We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation,excellent service,food and accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Was surprised by the service , our concierge,Rosy, was amazing providing service beyond expectations. The room was great and all the dining options were very good. We had a private dinner in the wine cellar for my wife,s birthday which was fabulous. I would recommend the "preferred rooms" which had a private lounge.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank waterfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,336 - 10,342 of 12,507 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

This is an absolutley gorgeous resort bar none!!! The staff was incredibly courteous and helpful. The airline lost our luggage for 2 days, and the hotel offered us $70 US credit in the boutiques on site!!! We never used it, as I explained to them that it wasn't their fault, but were very appreciative of their generous offer.
It was immaculately clean everyday all week. The food was very good, with a great selection either in the ala carte, or buffet format. Bartenders poured good drinks, with plenty of coctail options!! At the same time, all staff were friendly, and even had a sense of humor!!! My only slightly negative comment would be the area that is like a shallow pool extending from the main pool to the main building, should be more swimming pool, as there was limited space around the pool, and a bit of a problem getting a spot around the pool. Perhaps if the windy season had not occurred, more people would have spent time at the beach. The beach was immaculate!!! Soft fine sand, and clean to boot!!!
We would DEFINITELY go back there!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dana2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Everything about the resort was great! Staff was wonderful, everyone was really attentive. The grounds & the rooms were absolutely beautiful. Food was delcious!! Lots of different places to choose from. Breakfast Buffet was awesome too! Loved the way they passed around hor dorves by the pool and had people taking drink orders and stuff. Overall, had a wonderful experience there and can't wait to go back!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
5  Thank hdemko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We celebrated our 4 year anniversary at Secrets Maroma after extensive research on Trip Advisor. We stayed for 6 nights in an oceanview suite (great views of the water & the beach- the ocean front would have cost an extra $150/night).

To summarize:

The Beach: Amazing, gorgeous water, great for beach walking and playing in the surf. Plenty of palapas and lounge chairs, great beach service too! Only a few entrepeneurs selling stuff but were not pushy if told "no".

The Room: Exactly as pictured, spacious, private, the balcony with the outdoor tub and loveseat was wonderful!

The Pool: We prefer the beach, however, as noted in some of the other reviews it was VERY windy and not hospitable to reading, etc. We did sit by the pool for a day or two. Basically, if you reserve your chair before bfast you're all set. There are just not enough chairs by the pool which is unfortunate. Generally, if you noted towels but no belongings it meant the chair was abandoned and by asking the neighboring people you could find out if they'd packed & left. The resort could avoid this issue by asking people to remove their towels when they're done. There was not a bin or basket for used towels so ppl really didn't know what to do with them other than leave them on the chairs.

The food:
Breakfast offered plenty of options- the crepes are really tasty and I recommend the chocolate & strawberry combo.
Lunch: pork, chicken & beef tacos were always available by the pool and the beach. One of the restaurants was open for lunch, Oceana and that wasn't bad.

*Our recommendation: SAVE YOURSELF FOR DINNER as we had the best cuisine in the evenings.
Dinner: We LOVED the Italian and French restaurants and ate at each twice. The French restaurant had outstanding mussels, a wonderful ostrich appetizer and a baby lobster thermidore special one evening. The creme brulee is to die for. The Italian restaurant was very good too- great veal canneloni and seafood risotto.
The house reds paired really well at both restaurants.

No reservations was also a treat as with other resorts: Sun Palace Cancun, Sandals, Beaches require reservations in advance. When you're on vacation a schedule isn't optimal so we really enjoyed eating whenever we wanted to. Generally, when given a 30 minute wait it was usually half that time.

We would definitely return to Secrets Maroma or other Secrets/Dreams properties. No complaints. It was more expensive than some other options but well worth it!

I welcome questions regarding our experience!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank vermonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Fab hotel and resort. We stayed Jan 11 - 22 flying from Bham UK ( flight is via Mchtr for fuelling ) with Thomson to Cancun. Flight was fairly long but well worth it in the end!
Everything from check in to check out was fantastic - service is impeccable and especially liked the little extra touches like waiters serving platters of food during the day whilst sunbathing poolside. The pool area is lovely - great loungers, really well set out and very modern & trendy in style- liked the hammock and shaded pagoda areas. Great floats provided to have long lazy days in the water when it gets too hot!
Beach is gorgeous if you like long, white sandy beaches which make for lovely long walks and very few other hotels so always feels relaxing and peaceful. Good way to work off all those AI calories!!
We liked the adults only style of hotel - for a change - and found a mixture of ages of couples.
Breakfast was our fave meal - amazing choice and the smoothies are to die for - ive seriously missed them since coming home! Again service of waiter staff fantastic.
Lunch we tended to eat poolside from the Barefoot Grill - a BBQ style grill where the meats and fish on offer are superb or the Seafood Grill restarant. The beach also has daily BBQ but we didnt use that.
Evening meals there are 6 restarants to choose from - we prefered the Japanese the best - either tepanyakee or normal menu but there is plenty of other choice at the others.
Entertainment - is there in the day ( aerobics, volleyball etc )and evening if you want it - we only went to a couple of evening shows but they were brilliant - especially the fire show.
Also if you get a chance to see the magician who frequents the evening lobby bar where you can have cocktails etc - boy is he talented! still trying to get my head around some of the tricks he showed us!
We didnt venture out of the hotel for any trips - we had just what we needed right there - but probably would have done had we been spending 14 nights there....I wish!
If you are consiering this hotel - and getting bogged down by all the trip advisor reviews and choices for Riviera Maya - dont hesitate just book here!!
We will definitely be returning - sooner I hope than later!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SammyLou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Just got back last evening. The beach is beautiful and the water is a clear blue. The pool area is lovely. There are very comfortable chaise lounges all around the pool. You do have to claim pool lounges early in the morning. We didn't sit at the beach because it was windy, so I cannot tell you about those lounges.
The landscaping is just beautiful, and the groundskeepers are constantly working on it. The staff is incredibly warm and helpful. Our concierge, V, was very sweet. Jesus, in the Preferred Club, was very helpful as well.
As far as the food goes, it was a bit inconsistent. There were some things that were excellent, such as the tenderloin at the Mexican restaurant, the olive oil and cheese at the Italian restaurant, and the grouper special at the seafood restaurant. But then there certain items like the soup at the Italian restaurant that were not very good, to say the least.The outdoor grill at the pool was fine for lunch and the waiters came around with other foods. The breakfast every day at the World Cafe was excellent. The Japanese restaurant was fun. We sat at the hibachi table. While not as good as the ones at home (the sauces and dressing were completely different,) we really enjoyed the show our chef put on.
The rooms are beautiful. The beds are comfortable. (I wished I had brought my own hairdryer. ) Our housekeeper did a very good job.
One problem that really put a damper on things for us was that we just could not get hot water. We were on the top floor. Our concierge, V, really kept on top of it, but they just could not seem to fix the problem. So instead "I am going to take a nice hot shower" it was "Oh no, I have to take a shower." The last evening (We were there 5 nights.) there was finally some hot water, but the next morning, not only was the hot water not hot, but there was NO water when the left faucet was opened. They offered to move us the last night because there was nothing open before then, but by then, we did not want to waste more time moving. I was also offered use of the spa whirlpool on the last day as well, but we did not want to stay inside. I have had major back surgery, so this whole lack of hot water problem really was a big problem for me. My husband was not happy about it either. It seems that one should not have this kind of continuing problem at a 5 -star resort.
We went to two shows, the Physical Comedy Show and the Secrets Idol Show. We enjoyed both very much. The entertainment staff is extremely hard-working, as is every other employee at the hotel. It would be very nice if the hotel would open a late-night coffee house. Drinking at the bars was really the only choice after the shows.

We went to Playa del Carmen and to Puerto Morelos. We enjoyed both outings very much.
The Preferred Club was very nice and definitely worth it. There is a bar there. There are game tables and computers. It was a nice place to just hang out.
I agree with the person who said that they should just charge the real prices for spa services, rather than offering coupons. I had a good foot massage there with George. A couple had pre-warned me to insist that I get him. The woman had been passed off to someone else, and she was not happy.
We had some beautiful weather and also some chilly weather. Surprisingly, the weather varies a bit in January/February. Make sure you bring long pants, shoes and socks, and a sweater.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Relaxationbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Everything from check in to check out was impeccable at Secrets Maroma. The rooms were spacious and immaculate, the pools and restaurants were all you could wish for. The pool side service was great and the special treats brought to your chair throughout the afternoons were an added bonus. The drink service on the beach was also fantastic, and such a beautiful beach. Kilometers of white sand, sandy bottom for as far as you could swim. This is one resort that was hard to leave for excursions, though the half day trip to Tulum was excellent. I would definitely visit Secrets Maroma again. The spa is one of the best I've visited and the gym on site was also great, lots of cardio and weight equipment.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Limeygoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,002 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,544 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: $402 - $875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing