We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable relaxation and luxury, with superior service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Secrets Maroma, our only regret, that we didn't stay 10 days. We were in building 12 with a swim out suite with 4 other couples. It was an amazing trip. This resort is filled with every detail you can think of: cold towels when you come in the restaurants, beach bag hangers for your bags at the restaurants, incense in your rooms, robes, slippers, luxury toiletries, and many other things. The food was amazing. We expected cruise quality food with our first all inclusive, the food was superb. The staff was very helpful, kind, and went beyond expectations at all times. All though tipping was not expected, we tipped everywhere because of the exceptional service from concierge to room staff. The spa was the best I have seen, value and quality was beyond expectations. The aromatherapy massage was divine. Each building has its on onside concierge. The resort is very spacious, but few rooms. It never felt crowded and we never fought for beach or pool chairs, like many other resorts. The resort was extremely safe and clean, the drinks were great, we had no problem getting top shelf or imported American beer. From a group perspective or a couple alone this is the only choice for Rivera Maya! The pool area is unbelievable, I can't say enough about this place it's the best vacation we have had.

Room Tip: If you want close to breakfast and most restaurants stay in 11,12,20,21 or close to lobby. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carriecaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,050 - 7,056 of 12,787 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

The food was good, anything you want they accommodate you. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The rooms were beautiful and beds comfortable, I could have used more privacy in the bathroom area. You can make calls to the US in your room and there is wifi throughout the resort.

I do not understand the complaints there has to be something wrong with those people. Tips, bring ear plugs birds get up early. We rented a car and drove to Tulum and Coba, no problems. The beach is great you can walk for miles. If you walk to the right, there is a marina and you can ride jet boats. The staff at The hotel will teach you to sail a hobbie cat. Do not feed the animals unless you want a friend for life.

Tulum and Coba were very hot, bring water
There were always beach chairs, pool chairs, and friendly people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelMan018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

For what we paid, I certainly expected more.

We are currently here as I type this and thus far have been highly disappointed with our stay. We specifically requested an oceanview room and upon arrival were only able to get a first floor 'swim out'. They tried to claim this was an 'upgrade' but the view is of a fence and the swim out is a small shared pool with our neighbors that doesn't go anywhere. So not sure where exactly you swim out to?? For us, having some sort of nice view from the room is key to that vacation vibe-needless to say we aren't getting that. Also, our included mini bar in the room has yet to be properly stocked.

Also-the food this far has been average at best. Lunch especially is lacking. And while the servers do make an effort-they don't seem to succeed in getting things right. And the music! That may be one of the worst parts. Spa/elevator music everywhere you go. Not exactly vacation inspiring or mood lifting. Something light and upbeat and/or Latin/Caribbean would be a huge improvement. We are on vacation after all!

The pool is just ok-packed most of the day and there's no real view of the ocean from the pool. The beach is nice, but again-sorta separated from everything. You can only even see the ocean from a few key spots on the resort-so you kind of lose that beachy feel unless you are actually on the beach.

The shops in the main building are a joke-seriously over priced junk for the most part- an don't forget your sunscreen-it will cost you over $20 a bottle in the giftshop.

Overall, the rooms are ok (though very disappointed we have zero view) the beach is nice, and in general the resort tries (almost too hard) to be nice-but just doesn't quite hit the mark. I would give this resort 3 stars max.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VacaTrav311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a nice property, large enough but not too big where you get lost-in-the-shuffle. This was one of six properties I visited while I was in Riviera Maya. As a travel agent I was able to see the rooms, walk the property and interact with the staff. The overall feel of the property is "classy-modern". The Lobby was very inviting when you first arrive and you realize this is a very nice place you've come to (That's what I'm talking about). Overall the clientele was diverse, couples, groups of friends, older and younger but never stuffy or non-relaxed. The property is well maintained and the staff is very cheerful and attentive to your needs.

The swim-out rooms are top-notch, perfect for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. They were very private and you are able to receive your room service order without even opening the door (they have a unique pass-through; see the picture I attached). The "lazy-river"/pool outside your room is really like your own private plunge-pool, it was a nice set-up compared to other properties that basically just provide you access to a much larger pool.

The pools were very nice, however this is Maroma...a beach-lovers paradise. Maroma was ranked one of the top 10 beaches in the world. The waters were calm and beautiful, soft white sand, it was perfect for walking on. Also, the Spa area is awesome (if you're into that). Fellas, his and her spa room and ladies you definitely want to take a ½ day to enjoy the spa facilities.

Also, another cool amenity this hotel offered was free internet and get this, free calls back home to "let everyone know you made it safely".

Secrets Maroma is a top-notch property in Rivera Maya. Definitely a good choice! If you have any questions or need any additional commentary or feedback feel free to contact me.

Also, enjoy some of the pictures I included.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Mahgninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My new wife and I are currently about half way through our stay at Maroma Secrets and I have to say my first impressions are quite bad. Firstly, on the day we arrived (about 12 noon) we went to check in after organising transport from the airport to the resort. Unfortunately there were no rooms (which is fair because we were early). After waiting for about two and a half hours we were finally in our room-it then took another 45 minutes to get our luggage to us which was quite annoying after 20hrs of travel to get here.

We then received a letter (on our honeymoon), addressed to us in my wife's maiden name!? We also did not receive the honeymoon package even though they knew we were on our honeymoon. Last night there were waiting lists for the restaurants that apparently we did not need a reservation for. The mini bar does not get re-stocked unless you call someone to specifically ask for what you want (even right now I'm sitting in my room right after housekeeping have been with no snacks or alcohol in the mini bar). Even though we weren't interested in TV - it didn't work anyway so we couldn't! This morning I tried to get some laundry done - I called the concierge, the reception, personally spoke to the housekeeping ladies and nothing was done until I called the preferred club concierge which then sent someone up to collect the laundry. If you get to the beach or pool after 10am don't expect to get a chair - there are a lot, but not enough for all the guests. Definitely not deserving of being at the top of the list. Poor service, poor attention to detail. Hope my stay gets better. Room 2526

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here between 9th -23rd April. Travelled with Thomas Cook - no problems. Stayed in an ocean view room-2648. Wonderful view. Preferred club came as part of the deal-only went for a drink on one occasion- dark and quiet. Rest of hotel- from the beautifully appointed bedroom, great service from all staff - no exceptions , the pool areas, food - great ala carte dining, top drinks- frozen mango margarita, mud slides, lychee martinis , kir royale-I could go on..The beach is stunning- as beautiful as the ones in the Maldives. We would have no hesitation about recommending this hotel to anyone and we expect the best- afraid it has set a new standard for my future holidays- or rather that's my husband's fear...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rothwell40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My hubby and I choose our vacation destinations based upon the departure being from our city airport, the resort being five star and adult only. With limited choices, we decided to try Mexico and wanted to ensure that we chose a spot where nothing could go wrong. Wow - did we make an excellent choice, largely due to the overwhelmingly favourable reviews that we read of Secrets Maroma Beach.
We stayed at SMB from April 6, 2013 to April 13, 2013. From the time that we arrived (and dodged the timeshare lady) to the time that we left, we felt so far removed from the everyday and totally immersed in Paradise.
The food at the Oceana, El Patio, Bourdeaux, Portofino was amazing - all excellent venues with food attractively plated, graciously served by charming attentive staff. Also enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffets at the World Cafe - if you can't find something to eat there, you have a problem. Thanks to Katryna for taking such good care of us!
Loved, loved, loved the star-gazing party and the shows at the theatre. Thanks to Diana, Manny and the other Excelente staff who kept us busy and entertained all week long.
The beach is on par with Punta Cana. We walked for miles every morning. It is lovely, clean and we were not bothered by anyone (unlike Jamaica).
A special thank you to Miriam in the Lobby Bar - so sweet and accommodating. Hope to see you again!
Met some lovely folks from Toronto, Calgary, Paducah, KY, New Jersey and PA. Maybe we'll meet up again when we return.
We would HIGHLY recommend this resort (and have done so here at home) and woud definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam-and-Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
4,392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,108 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
16,902 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
3,382 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: $415 - $988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing