We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not Perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a very nice week at this resort, but it was not perfect. The not-so-good: Our room was an 8 minute walk to the beach and right next to the theater where the very over-amplified evening performances took place. It was supposed to be a "Partial Ocean View" room, but had only the tiniest speck of an ocean view if you were standing at the balcony railing. The breakfast and lunch buffets were quite good, but the dinners varied greatly. Expect more over-amplified music at some of the restaurants at this resort. The Pina Coladas and Margaritas were made from mixes that we did not like, but the house wines were pretty good. There were conventions taking place the entire week.

The good: The beach was beautiful and the weather was perfect most of the week. There was
plenty of seating and shade on the beach. The service was very good. The resort is nicely landscaped and is very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LGW/JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate that you share your experience and opinions with us and with others, we will take advantage of them in order to keep improving.

Thank you very much in the first place, for having chosen us between all the available options, it is a big responsability and I am very sorry for not having met your expectations and provide you the service you deserve.

We already took note of all your comments.

We will love to have again the pleasure to serve you if you decide to give us a second chance.


Sincerely,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,058
    1,528
    433
    137
    62
See reviews for
557
8,877
85
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Staff was excellent especially Benito and Erika at the pool and Fernando and Jordan on entertainment staff.
Stayed in swim out room- floors very dangerous needs mats on the deck .
Dinner took a long time, food was worth it though.
Return trip a must.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for giving us a five star rating, we appreciate your comments and look forward seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was our second stay at SMB the first in sept 2011 was out of this world perfect in everyway. They advertise this as the perfect couples getaway romantic secluded environment. We paid nearly £6000 for this holiday.
The bad points, we were put into a room which was really nice above the lobby excellent views large balcony and hot tub. After five days we were requested to move as they were redecorating, needless to say was not happy but got a free upgrade to the preferred club which is actually not worth paying extra for. But this was just our experience it wont happen to everyone.
Then the corporate/ business fare started every three or four days a large group of arrogant and loud American and French Canadian's arrived namely Yellow Mexican Fusion as they called it groups from STANLEY and DEWALT, I would be embarrassed as a company owner to employ these people, one group at the Japanese restaurant had been drinking all day and had vomited in the restaurant, the remainder of the group found this hilarious and started to mock vomit noises, ASK YOURSELF is this a romantic atmosphere you would want for that money ?.
The staff who i felt awful for could do nothing and just watched.
We walked out.
Breakfast was a joke it was like they had never been fed as they would scramble for the food ushered along by their group leaders.
without prolonging the report it has far removed itself from a romantic couples getaway leaning towards the more lucrative corporate business side.
Also a hotel has been occupied next door which has lots of children and loud music bellows out on the beach during the day not a relaxing atmosphere at all.
This hotel has in my opinion dropped its standards below a 4* and Thomas Cook should reflect this in their brochure.
There are other hotels which would be above this, i am in no way a snob but i did expect a bit of class and this hotel does not provide that. people say the british are horrible on holiday, i have never witnessed behaviour like it.
On a positive note the staff are extremely courteous and the food was nice at times, i cannot say anything positive really as things had changed so much including the prices going up by double.
A romantic meal on the beach was $150 it is now between $340 and 390 depending on which menu you have.
In a nutshell go somewhere else YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.

Room Tip: In january and february the room on the left side of the resort as you look towards the beach get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank 007186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, Thank you very much for your confidence having chosen SMB for second time.

I am very sorry for not having met your expectations this time. I appreciate all your opinions and thank you for them.

Unfortunately there are somethings outside our control but we apologize for those too.

We definitely would like to have the opportunity to change your opinion if you decide to give us another chance, because the only way to improve is listening our guest comments.

Sincerely,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Hotel was nearly perfect but for Mexican-Standarts it was the best you can get. The staff was excellent and the service was garanteed all the time. There were people from all over the world. The room was exactly how it was described on the Homepage of the Internet. Premium Drinks were included all the Time and the food was great. The Massage was also a nice experiance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotto90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for submitting this wonderful review! I hope we have a chance to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I had a super time at this very special resort.

We spent most of our holiday on the gorgeous beach (one of the best in Mexico) and had a great trip. We loved the fact that you could order lunch from your sun lounger from a Menu Card and the meal was delivered with a cover on, so no risk of sand getting in and the food stayed warm too.

The fact you could just arrive and eat at any of the restaurants was a joy, no reservations required. Also 24 hour room service was great, even though we only used this service on a couple of occasions in particular for early morning starts, for Breakfast, as the Regular restaurant was not open and some pick-ups were 6am. Not sure about the Individual Block Concierge Service, which sounds like a great idea, however, our Block was missing our Concierge, we had to share with another Block, but not a big deal.

The Spa was very beautiful and I enjoyed a couple of international standard treatments.

Coco's the coffee bar was fabulous, with extremely good coffee and tea and cakes.

The diving centre was a little disappointing and even though they organised some dives for us, the times we dived off-site (Cenotes, Cozumel, Puerto Morales etc., no transport was provided and we had to make our own way to the alternate dive centres).

These minor irritations aside, I would still give this resort a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review and give us a five star rating, I wish I could of know what happened with the diving center since that is a separate company but still have to take very good care of our guests. Please send me an email when you are ready to return so I can make sure we take very good care of you.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyburn, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We are on our last day here, having booked a ten-day stay in the Honeymoon Suites. This resort is amazing - we will most certainly be back.
There was not a single thing that was anything less than superlative, here. We have been fortunate enough to have enjoyed quite a few very excellent resorts here in Mexico, and this was no exception. Literally, from the moment we arrived, everything, and I do mean everything, was catered for to perfection, happily. The staff here, were AMAZING. It would be impossible to name every staff member that made our stay phenomenal, but a quick run down:

World Cafe - (buffet breakfast/lunch). We looked forward to these two meals every day. Not only was the food selection and quality over the top, but the STAFF!!! THANKS GUYS!!!!!
-Edgar made our day, every day. He not only treated resort patrons warmly, even genuinely affectionately, but as well, he treated his staff exceedingly well - more fatherly than boss-like. That was huge for us - Edgar is a massive asset to this resort, and would be a big reason for returning. Gracias, Edgar, muchas gracias.
-Fabiola - what a perfect person to greet you as you approach the restaurant. Truly a sweetheart!
-Freddy - this guy should do stand up comedy. Hilarious, and went way out of his way to make each and every meal outstanding.
-Francisco - quietly brilliant. Super efficient, and accommodating.
-Other staff at the World Cafe, that we had less contact with, but were similarly excellent - Karla, Marcela, Andres, and Patrick. All of these staff members were so genuinely cheerful, and excellent at making us feel welcome.

Bordeaux French Restaurant - this was one of our favourite restaurants - not only because the food was inventive, varied, impeccably prepared, and most importantly, delicious+++, but because the staff were FANTASTIC!!!
-Veronica - muchas gracias. She interacted with us more than just as "customers" - it was great fun just talking with her, bouncing our remedial Spanish off of her. Wonderful person, amazing to be greeted by someone like this on arrival!
-Rene and Hector were our waiters on the nights we attended the Bordeaux. Both of these guys were superlative at what they do. Again, the big thing was that not only were they supremely attentive, efficient, and informed, they were just fantastic to talk to! They asked us about who we were, where we were from, and joked around with us freely (even stopping to do so when the other one was actually our waiter for the evening!).

What a great restaurant. Well chosen menu choices, brilliantly prepared and presented, and wonderfully delicious. However, what really made this restaurant was the staff - gracias, amigos!!

The Portofino (Italian) restaurant was similarly excellent. I am loathe to admit that we were unable to remember exact names, but the staff here were great, and the menu was a step above even the high standards that we have been privy to at many of the five star resorts that we have been lucky enough to enjoy.

Beach Cabanas - at Secrets Maroma, one had the ability to reserve these amazing thatched little "huts", right on the beach - basically a king-sized mattress, with a thatched roof and white canopies enclosing them when desired. By the end of the week, we referred to them as our "heavenly places", as you could relax in supreme comfort, gaze straight out over the ocean, and literally step out onto the powder-fine, impeccably groomed beach sand.
-I must mention the staff here, as well. Arturo, Jorge, and Ana - THANK YOU! These guys had an amazing ability to pamper you, yet avoid being intrusive, in the least.

Finally, regarding staff - we were VERY lucky to spend time with Juan from the Spa, and Oscar, the tennis instructor, whom we knew from their days at the Aventura Spa Palace. Just knowing these two guys are the Secrets Maroma would be enough to bring us back. Phenomenal guys - friendly beyond belief, and genuine - they remembered details about us from years ago, that amazed us!! We were able to chat with them extensively, thankfully, but not enough - guys like this really make a holiday memorable - both of them make you smile, just having spent even a small amount of time with them. Thanks guys - hasta pronto, con suerte!

We were assigned a concierge for the duration of our stay, and were fortunate enough to have the services of two - Roberto, and Fabiola, both of whom were absolutely first rate. While none of our requests were outlandish, they catered to us hand and foot, with perfect efficiency.

Special mention must be made also for Herlinda, who maintained our room for us. She was so great - efficient beyond belief, and so accommodating. Literally, we would return to a suite which was nothing short of perfect, every time.

Our Honeymoon suite was AMAZING, and worth the price premium. easily twice the size of a regular room, with a huge balcony (with hot tub on the balcony), large living room, separate dining area, large bar area, massive jet tub, and views out over the ocean. Every night, we left our shutters wide open, so that we would awaken, to watch the sun come up over the Caribbean. Wow. Just, wow. It was really a gorgeous, gorgeous suite!!

On reading this, you might think I am fixated on staff members. For us, they are the face of any resort that we choose, and here, they were phenomenal! While the rooms, restaurants, food, grounds, were all truly spectacular, it is the staff here that will bring us back.

We consider ourselves very fortunate to have discovered the Secrets Maroma Beach. While definitely at the upper end of the pricing spectrum, it was WORTH EVERY PENNY.

We will most certainly return here. It is difficult to associate the word "perfect" to any place. This resort was as close to perfect as we have ever experienced. HUGE thanks to Secrets Maroma - haste luego, mi amigos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

I can not believe you took the time and wrote the names of everyone who made you feel special, I will have a lot of work thanking everyone for their service! This was truly special.

I will assume you will be back again, when you do , I would love to meet you so I can be on that list as well.

Regards,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The resort was amazing. From the moment we arrived they made us feel like royalty. We had booked a Preferred Club ocean front suite and they immediately upgraded us to an Ocean Front Swim Up Suite. I would recommend these rooms to anyone that ones a little more alone time. The beach is one of the prettiest I have ever seen. White sand and turquoise water are beautiful. With our package we got a free couples massage. The hydra spa was awesome. All of the restaurants were great. But with the preferred club it was nice to get breakfast in bed. The only complaint we had is that we should have booked longer than 7 days.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to an ocean from swim up room. We absolutely loved it. We will definitely get a sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for giving us a five star rating and taking the time to write this wonderful review! I hope you will decide to come visit us in the future and when you do , please contact me so I can make sure we take very good care of you.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,572 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,953 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
8.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Travelocity so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing