We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home South of the Border!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monument, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Home South of the Border!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just finished our annual May trip to Secrets Maroma Beach, this being our fifth year in a row, and loved every moment. I am finding out that each year is getting harder and harder to wait for May to roll around! If that isn’t a statement to the superior experience you can expect a Secrets Maroma Beach, I don’t know what is! SMB remains our home away from home and the staff our familia.
As I mentioned, arriving at SMB is a moment I look forward to all year long. Checking in at the Preferred Club, we were greeted by Sophie. As always, she had us checked in and on our way to our Preferred Swim-out room in no time. If you have yet to experience a Swim-out Room, I strongly suggest booking one the next time you are there. The swim-out pool is usually quite but on occasion you can meet some great people (Rebecca and Keith!) in them.
The restaurants and bars were excellent as always. The resort was booked at about 90% capacity but never felt like it. Since we eat dinner a bit early, we never had a wait. As for our favorites this time, we really enjoyed El Patio and the Barefoot Grill. Regardless of where we dined, the waiters and cook staff made our dining experiences special. Freddy, a waiter we have come to know over the years even came in on his day off to say hello. This is yet one more example of the customer service you can expect with SMB.
There were some new faces on the Pool and Beach concierge staff this year and all were outstanding. As always, Secrets has hired the best. These guys will make sure you are taken care of, guaranteed. This was our first time experiencing the Presidential Beach Beds and I have to say, they were rather addicting. They are the double-decker type which allows you to sunbath up top or relax in the shade down below. You definitely need to check them out! The beach bed concierge staff was outstanding, as were the waiters and bartenders at the Tortuga Beach Bar which is conveniently located nearby!
Each trip we’ve enjoyed the luxurious Spa at SMB. The Spa staff is great and the massage therapists are excellent! You can easily lose track of time in hydro-therapy area. My wife enjoyed the Spa so much this year she ended up going 4 times for various treatments!
Maroma Beach lived up to its reputation once again, soft white sand and the most beautiful water. You can walk north and south for a few miles, such a beautiful stretch of beach and very romantic. The weather was great, with only a short rain one afternoon. What better excuse to hang out at the Preferred Lounge with Andres!
Hopefully this review helps those out who are looking for an exceptional resort with a stellar staff.

Room Tip: Swim-out Rooms are great! After a long day at the beach, sliping into the swim-out pool before dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,710
    1,626
    455
    143
    65
See reviews for
611
9,491
91
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at Secrets Maroma Beach. This resort is a beautiful facility on a great stretch of beach. It is about 30 minutes from the Cancun airport and about 25 minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort has about 10 4 story buildings arranged in a horseshoe shape around central pools and courtyards. Higher floors offer ocean views. Service is excellent and all facilities are clean, well maintained and up to date. Food choices are many and the only disappointment we had was at the Mexican restaurant. You would think Mexican food should be their forte, but this was our most uninspired meal. The beach is level and you can easily take long, peaceful beach walks north or south from the resort. If you are searching for comfort and relaxation, Secrets Maroma Beach will not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gofar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

There is no doubt we LOVE this resort! This was our 5th trip to the beautiful Secrets Maroma Beach June 8th-15th. We normally travel to Mexico at the end of April, but this year our friends’ son and fiancé were getting married at SMB and there was no way we wanted to miss this important event. We arrived 2 days after the terrible rain finally stopped coming down after 5 consecutive days of rain. We saw remnants of the floods caused by the rain along the highway and the road into SMB, but there was no evidence of the rains on the resort itself. Our week was absolutely rain free and beautiful every day.

When my husband and I arrived, we found out we were going to be staying in the same room (2644) that we have stayed in 3 other visits. It was like coming home. A lot of the same staff is still working here since our 1st visit – we have become so close with many of them through the years. Carlos was our concierge once again and when he walked us to our room there was an iPad on the credenza with a slideshow of us and our friends, photos from our Facebook page – they wanted us to feel like we were at our 2nd home; such a welcoming touch!!! Our friends had the same iPad slideshow waiting for them, too.

We rented a cabana one day (so worth it), and we used the palapas the other days on the beach. SMB has added more palapas and also have planted palm trees on the beach. We never had a problem getting a palapa or lounger around the pool. Service on the beach and around the pool is always quick and no request is ever too much to ask. In fact, the service of the staff is fabulous all over the resort. It was our friend Dan’s birthday and I had asked our concierge, Carlos, to put a birthday card from us in his room; this is what happened about 2 hours later https://vimeo.com/68478831 - how is that for service and going the extra mile!!!

The wedding was absolutely beautiful and I would recommend Secrets Maroma Beach for your destination wedding. Approximately 45 people attended the wedding and the bride and groom had a picture perfect day and setting for their wedding. We cannot wait to see the photographer’s photos and video. The wedding and reception were absolute perfection!!!

Never in our many trips to Riviera Maya/Cancun did we think we would ever book more than once or twice at the same resort because there are so many excellent resorts to choose from -- but this resort meets all our needs and has exceeded all of our expectations. This is what we look for when booking our trips: no dinner reservations needed, no wrist bands, no towel cards, and adults only, great food with variety, top shelf drinks, a beautiful beach and great service. We do not have to look any further. Every year they add just a little bit more of the WOW factor to keep us coming back. The staff not only makes us feel like friends, but more importantly, they make us part of their family.

My one complaint is that we did not stay a day or two longer this year; a week is just not long enough. We are already looking to book our trip to return next year, hopefully we will be returning for our 6th visit! If you have any questions about SMB, please feel free to ask.

Room Tip: Preferred Club is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robino45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The resort is an excellent facility. From the first day I knew it has exceeded my expectations. The staff are so gracious and relaxed. Any question I had, they were able to answer. My wedding went well without any problems. An amazing resort! We will be back several times. I had a small disappointment with the sound system for my reception. Other than that....NO WORRIES! We had 40 guests attend our wedding and have had NO COMPLAINTS!

Room Tip: We had the Jr. Swim out, but a regular Jr. Suite would have been just as fine. All rooms were excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Secrets Maroma for 14 nights from 25th may. We were celebrating my 25th birthday whilst there. We have stayed in a number of Secrets & Dreams resorts and found Secrets Maroma to be just as brilliant. The staff decorated our room with balloons & birthday banner as well as sending up a cake to celebrate my birthday. The food is always a great standard at secrets but we found although the restaurants are pretty much the same (we stayed in Secrets Wild Orchid Jamaica last year) the choice at Secrets Maroma was far better on the menus. We absolutely love the hibachi grill at himitsu as well as the Italian. The staff are all so welcoming & friendly, you feel that they are genuine. (At wild orchid you got a feeling that they were only after tips and as soon as they saw they weren't getting one the level of service dropped considerably) At the French restaurant my partner enquired about a cheese board as we'd had this at a Dreams resort & although not on the menu the waiter did not hesitate to organise a lovely decorated cheese board which my partner thoroughly appreciated. We particularly enjoyed the days when the staff came out with lots of lovely prepared food around the pool, a great touch. They all work extremely hard & I even commented to a waiter in the seaside grill how he literally hadn't stopped since we'd been in there but carried on smiling, so lovely & appreciated. The beach was wonderful although we are more pool people. The entertainment staff were brilliant as usual. Particularly Mini, big willy & Sasquatch (Fernando) made the few rainy days so much more fun & we even think some of our best days were when it was raining & we were in the lobby playing games. They took us to Coco Bongos which is a must if you love shows/clubbing/dancing. Brilliant night out & felt extremely safe with the hotel team around. Our only criticism is that the house keeping on our floor was completely inconsistent. Some days we did not receive a turn down & mini bar re stock. When I rang to see what was going on we were told we probably had our do not disturb light on (which we didn't) so we gave them the benefit of the doubt but made 100% sure the light wasn't on & it was still happening. Usually we wouldn't be too bothered but seeings as we'd been so these resorts before we knew exactly what we were missing and for the price we paid felt it was a little ask to make sure we always had bottled water (which we didn't a few days & had to ring down for some) apart from this, excellent holiday would definitely go back!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunlover2660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I just renewed our vows at Secrets Maroma, and it was everything we hoped it would be. The resort photographer did a fantastic job. The photography prices were very reasonable, and the keepsake album they made for us was a real treasure. The staff at Secrets Maroma also deserve kudos. Cecilia Reyes was prompt to answer emails, so friendly and on top of all our details. I cried with how touched I was with what the minister had to say, and the beautiful blue of the ocean and white sand! What could beat it. We also found the waiters, the hospitality staff and concierge to be particularly welcoming and helpful. The only down side was the two hours we wasted on the sales pitch for investing in the Secrets properties. We thought the pitch was going to be about committing to a trip for the following year, but getting a discount for it - not for making a thirty year investment for maybe $80,000!!! What?!! Totally not worth your time, especially when the rest of the resort is so wonderful! Oh, DO get a couples' massage on the beach. DO reserve a cabana two weeks before your trip. DO have a romantic dinner for two on the beach. And DO spring for a preferred ocean view room or better. Enjoy! We did!

Room Tip: Preferred ocean view or better is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fun4Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is absolutely the most amazing all inclusive I've ever been to and I've been to a few. Service is top notch spa is amazing therapy pools are a lot of fun. Beach is beautiful white sand and clear blue water. Pool is top notch. Love the lizards and Mexican raccoons did nt see monkeys though. We had pro pictures taken and they were very good we bought several. And the entertainment shows are above and beyond. Especially the fire twirlers and the rock of ages show. Highly recommend the preferred club suites. Loved the tequila tasting and came home with several bottles.

I have two complaints. They close the main pool at night :( and they do not off snorkeling trips by boat that are included in your room price like a sandals would. You have to pay for a tour for decent snorkeling.

Room Tip: Go with preferred club status. We thought it was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmckee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,883 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,875 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
11.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,210 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing