We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and Even Better Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edgewood, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Resort and Even Better Staff”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I recently traveled with six couples to celebrate the 40th birthday of a very good friend. I had heard rave reviews about this resort in the past, but I really had no idea what I was in for on a four night trip. This is a beautiful resort with elegant accommodations that make for a wonderful week, but the staff is the real difference at Secrets Maroma Beach. Never before have I seen a better example of leadership setting the tone for the entire resort than at this hotel. Rafael is the general manager and once you have had a chance to meet him, you realize why every team member is so concerned with the enjoyment of your stay. There is a smile at every turn and a true interest shared by everyone that I met in helping guests enjoy every moment of the stay. The beach is beautiful and there is bar and food service conveniently located throughout the resort. The pool is very large and as active or relaxing as you want to make it. The spa is wonderful. We let the staff know about our friend's 40th and there were surprises and birthday wishes all day. It was really a remarkable trip. There was no need to leave the resort.. beach in the morning, pool in the afternoon, dinner at one of several restaurants and then off to a show before heading over to the nightclub. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you can do it, I suggest requesting a swim-out room close to the beach as they have a beautiful p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rwf3531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and we are very happy you got to meet Rafael. I hope you consider Secrets Maroma Beach your second home and decide to return soon.


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,571
    1,601
    447
    142
    65
See reviews for
598
9,354
88
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I don't want to sound like every other reviewer on here but this resort was amazing. I just returned home after 6 days here with my girlfriend and could not have asked for a better vacation. We chose this spot after some friend recommendations and the countless great reviews, I really cant see how anyone can give this place a negative review as it was top shelf all around. We had a preferred club swim out suite in building 16 and it was great, at first I wasn't sure if we use the pool that much with so much else to do but we found ourselves in it just about everyday. From the minute we checked in and were taken by golf cart to the preferred club lounge for a private and fast check in, we were taken to our suite and greeted by Rogelio our building concierge who was great and beyond helpful all week with any requests. The grounds are immaculate, the pool was fun and never overly crowded, there were a few weddings going on but hardly noticeable, the beach is exactly what everyone says about it which is outstanding. Every morning and also during the day there are a few workers raking what little seaweed washes on the beach so the beach is pristine, water is clear and warm just overall great. The entertainment staff was fantastic in both what they did all day and the fact that just about all of them remember your name from day one (especially Ivan) and they work hard all day. We saw the circqe de soleil style show they put on called affair and it was crazy, great show. The food was better than I expected, as everyone stated the breakfast is a huge buffet and very good, the rest of the restaurants we thought were very good considering the amount of people they are cooking for and an all inclusive resort. I could go on and on and repeat what most people have said but if you're considering this resort don't hesitate as its great. A fantastic experience from start to finish without any details left undone and the best resort staff I have seen to date!

Also Book a beach bed one day, service was awesome and it was a good way to experience such a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the review! We are thrilled you excedded your spectations and look forward serving you again.


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

It was fun. The resort was great. The service was great. The only things I can complain about are some hidden fees in the website description. For example "free golf" still costs $44 in can rides, $55 for a cart and $50 for club rentals. $250 in certificates for spa and romantic dinners don't begin to cover the actual costs of those items. Those are small things though as the resort and all the people were great. No kids and no party crowd. It was great for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rjg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the five star rating! In regards to the extra fees for golf, they are listed in our website. We advertise Free Green fees and it is correct. The golf clubs, cart fee and other charges are listed there.

In the future, please send us an email if you have any concerns.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I were married here 2 weeks ago. As the title suggests, we had the most perfect wedding on the beach in beautiful surroundings. If you are considering getting married, seriously consider getting married here! We stayed for 11 nights and we can honestly say that the service we received from arriving to leaving was the best we've ever experienced in a hotel.
The hotel and grounds are simply stunning, and simply put, immaculate! This really is paradise! The food is wonderful and the drinks and constantly flowing. These are all premium drinks, unlike some all inclusive hotels. There are no reservations at the restaurants, so if you want to eat at a reasonable time, we would suggest arriving as they open and no longer than 30 minutes after this as they are very busy between 7-9pm. We enjoyed all the restaurants, but our favourite was Portofino, the Italian restaurant. For breakfast and lunch, we ate at the World Cafe, which was a buffet restaurant. The selection of food available was incredible and always very fresh and tasty.
We stayed in a Preferred Club room. Members of our family stayed in ordinary rooms and so we were able to identify the differences. The main things were we had access to a private lounge with its own bar and fresh snacks, an upgraded mini bar, a soaking tub on the balcony, access to the Hydrotherapy circuit in the spa and we were closer to the beach. Each block in the hotel had its own concierge desk which was convenient. All the rooms, or suites as they are known, were beautifully decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. We always had a great nights sleep.
During the day when we were sunbathing we chose to use the loungers on the beach, as this was a lot more peaceful than by the pool, which was a lot more lively. Beach waiters were constantly walking up and down bringing ice cold drinks over, which was perfect and meant we had total relaxation on the beach.
By night, the hotel had a lot of bars to have pre and post dinner drinks and lounges to relax in. At around 9:30pm there seemed to be a different show on every night in the theatre. We saw the Rock Show which was very professional and entertaining.
There is a spa at the hotel which is simply world class. I had a manicure, pedicure, and bridal hair and make up done. It was very professional and I was thrilled with the results.
We would like to thank Pau (our concierge) who worked extremely hard and was always pleasant. Mario (our wedding photographer) who was simply wonderful and provided us with incredible photographs that we will always treasure. Urbano (the beach waiter) who worked extremely hard and always had a smile on his face. Nayibe and Laura (in the spa) who were wonderful and made me look and feel amazing on my wedding day.
If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue, this is it! Our 6 guests could not agree more with this statement and had an amazing holiday at the same time! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Preferred Club is closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pip-F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for choosing Secrets Maroma Beach to host your wedding! We will make sure to thank all of those who provided excellent servcie and we look forward seeing you again on your first anniversary!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We visited this resort in July and highly recommend it, everything was amazing. There was a number of reasturaunts to choose from and each was delicious, the entertainment was amazing, staff were very friendly and the beach was out of this world. We will defiantly be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great hotel with great facilities but they seem to endorse the time share scheme. Stay away from time share presentations no matter what free perks they offer, personally it all left a very very bad taste in my mouth. Shame because the Hotel was great as was the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Llanito-gib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the review! I don't know what the situation was, but please notify us when you are ready to come back so we can put notes on the system you do not wish to be invited to the sales presentations by Unlimited Vacation Club.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the resort from June 14th to the 20th. We were part of a group of 24 friends and we all had a ball. The entertainment was fantastic and the staff were all great and a lot of fun. Everything was so clean and spotless. We renewed our vows on the beach, and Cecelia did a wonderful job with everything. Everything about the resort exceeded our expectations. We will return again, and hopefully soon ! We will be going to the new Secrets Playa Mujeres for a week for New Years Eve, and we are hoping we have the same wonderful time we had at Maroma Beach. We all came home with a lot of GREAT memories !!

Room Tip: Ocean view room on high floors are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TCDDJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the review! We are very happy you've decided to renew your vowels in our resort.

Please let us know when you are ready to return home!


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,827 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,769 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,127 reviews
11.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing