We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
columbus, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We went back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I will keep this one much shorter than my first but if you want to know all of my thoughts you can check out my other post from last year. Because I won the American Idol contest on our honeymoon we got to back to this AMAZING place for our 1 yr anniversary.

This time there was some rain, some construction type projects going on which left room i suppose to have complaints but this place STILL pulls it off. Nothing but the best from Secrets Maroma. The staff, food, beach, activities, etc, etc. Just outstanding.

I really quickly wanted mention the Excellente Entertainment and Activities Staff. Once again I am beyond impressed by all of their energy, hard work, dedication, joy, hospitality, and effectiveness they have doing their job. I wanted to thank all of you guys so much! You seriously have made our trip the amazing trip it was by your excellent activities and entertainment. They all have such great personalities and are so welcoming! Jesus Bananas, Alfredo, Ferminator, Oswaldo (noodles), Paulina, Asmara, Odette, Memo, Fernando (Sasquatch) and Manny. Thank you so much guys!

We love Secrets Maroma and feel like this place deserves every award in the book. We get absolutely spoiled here! We have referred 5 people to the resort and all have loved it as well!!!

Thank you so much! We hope to see you soon :)

Room Tip: although the swim out suites look REALLY tempting and fun I continue to hear people say they rarely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rybreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,215
    1,556
    437
    139
    63
See reviews for
568
9,026
87
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am not going to go into detail because everyone else has already said what I would have said. Flat out this was the best vacation I have ever had. My wife and I could not have picked a better spot to spend our Honeymoon together. The staff, the food, the beach, the rooms...everything is top notch. You cant go wrong here.

Room Tip: 1710 is an amazing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdoles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was here on honeymoon and had an over the top experience! The staff was incredible with being helpful kind and courteous. The entertainment staff could not have been better with the activities inspite of the rainy weather was always having fun! Rooms were luxurious with all the amenities you could ask for ,food was delicious you will come back five pounds heavier and the evening shows feel like you are in Vegas!!! Love love love secrets maroma beach!!!

Room Tip: Loved the swim out room in building 25 quiet not too close to ocean but close to pool and preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna Schombu... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

After traveling to multiple spots in the Caribbean... I believe we've found a gem!!! From the outstanding service, to the delicious freshly prepared food, to the endless amenities (including top self liquor)... this was a luxurious vacation.
I would like to comment on how kind and truly genuine each and every staff member was. They treated us like royalty (just the way you should be treated on vacation). They went above and beyond to make our experience truly memorable.
The food was amazing. As odd as this may sound... Before every vacation I ask for an antibiotic in which I normally start after 2 days into our vacation. At this resort... I never started it. Every meal was freshly prepared and served to feed a king!
This vacation exceeded our expectations... Secrets delivered more than I could have imagined.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleighDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We fell in love with this resort 3 years ago and still had a fantastic time again this year. Staff is amazing, and the food is brilliant, though at times I thnk the Chet's over-think a bit. The rooms are gorgeous and the cleaning crew do a very good job at making sure your room is very clean each day.

Room Tip: The swim out pools are good earlier in the year, but when we went in November they were really too c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon at secrets Maroma beach and the only word we can use to describe it would be amazing!
The service here is the best we have ever received, nothing is too much trouble, we even had phone calls to our room to ensure we were happy with the service we were receiving. We stayed in a preferred club junior suite- the room was lovely with jacuzzi bath and a Hot tub on the balcony-which we would recommend as you have use of the preferred club lounge which is great when you just want a bit of quiet from the main hotel, also you have priority check in and check out here. As we were preferred club guests we were upgraded on our last night to a full suite which was amazing with a large jacuzzi hot tub on the huge balcony,we didn't want to leave the room.
The food is amazing there are 7 different restaurants to eat in on a night and the room service is 24hrs and the food is equally as good! We would recommend the Asian restaurant-himitsu, they even accommodated changes requested to the menu.
The hotel is so clean and tidy and the staff work so hard and take pride it their jobs. The turn down service is also a nice touch and following our romantic meal on the beach ( that we received free as well as a massage as we were on our honeymoon) we came back to the room to find red rose petals scattered on our bed
Handy tip: take Mexican peso's rather than dollars as you get a better rate so that things are a little cheaper when paying in peso's.
Overall this is a truly amazing resort and we would certainly return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Spent two weeks here at the end of August. This was our second visit as we got married here 3 years ago. And we are booked to return again next year.

First off, anyone visiting Secrets is looking for a higher end All inclusive holiday, and is paying good money for it. So expectations are rightly much higher. The hotel lives up to most of these expectations. The road to the hotel is finally being paved - its taken 3 years, but hopefully next year when we return it will be possible to leave the hotel without feeling like you've been on a rollercoaster! The environment is beautiful - the grounds are extremely well maintained, the beach is swept of sea weed each day, the beach is beautiful, etc... The hotel lives us to its promise of unlimited luxury - eating and drinking is all very good. There doesn't seem to be much time during the day that you can't eat and if you do find yourself hungry you can just order room service. Yes we still love the room service and the secrets box. It should be noted we really appreciated them putting us in the room next door to the one we stayed in last time.

Rooms still very nice. Really love the balcony, provision of soft seating area and table and chairs is good. *travel tip* get a room not on the top floor, better for drying clothes if it is raining* Like the pull out TV which means you can watch it anywhere in the room. Air conditioning is great, you really feel the difference when you enter the room. Bed is a great size and comfortable. Plenty of storage for clothes. Furniture is a little old fashioned, but perfectly functional. Plenty of space to spend time in the room if you don't fancy going out. Hot tub is nice too. Everything looks clean on the surface, but the rooms could use a deep clean to clean more than just the things people see. Plugs were a little blocked up with gunk. We had to move room half way through our stay because of bed bugs. Minisafe very functional and reasonable size. Not sure it would fit a decent sized laptop, but was ok my tablet computer and some other bits.

Service is ok, but variable. Where it is good, its outstanding, where it is bad its pretty poor. AMResorts still have some work to do on consistency of service. Everyone is very smiley when things are going well. They don't really know how to respond when there are problems. The emphasis seems to be more on not admitting anything is wrong, rather than on apologising and putting it right. Moving room was a good example. We complained about bed bugs and asked for the matress to be changed. The front desk staff told us that was not possible and that we had probably been bitten by mosquitos. The bites we had only appeared at night when we were completely covered in bed. We asked to change room instead and were told, it would have been helpful if we'd packed out bags! Sorry out crystal balls weren't working - we thought you'd change the bedding, not make us pack our stuff up and move! Just a note here - room was just made up for new guests when we left - no matress change. My wife watched. The other thing was the evening we ate in Portafino, it was very busy, but the waiter nearly threw the drink at my wife he put it down on the table in such a rush. Thats a little thing, but it made our decision not to eat in Portafino again. If all the staff were as good as the best ones service would be truly phenomenal. We're not complainers, (after all we're British!) so when we do complaint its because something is wrong. Normally we're very easy going.

That's the slightly negative on service, now the positive. Some really great service from some of the bar staff in the lobby bar. The Maire d' in the restaurants were extremely welcoming. When we returned they recognised us and greeted us by name. Victoria at Himistu - we really appreciated you help sorting out the demonstration cookery and the way you remembered us even though we only visited twice. Elise at El Patio - you made us feel so very welcome and were a huge part of our reason for choosing to eat there 5 times during our two weeks. On that note El Patio - favourite restaurant last time, same again this time. Bernardo you run a seriously good restaurant - we like the personal touch and personal welcome. Your knowledge of wine and pride in Mexico was a real pleasure to see. And you made our holiday with the special last night menu. Both our waiters in El Patio were great, well trained, attentive, willing to have a laugh, nothing too much trouble. If the other places weren't so good, we'd have eaten every night in El Patio. The show cookery at Himitsu was well worth going to *travel tip - book early, this is a do not miss* Room service has improved - quality of service was much better, and is much more professional.

The food is superb. Of course El Patio was our favourite, We also ate several times at Bordeaux and a couple of times at Himitsu. We ate once at the seaside grill, but lack of air conditioning meant we didn't return. Breakfast was amazing - eggs cooked perfectly, and so much choice. We rarely ate lunch because breakfast was so good. But when we did world cafe had a good variety.

Entertainment was good. Liked the film night. The Carmay duo is superb. Secrets you could do a lot worse than ditching the piano player and having Carmay every night. We did the kitchen tour which was good - got to see how clean and well prepared the food all is. Plenty of other activities, but we didn't really indulge.

Pools are fantastic. And plenty of places to sit around the pool even when it was busy. Waiter service on the beach and by pool very good.

Location is good. Not too far from the airport. *travel tip - book transfers through Expedia*. We went to Xel-Ha, Coba, Tulum and Akumal and all were good trips. We booked them all prior to going and paid less than booking at the hotel.

Things which have improved since we last visited:
Free wifi in the room now
Nespresso coffee machine in room
Music on beach has quietened down and it is much more peaceful
The hotel now enforces the no reserving loungers rule
The secrets app - with sundial calendar
Opening of the world cafe in the evening
Longer opening hours in the evenings for the restaurants
Board games in the lobby bar
Quality of the menus has improved
Club soda in mini fridge
Provision of USB charging points in room
Computers in coco cafe
Ice cream machine
Quality of the sparkling wine
Film night with popcorn in the showbar

Things which we missed which have been removed since last time:
Free wine tasting
Free tequila tasting
Free shopping trip once a week
Towel art in the room

Things which are not as good this time around:
Building concierge was never really there, our building conciege was amazing last time, this time that was not the case. Needed help at 4:50pm and got the very distinct impression that she was not going to start anything because she had to leave at 5pm.
Presence of timeshare vultures in the lobby - didn't really bother us, but it was much more noticeable this time around
The loss of a proper iron which has been replaced by a handheld steam device which is useless *travel tip - pack a travel iron*

We very much enjoyed our holiday at Secrets and have already booked to return. The difference for us between a 4 and 5 star rating is in consistency of service. Secrets feels like a hotel that has grown up. No longer is 'Its a pleasure' repeated, but you get the general feeling staff really do want to serve you and keep you happy. If this was a mid range hotel with a mid range price you would be wowed, but at this end of the market expectations are higher. A four star rating doesn't mean this isn't an excellent hotel, it just means it just has a few things to improve. We feel that everything has got just that little bit better since the last time we visited, and if it keeps going like that next time will be even better. None of the things that need to improve ruined our holiday, they were the exception to the rule, not the rule. This is comfortably one of the best hotels in Mexico, what they offer is hard to find anywhere else.

We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: 2nd floor on 3 story buildings or 3rd floor on 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,648 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,098 reviews
9.2 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing