We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I returned yesterday(7/28/13). I am totally impressed by the resort, the staff, the service, the beach, and it goes on and on. Analie, Antonio, Freddie and everyone in the preferred club were superior. There is not one negative I could think of to make the experience better.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the preferred club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfh1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chose Secrets Maroma Beach as your destination to spend your holidays.

I am so happy to know the good experience you had with us. Thank you for mention Analie, Antonio and Freddie, I will be sure to extend your comments to them.

Please consider us for your next trip, we will love to have you back in this paradise.

Sincerely,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,210
    1,553
    437
    139
    63
See reviews for
568
9,023
87
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The resort was super clean, the food was great and service was awesome. We didn’t have to wait to dine in any of the restaurants, we were seated right away. Only the hibachi restaurant called for a reservation. I will admit that the mosquitoes were pretty bad if you wanted to dine outside. Once the sun went down the mosquitoes came out. So if you’re headed to Secrets and you want to dine outside, take some Off with you. You can thank me later for that tip! You would also be smart to bring twice as much sunscreen as you think you will need. My wife and I burnt right through two bottle of Hawaiian Tropic spray quickly. Don’t worry if you don’t want the hassle of packing a couple extra cans, they have plenty for you to buy at $22-$24 a whack! Even off the resort the sun screen prices were super expensive so my intent is not to knock Secrets but to make future sun goers aware of the cost…

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean view preferred club (2600 series). The view was nice but I didn’t sit out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

I am very pleased that you had an amazing time with us.

We are taking care of the mosquitoes situation, and we hope the next time you will come you will se the difference.

Thank you very much for the time you took sharing with others your experience.

Looking forward to host you.


Best regards,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
517 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

What can I say that has not been already said about singing the praises of the Secrets Maroma Beach resort? Those who did not love it there are probably impossible to please under ANY circumstances. The check-in at the Preferred Club was quick, the room was beautiful, the view was breathtaking, the drinks were splendid, the food was brilliant (a bit of a foodie myself and did not have a meal that was not pleasing), the spa was delightful, the evening entertainment was exciting and fun and the beach was the best we have experienced in Cancun. We rented a palafitos for 5 days – as I am very fair and burn easily and we loved it. Gasper was our palafitos server and he was EXCELLENTE! Carlos, our concierge, was so helpful in a flight home issue we needed to resolve. Would I recommend this resort to my friends? Already have!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your beautiful words about this your second home.

For us is very important be sure that our guest are having an excellent experience with us and besides the recomendation to other visitors, for us is important to know that you are going to come back and you always will remember our magnificent beach in the mornings or the smile of one of our employees saying It's a pleasure. The little details make the difference.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Sincerely,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We traveled to Secrets Maroma Beach last year for our honeymoon. This place fits the bill for comfort, relaxation, and romance. The food was good, and we enjoyed the nightly entertainment. The staff was always willing to go the extra mile for whatever you needed. We will definitely do a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaOwenby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Is delightful to know about the wonderful time you experienced with us.

Is our goal to always be willing to go the extra mile as you said for whatever you need and I am very happy that we exceeded your expectations.

Please consider Secrets Maroma Beach your second home and do not hesitate to contact to me for your next trip back to this paradise.

Warm regards,

Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I are fans of the AM Resorts concept. For those of you who do not know, AM Resorts is the marketing arm of Secrets, Dreams, Zoetry, Now, and Jade properties. Each resort is independently owned, but the properties have similar if not exactly the same facilities : Restaurants are named the same, spa services by Pevonia, etc. We have stayed previously three times at the Dreams Riviera Cancun which is by far our favorite if travelling with kids. We chose to take a trip without the kids and had always heard Maroma beach was awesome, so we paid a little more and stayed at this Secrets property vs the Capri or Silversands.


In a nutshell everything was great except for the food. The food was not bad it was just not what we experienced at Dreams Riviera. I would definitely say this is not a reason not to come, but it was surprising. I can honestly say that the food in all restaurants was a step below Dreams.

Other than that rooms we fine, staff was excellent, drinks flowed well, and crowds were minimal. You can always get beach chairs and the clientele is a mix of Mexican, European, and American tourists which seemed to mix well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hookem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your confidence and support to AM Resorts. We are a big family and for us is very important to provide different options in order that you can choose between spend a beautiful vacation in the company of your family and spend a romantic couple´s time in a luxury ambiance.

I am very sorry for not having meet your expectations in the matter of food. I will be sure to pass your comments to our Executive Chef, because for us is very important each opinion. That is the only way to move foward to the excellence.

I really hope you can give us another chance to sorprise you and convert you in our repeat guest.

Please do not hesitate to contact to me if you decide to return to SMB.

Sincerely,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secrestresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Secrets Maroma resort at the end of May for our honeymoon and we had the time of our lives! We will definitely be going back as soon as we can. Our room was on the beach front and the view was amazing. We upgraded to the Preferred club and really enjoyed all the amenities!! My favorite was the internet in our room. That way we could email all our friends and family at home. Also, the upgraded bar service was nice. Our alcoholic drinks were always stocked. Plus, our room was cleaned twice daily. The staff was amazing!! Special mention to : Humberto at the cabana, Roberto and Ceasar our concierges, and Lucio at the breakfast bar. The food was awesome! Our favorite was the Mexican restaurant! We made sure to eat at all of the restaurants and we always enjoyed our meals. The drinks were fabulous as well. We recommend getting dessert at all the restaurants! We spent the first 2 of our 7 days at the pool and really enjoyed all the games and activities they offered. My favorite was people watching! The rest of the days we spent by the beach at the cabana!! I definitely recommend renting the cabana during the day!! They only cost $40 a day but you have to reserve them ahead of time because they book fast! That was well worth the cost! The cabana staff were soooooo wonderful! After dinner, we would sit in the lounge by the bar and hang out and meet new people. They have a cigar shop in the resort that my husband enjoyed. They had a tequilla tasting event as well. There was so much to do and every night there was a different show to watch. We were worried that 7 days would be too long but when we come back, we will definitely be staying at least 10 days!! We can't wait to go back!! Also, we were not hasseled at all to buy a time share. When we arrived and checked in, we were asked what session we could attend to hear about the promotions and we never went. And that was the end of that! So, we had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Beach front room was awesome! Recommend top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mareesa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Preferred Club. For us is very important to know how wonderful your vacation was and if you have some comments or suggestions regarding our service.

Is a pleasure to know that Cesar, Roberto, Lucio and Humberto made the difference. They are very commited people and we are very proud of their work.

Looking forward to host you in the near future... This time maybe for 10 days!

Sincerely,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was my husbands and I second time here and it was just as wonderful the second time. The service is fantastic, the staff treats you so well and the entertainment staff work so hard. I will go back! !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very grateful for your confidence and support, and for keep choosing Secrets Maroma Beach as your holidays destination.

On behalf of all the staff working at SMB I would like to thank you and encourage you and others to keep believing in this big family who is happy to create unforgetable memories in all our guest.

Your 3th time with us will be more than wonderful!


Warms regards,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,643 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,092 reviews
9.2 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing