mexico and Caribbean, Maroma, without any doubt, is the best one.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LenaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed for two weeks at the Secrets Maroma Riviera Hotel. It was a beautiful hotel but it did not live up to the romantic surroundings that were mentioned. The room was fantastic and the swim up beautiful but beware of rooms on the ground floor opposite the lift - it is very noisy from early morning and during the afternoon if you want a nap. The pool & beach were beautiful and no need to reserve beds. The restaurants were fantastic with outstanding food, we enjoyed the French, Italian and Mexican with some of the best steak we have ever eaten. The staff were superb with special thanks to Ignacio and Freddy and the wonderful staff in the Rendevous. The entertainment really did let the resort down it was very repetitive and they did not make the most of the Theatre dragging everyone there generally for half hour/45 minute show. Being English (and I have nothing against the Americans) but there were very few of us there !! The swim up was fantastic but we had two large groups of Americans staying either end and they had loud and raucous parties - I am not against this but felt the bar would have made better surroundings !!! Overall a lovely hotel but think The Excellence Riviera was better. The spa was very very expensive and quite a let down - the showers didn't work and there was a lot of noise from the next building whilst we were having a couples massage. We did not receive anything to celebrate our anniversary either which was disappointing as there were Happy Anniversary/Birthday/Honeymooners banners on doors all over the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank lisylouHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews