We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My mother and I stayed in the resort in late October, 2013. We were looking for a nice lakefront efficiency with possible boat rentals, and found Highland Lake Resort on the internet. The pictures do not do justice to the fantastic lake views, particularly with the leaves changing, and cannot begin to describe the personal attention and excellent service from Woody, the owner and manager.
When we arrived we had only reserved a couple of nights since we knew next to nothing about the property. After our first night we talked to Woody and asked for an upgrade to an efficiency and an extra night. Woody upgraded us for free (there was absolutely nothing wrong with the regular hotel room we had, we just needed a fridge for our leftovers) and backdated my mother's AAA card discount that we had forgotten about the day before!
The season was basically over for upper Maine, so Woody had beached and locked his boats and floating docks, and opened the game room "upon request." Well, we requested (we are both Ping Pong fanatics-what a great way to start the day!) and Woody not only left the game room open for us but gave us the keys to the canoes and rowboats, access to the paddles and oarlocks, and told us to help ourselves at any time. What a nice man!
My mother and I also discussed what a reasonable, excellent place this would be in the summer for families with kids. It is exactly the kind of place that she and my father used to look for when I was a kid and it jump-started many happy memories of summer vacations, boating, ping pong, and all of the reasons that you take the kids on a family vacation - quality time together.
The town of Bridgeton was also a pleasant surprise; a cute downtown with fun local shops, several excellent, extremely reasonable restaurants, and great walking trails. Apparently, Woody was on the board of some civic improvement group and they set up a system of walking trails that wind through the woods surrounding Bridgeton. The area was settled long before the Revolutionary War and we learned a lot about the local history just from the walking trails.
All in all, Highland Lake Resort was an absolute bargain, extremely friendly, and a wonderful family resort with all of the amenities. Thank you, Woody!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Thought this would be a great place. Floors were dirty (Cheetos under the bed) wall are very thin was able to hear people blowing their nose etc. Price too high even though it was Fryeburg Fair week. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure AC actually works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h0lly318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Fryeburg Fair week IS a busy week (we're sold out almost every night!), and many of our summer housekeepers have gone back to school. Our fall season staff is a bit newer, but that doesn't excuse finding anything, not even some Cheetos, under the bed. Had you let us know when you checked in, I would have had the staff go back and redo the room.

As for hearing people "blow their nose" in another room, I'm afraid I can't offer an excuse or cause. You are one of only a handful who have ever mentioned noises from other rooms to us, and normally those instances involved some kind of argument or a cranked-up TV. The walls were constructed with 2 layers of framing and insulation, and we added a total of 3 doors between the connecting rooms to limit noise transmission. I will, however, go through the rooms again and see if we detect any problems in any rooms.

Finally, our Fryeburg Fair rates are no different than our other "special event" rates, and are far from the highest in the area. For those who don't take advantage of our free WiFi, game room, spa, or fitness center, or take out a boat or canoe to see the foliage from the lake, our rates may seem a bit steep. However, we still offer all of those amenities FREE to all our guests, and have to cover all of our costs in the process.

Again, I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please don't let this keep you away from the Bridgton area, however. Between the dining, shopping, convenient location, and spectacular foliage, Bridgton is the place to visit in the fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our party of four selected this motel because of the location and were very happy wih the experience. The owner/manager is accomodating and was responsive to the one very minor issue (TV remote) that we encountered. The rooms are well equiped with a large TV, coffee maker, small fridge and microwave. Bed was fine, though some furnishings are a bit worn. Oddly, a late night episode of some HGTV renovation showed the exact wallpaper in our room being ripped down. The bathroom is sized like an RV, with a tiny shower that can a challenge. The Rte 302 traffic noise mentioned in some reviews were not an issue for us.

We enjoyed the large common porch that faced the lake. The lake view would be much improved by clearing the assorted brush and small trees that have grown over the fence surrounding the tennis court.

For us, the extensive waterfront was worth the stay. A very good launch ramp, small swimming beach, large picnic area, docks, hammock and plenty of seating make this a real gem. The lake is one of the nicest in the area, with islands and mountain views. Both couples agreed that we would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to travel to many countries and even stay at 5-star hotels in Europe and Asia, and Highland Lake Resort measures up to the best places I know. The owners are exceptionally hospitable and friendly, the magnificent lake is perfect for swimming, and the amenities such as the gym, boats, hammock, and barbeque make it second to none. The naturalness of the setting gave us such a sense of wellbeing. I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarlHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My sister and I just returned from a much needed 2 week vacation, most of it at the Highland Lake Resort. What a great find! The room was basic, but sufficient. The grounds were beautiful. We look full advantage of the canoes, kayaks (our first time ever kayaking), our deck overlooking the lake, and swimming in the lake (ah, the lake, the magnificent lake). Woody and Dee were wonderful hosts, as was their friend Jill; they did everything to ensure we were comfortable. The cleaning crew was so accommodating. Even the other guests were warm and friendly. We're now back to our lives in New York City but we're going to keep this vacation going in our hearts for as long as possible.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you so much, Elizabeth!
I remember when we first talked about you making a reservation here, and your initial trepidation about staying in someplace unknown for most of your vacation. Dee and I were so glad you and your sister ended up staying with us!
By the way, we took the canoe out today (first time in years!) and now understand how you two could want to do so almost every day! You really inspired us!
Jill made us lobster rolls for lunch today, and she says, "hello." Your reservation for next summer is all confirmed, and we look forward to seeing you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for a couple of nights. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The location is good. However, it is overpriced. We had to pay extra for a small refrigerator - - never heard of this before. Just because it is Maine does not mean it is quiet. Our room was on a major route and cars whizzed by day and night. Would definitely had asked for a room closer to the lake if I had known this.time. Calling this place a "Resort" is a certainly a stretch. An old row boat and a kayak along with some battered badmitten raquets does not a Resort make. The owner was pleasant but not overly friendly. I am always suspicious when I see a place with so many four and five stars. I gave it three stars because it was clean and that's about all. It's not a very interesting place. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I am glad that we have received the highest rating of any property you've reviewed in TripAdvisor so far!

We are proud of our cleanliness, and agree that our location is convenient to many attractions. However, we do take issue with some of what has been stated in this review. It is said that we charge more for having a refrigerator in a room. Actually, we charge $10 more for those rooms which have refrigerators. However, these rooms also include top-of-the-line Serta pillowtop mattresses, microwave, fridge, and recliner (for our Executive Rooms) or a queen and double, stove, oven, fridge, and all eating and cooking utensils for our Efficiencies. For these extras, we don't feel $10 is a lot (they are also our most requested rooms!)

As for being a "resort", one only has to read other reviews here to see the many things we offer our guests for free. Contrary to your statement, we have TWO rowboats, TWO kayaks, TWO canoes, a private swimming beach, lakeside picnic area with hibachis and stone fireplace, asphalt tennis court, game room, sauna, and fitness room for our guests. Use of all of these amenities is included in the room price. (A price, I should add, that is very much in line with other properties in our area, including those with far fewer amenities.) With over a dozen restaurants within a mile of us, we don't, however, offer food service.

Finally, I'm sorry you're suspicious of our positive reviews. To the best of my knowledge, they are honest reviews from prior guests. Luckily, we have many people who have visited with us every year of the 16 years we've owned the Resort, and many who stay multiple weeks each summer. We understand we can't be all things to all people, and I hope you are able to find a nicer, less expensive place here in Maine for you and your daughter to stay in in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is the place to unwind. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The cabin-like rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The best part is that each room has an entrance and porch facing the lake -- not one faces the road. There is ample lawn area on which to sit or gather with friends or family. There are plenty of activities such as canoeing, kayaking, swimming, and volleyball. We had a group of 24 and it was the perfect location for our afternoon happy hour and even to order 10 pizzas for dinner!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobCarolAmesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgton
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
160 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pleasant Mountain Inn
Pleasant Mountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Bridgton
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grady's West Shore Motel
Grady's West Shore Motel
#2 of 5 in Bridgton
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
361 reviews
19.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
0.5 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Resort

Address: 115 N High St, Bridgton, ME 04009-3734
Location: United States > Maine > Bridgton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Price Range: $178 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Affordable! Owned and operated by native Mainers, this family-run resort motel features modern amenities with a lakeside inn atmosphere. Only 50 minutes from Portland, 35 minutes from North Conway, NH, and 3 hours from Boston. Private sandy swimming beach, free use of boats, canoes, and kayaks, picnic area, Family recreation area, game room, fitness center, health spa. All rooms have a covered deck with lake view, color cable TV, phone, clock radio, A/C, heat, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, in-room Keurig coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Kitchenettes with stove, fridge, sink, and cooking/eating utensils, Executive Rooms with microwave and fridge, and Deluxe Suite with king bedroom, plus fireplace and Jacuzzi tub available. Walk to downtown shopping and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Highland Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Bridgton
Highland Lake Resort Bridgton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing