We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Maya Riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mediocre Maya Riviera”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is rated as 5 star diamond so you expect a very high standard throughout. Our experience did not match our expectations. This is a 4 star, time share selling hotel in a nice location. Staff are friendly and helpful but both the food and service vary from excellent to frustratingly mediocre. Compared to a real 5 star experience this falls well short of expectations. The spa is overpriced.

The Trip Advisor rating is misleading as it puts this hotel with one other hotel on Maroma beach (easy to be number one or two) when in reality it is part of the Riviera Maya set of hotels; all the hotels along the Riviera Maya (between Playa del Carmen and Cancun Riviera) should fall under one rating set, so potential visitors can get a true reflection of what is available in each area (Cancun, Cancun Riviera, Maya Riviera, Playa del Carmen).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MossandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations, we feel we provide a good price vs value. Sorry you did not feel that way.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,349
    1,582
    441
    140
    64
See reviews for
579
9,154
87
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This review is long overdue. My husband and I spent our honeymoon at SMB 2 years ago. We stayed for 6 nights, preferred club, junior suite, ocean view. Absolutely no complaints. We LOVED everything about the resort...the staff, the service, the food, the beach, the atmosphere, our room, the spa, the preferred club option (the preferred club is close to beach for a quick trip to the bathroom, a drink, email check, to cool off, quick snack etc) ...I could go on and on but just keep in mind that there is a reason SMB is rated as highly as it is. Its exceptional! We researched honeymoon resorts for 6 months and we are so happy we decided on SMB. It was the perfect balance between romance and fun. There are resort activities that you can get involved in or you can just relax on the beach. We did not want to leave and have dreamed about returning since the day we left. We will be going back in 2 weeks for our 2nd Anniversary. This trip, we chose a swim out, preferred club. My advise is to pay the extra for the preferred club. Its great. When you arrive to the resort you are escort away to the 'preferred club' and checked in, which is probably why we missed the 'sales pitch' that everyone else complains about...seriously, how hard is it to say 'no, thank you?' If you dont want a time share or dont want to be bothered with a conversation about a time share, just say, 'no, thank you.' There is no need to let that 'ruin' your vacation. My husband and I are pretty easy going and didnt not mind waiting a few minutes for food...we enjoy each others company and are there to relax so we do not see the big deal in having to wait our turn. We are on vacation, right?! With that said, I have read almost every review ever posted (literally!! yes, I have) and I find it so annoying that people complain about waiting a few minutes for a table or their food or a towel...relax people, just enjoy the moment. Also, tip the staff. Its not required and the staff does not expect it but just tip. We took extra cash ( $1, $5, $10) to tip with. The staff work really hard and deserve your appreciation. You will not be disappointed at SMB. Its heaven on earth and worth every penny!! Thank you, SMB!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJK5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so mcuh for your review and like some people say, better late than never! We are so happy you've decided to spend your anniversary here, if there is anything we can do for you, please let me know!


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 5 night stay at gorgeous Secrets Maroma and can't wait to go back. We stayed at Iberostar Grand a few yrs back, also upscale adults only and loved it. However, this place takes it a few steps up with gourmet food, top notch service and incredible grounds. Everything is well thought out and you keep asking yourself, how can they keep this up. True brilliance in terms of organization and upkeep on the management side. The beach is out of this world, perfectly manicured sand, not a rock in the water and comfortable seating all around the beach and pool area. There are floats to use in the pool and the staff is great about making sure guests don't 'save' them, same goes with seats. Whether we came out at 9am or 11:30, we never had a problem finding a great spot to lay out, even with the hotel being at 98% capacity.

So many activities to keep you busy, if that's your thing. Lots and lots of honeymooners. The staff truly cares about its guests and goes above and beyond.

The spa is amazing-definitely splurge and get some treatment done, worth every penny. I had a facial, my husband a massage, in the same room.

Restaurants are all amazing, especially the Japanese one, which you need to book reservations for.

I will say beware of the timeshare sales they try to get you into by offering amazing gifts for just coming to the 2hr presentation/breakfast. Its the one thing about this resort we found cheap. We went bc we wanted the perks but knew what we were getting into. They'll offer you free massages at the spa, gift certificates to use at the hotel gift shops, etc.

I challenge you to find a better resort in the area, don't think you'll be able to!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the comments, we hope we see you back here real soon!


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Poor amenities , ok food, ok drinks and need to pay upgrade to get an ok room view
Beware it looks better on the website

The beach in one of the best in Riviera Maya ( that is the best feature of this hotel)

Worst: bed sheets (rough and old not the standard of a luxury hotel)
Amenities ( cheap)

Ok: food, drinks, room with upgrade

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Mikaelasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review, we are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations, if you would consider coming back and le us change your perspective, I will be more than happy to see what we can do to get you back.


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon at Secrets Maroma Beach which happened to be our first trip to Mexico. After hearing lots of horror stories before leaving we weren't sure what to expect. Upon arriving we were given a glass of champagne and cool towel while checking in (check in was painless). Just a quick tip.. immediately after checking in another gentleman will try and whisk you off to another area to discuss "free coupons". Apparently you have to agree to a long timeshare presentation to get coupons for dinner on the beach or breakfast in bed. We politely declined and signed off and that was it. We had booked a jr. Swim up suite (which was the only type of room on the first floor). Preferred club is definitely a waste of money, luckily I read reviews before we booked and did not pay extra for that. Our room was beautiful and clean but keep your doors closed to keep the mosquitoes out and pack bug spray. We were both fine with bug spray all week. The resort is absolutely beautiful and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We did tip all of our drivers and staff as did most of the other guests we talked to (bring a stack of $1.00's & $5.00's) the resort and staff will make change though. Also bring lots of sunblock, one bottle costs about $23.00 at the resort and we went through a lot! There were lots of menu choices, we tried all the restaurants, the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants were our favorites. Neither one of us had any stomach issues, the water and ice is filtered (still wouldn't drink out of the faucet though). Overall, we would go back in a heartbeat, very relaxing! Ps. Don't forget to try the tequila...absolutely delicious.

Room Tip: We were in building 23. Swim up pool got mid morning sun. Could not hear any noise from the nightcl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the review and hope you decide to come back in the future. We believe there are many benefits to the preferred suite categories, too many to name! I will encourage you to send me an email next time you wish to reserve and I will be happy to explain them all!


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

"Its a pleasure", was the response anytime my wife or I said thank you. It was our first AI and I was suprised in the service that was upheld from the concierges to the beach attendants. Upon being picked up at the airport and whisked to smb I was then carted to Preffered club lounge where we were checked in. It was quick and easy then walked to our room and shown the ins and outs in detail. I never heard from management about buying into the time share scene and was never reminded about using spa or any other extras which I appreciated. I thought the food was fair to good my wife errs on good. We did not have a good meal (except for sushi) at the Japanese resturaunt but our oceana meal was very good. I thought the seaside grille was overall best food except for our oceana meal. There is a cigar shop on site. After a bit of research into cuban cigars I would just buy a cigar there if I wanted it to be convienent and do not expect authintic cohibas or other cubans. There is a reputable shop in playa if your intent on cuban rolled cigars. I saw some people buying from the beach vendors, and convinced they scored real cubans.(ignorance is bliss) Ok back to the resort, this was a true 4+star resort in American standards(my wife thinks its closer to a 5 star because of service, I was just rating based on the actual resort property and amenities) very nice and clean in every area. The room was very modern and inviting. The food was very good in some instances and on others just fair. The beach was great and the SMB staff cared for it before each sunrise. I would not hesitate to recommend SMB if you want an AI or just need a vacation without any thought of doing the leg work yourself(think reset button)

Room Tip: we were in 2732 and 1731 both 3rd floor rooms both oceanfront(only buildings 27 and 17 are only true...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anh-voi-Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your review.


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A very nice resort. Could it have been a little bit better, as with anything, of course, but then again, I am not going to complain about the little things. Was it a great resort...YES. Was the food excellent....YES. Was the beach wonderful...YES. Was the entertainment very good...YES. The oceanfront room was wonderful. The "Preferred Club" was really a waste. Stay away from the "Preferred Club" membership and the 90 minute presentation, even with the $ 250 Spa gift, it was not worth it. Way to many "strings" with the membership.

Would we go back....YES

We went with 3 other couples and they all have a great time as well.

Room Tip: If you have the money for a beach front then go for it, I would not pay for it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

I loved how dinamic your review was with all the YES . We cant wait to see you again.


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,726 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,207 reviews
8.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing