We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon - October 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glassboro, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Honeymoon - October 2011”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We went to Secrets Maroma Beach for our Honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The staff there is willing to do anything to please you and everyone is very friendly. We had a few days of bad weather but there was still plenty to do. We used the spa, saw the shows, used the pool & beach as much as we could. All were great and the staff goes above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it at all times. We took advantage of the 24 hour room service a few times and it was always there in less than 30 minutes (even on the rainy days when I thought they would be overwhelmed with requests). The restaurants are also very nice and offer a wide variety. We were always seated immediately and the service was great. Our room was beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable. I slept great while I was there.

My only complaints were that we had someone in the room above ours (we were on the third floor) and it sounded like a herd of elephants were above us. We didn't say anything because they got there towards the end of our stay but if I had to deal with that the whole week I would have been more bothered by it.

We also had a junior suite- ocean view. We could see the ocean but it was pretty far from our room. Still a pretty view but definitely thought we would see more of it from our balcony however we were not on the balcony enough for this to bother us either.

Overall, this was the best vacation of my life and I would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,344
    1,582
    441
    140
    64
See reviews for
579
9,150
87
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon at Secrets Maroma Beach. We stayed in the junior suite with a walk out to the pool...we would recommend an ocean view instead. Highlights include...

Great room
Incredible and friendly service from all the staff
Great food and lots of options
Beautiful beach
Great pool
Lots of activities

We encountered tropical storm Rina...the staff did a great job of preparing for the storm and were very quick to clean up after.

Thank you for a great honeymoon and a great vacation.

Room Tip: We didn't think that it was wort the extra money for the walk out pool option. We wish we had c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay at Secrets Maroma for a friends wedding. Last year we stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid and had such a time we were excited to come back to another Secrets property. We had a swim up suite which was nice, but you couldn't use it thanks to the swarms of mosquitoes. The mosquito problem was so bad that there were actually blood spots all over the walls of our room from past guests swatting them - I left with over 50 bites, most of those I received while sleeping in bed! I complained several times to the front desk and to no avail - zero improvement.

We were also lucky enough to encounter Hurricane Rina while we were there, which turned out to be a tropical storm and not a hurricane after all. The fact that you stopped serving alcohol for an entire day due to some rain really pissed us off. Banning alcohol at an all inclusive resort that I paid top dollar for?! Because it's raining??!! OMG I want my money back!!!!!! To top it off, I was amazed that your staff was offering people booze in their room for a little cash on the side. Seems like more of a scam for your employees to make a little side cash than you trying to "keep me safe" from the rain. Prohibition in Playa Del Carmen!!!

Note to fellow travelers - Secrets Maroma does not serve alcohol during tropical storms!! But other resorts in Playa del Carmen did, so I am going to go stay there! Where I can party since that is what we like to do on vacation!

They also did not have enough restaurants open each night to accommodate the number of people at the resort so frequently you had to wait until 10 pm to be seated at dinner. I felt horrible that my friend on her wedding night, had to wait till 10pm for a table. You did a horrible job at making her feel like it was her special day!

I'm going to stick to Excellence properties from now on....

Room Tip: Do NOT get a swim up unless you want to be attacked by mosquitoes & Bring your own booze for imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenia1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This was our 9th visit to the Mayan Riviera area and our second visit to Secrets Maroma. Our first visit was in April 2010 and we had an absolutely fantastic time. We stayed in a non-preferred room but were still treated like special guests. It was so memorable that we decided to return for a second visit and this time elected to stay in the Preferred Club. Between the preferred and non-preferred rooms, they were identical with the exception of the small outdoor soaker tub which we didn't use as we stayed in the beach most of the day and didn't have the time to use the tub. We found that there were only a few small differences between the preferred and non-preferred which included:
- Private check-in experience in a separate lounge area with a fully stocked bar & finger foods
- Rooms closer to the beach (but further from the main lobby and breakfast buffet)
- Wifi availability in the Preferred room (which was sometimes intermittent)

This being our second visit to the resort we expected our experience to be as wonderful as the first time. What we found, however, was that the Secret was out...this resort has become popular! As such it felt like it doubled in occupancy between April 2010 and July 2011. There were certainly more lounge chairs by the pool and beach areas, more tables in the buffet dining area and definitely a lot more guests. The resort just seemed to be a lot busier and less intimate the 2nd time around. We also noticed that the guests in our first visit were more mature and the guests during our 2nd visit were younger and rowdier.

Beach
The Maroma beach is THE best beach in the Mayan Riviera that we have been to so far. The beaches in the resorts around Puerto Morelos including Zoetry Paraiso and Excellence Riviera were all terrific but were not as clear, free of seagrass or had finer sand as the Maroma beach. Iberostar, Grand Palladium, Grand Xcaret and Barcelo did not compare. If the beach is the most important aspect of your vacation then choose Secrets Maroma. If you want a more intimate vacation and better dining experience then choose Zoetry Paraiso or Excellence Riviera.

Spa
We find it somewhat difficult to start to unwind during the start of our vacation and we almost always try to book a relaxing couples massage at the beginning of our vacation. We also take advantage of the Hydrotherapy circuits offered with the massages. Secrets Maroma is one of the best Spa experiences we've had at the various resorts we've visited in the Mayan Riviera. The facilities were clean, beautiful and comparable to if not better than the Spas in the US and Canada.

Restaurants
We agree with the positive reviews of the various restaurants. Our favourite was the Bordeaux and the Portofino restaurants. We oftend opted to forego the tea/coffee at the restaurants so that we can save room for the specialty coffees and deserts offered at the Cafe beside the disco (Desires).

Entertainment
The nightly entertainment that we liked the most were the Rock of Ages, Fire & Ice Show and the Urban Show. Do not miss their house band - Quarzo - they were fantastic! They also have a great selection of daily activities if this is what you're looking for in a vacation.

Excursions
We booked a few activities with AquaWorld through the Dive shop in the resort and included Parasailing, JetSkis and snorkelling. During our past trips to the Mayan Riviera we found Rancho Baaxal for horseback riding and is located in walking distance to Secrets Maroma. You can actually walk to the ranch. Just walk to the hotel gates go left and you'll see another set of gates on your left. Just go through the gates and walk about 10-15 minutes to the ranch. This is one of the best ranches in Playa Del Carmen. They take the time to match the rider skills with the horse. Please see the reviews on TripAdvisor for this ranch. You won't regret it!

Would we stay again at Secrets? Perhaps but we are constantly looking for new adventures and different experiences and there's just so many to choose from in the Mayan Riviera. Maybe we'll find another resort that isn't quite as popular as Secrets Maroma has become. We hope someone finds this review helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank firehorse88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We had not been before nor had we spoken to anyone before booking, so we did not know what to expect. It surpassed all of our expectations - food was great, drinks were top shelf and they did not stiff you at all, the service was impeccable, all of the staff was super friendly, there was tons to do, the rooms were clean and very nice, and our wedding went amazing. I was especially concerned planning a wedding from home mainly over email, but it went smoothly and the night was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an awesome and reasonable vacation, whether to relax or party, which was our main reason!

Room Tip: We got the swim up, which we did not use in October because the water was pretty chilly. It would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige101511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Our first visit to Maroma wasn't fantastic, and the GM was kind enough to call us after hearing about our experience and envited us back, to a beautiful honeymoon suite. Our 4 night stay was fabulous, we enjoyed ourselves completly and will be coming back in May with our family. Again, Thank you for your generosity, kindness & making us feel so welcome.
Best Regards,
Bill and Kelly Tennant

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We went last Nov 2010 then came back Oct 2011. Great experience both times. Water temp was better (warmer) in Oct than it was last Nov. Only complaint meat and fish was not great, but the chips and guac is out of this world.

We did three Secrets Resorts in 18 months so I think we will try something else next time, but HIGHLY recommend it for those that have done Sandals. I'd say, this is a step up for about the same money.

The staff at Maroma is much better than the staff at Secrets Wild Orchid in Montego Bay. If you have your choice do Mexico. Jamaica staff was slow unless you had tipped them several times before. I know these people don't make great money, but I felt WildOrchid could have done better.

Another nice feature of Maroma, it is close to Cancun airport. You will not be disappointed for the money.

Room Tip: Preferred Club rooms are slightly closer to beach, slightly bigger and include internet. You can boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinH974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,723 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,206 reviews
8.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing