We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded and Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a local event. We heard great reviews... Not what we received! There were people tailgating in the parking lot, the lake front was crowded and loud and the visit was far from peaceful! It was quiet in our room but the amenities were so outdated! The manager was non confrontational and let the wild guests run the show! The value and the product received do not match. The view was lovely though and housekeepers are very kind.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youotterloveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

In this case, I have to agree with many of the writer's comments. The weekend she is discussing was the date for a group's family reunion, which has been held at the Resort every three years since the early 1990's. This year, all but 5 rooms were taken by the family members, while non-reunion guests had booked earlier or taken a last-minute cancellation. Sadly, the family had found more "branches" since their last reunion, and dozens of people who were not our guests "visited" with their relatives. While we were somewhat prepared for this by allowing them use of our function room at night, many were invited (without our knowledge) to come visit during the days.

After the first complaint, the family members were asked to park in the public areas (not in front of guest rooms), to make sure that other guests had use of the beach and other facilities, and to stop their festivities after 10PM (as we ask all guests to do). According to all the non-reunion guests who were talked to by my staff, the reunion members complied. Sadly, it's hard to tell people who have been coming for decades that they can't visit with other family members on our property. We can only ask them to be respectful of others when they're here.

Since this last reunion, we have decided to allow no more than 60% of our rooms to be rented by any one group during the summer, and any non-guest reunion members may only gather in our function room in the future. This unusually-big group, and this reviewer's comments, have helped guide our new policies. We apologize for the reviewer's bad experience, and invite her to contact us for a free (and, I'm sure, much quieter) stay next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 75 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Highland Lake Resort midweek in early July. It it situated right on Highland lake which makes for some amazing views! The people that work are friendly and were ready to help us with any request. We had a problem with our key and the gentleman was very friendly and was apologetic for the mishap. The room itself was comfortable and clean but a little dated. The bathroom was very small. It was very quiet though and I can not stress enough how beautiful the view was. The resort offers canoes and pedal boats which people can take out onto the lake free of charge. The Resort itself is about a mile from the downtown area that has some good restaurants and shops. It was a nice, quiet and peaceful stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationMania23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

OK, I'll admit it. Some rooms are still a little dated. And the bathrooms in one building are... well... a bit compact. After all, the buildings were built in the 1950's. The fixtures, though have all been updated.

We've been redoing the rooms every year, and have to chose between a "rustic" lake resort look and a "modern" motel look. The one thing we've done is make sure the beds are comfortable, the amenities are modern (free WiFi, Keurig coffeemakers, A/C, etc.), and there's plenty to do on site at no extra cost. And, of course, we have great staff, always willing to help and always with a smile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

After a long drive, I felt any stress melt away once I climbed into the resort's lakeside hammock, The view of Highland Lake and the White Mountains is breathtaking and extremely calming. I was even treated to the sight of a Common Loon who swam right up to the shore twice.

The resort is centrally located in the lovely town of Bridgton. Restaurants, shopping and an art gallery are within a mile and a half. I had an especially good breakfast at Beth's.

While in the area, I enjoyed a sightseeing boat ride (Naples, ME) and even saw a Black Bear (Denmark, ME).

The hotel room itself was immaculate, everything worked and the young lady at the front desk aimed to please. A nice touch to the room was a Keurig coffee/tea maker. The wireless was easy to use and very fast.

Highland Lake Resort did not disappoint. I'm glad I added this weekend in Bridgton to my business trip during the week.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveToTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We would like to thank the Woodwards and their staff for a fantastic vacation. The resort is in a prime location; close to town and surrounding attractions, although the resort itself has enough ammeneities to make you want to park yourself there and not leave the property. The rooms are immaculate. The lake beautiful and warm. The Woodwards and their staff could not be more hospitable. They go above and beyond in providing guests a welcome stay. It's proven to be the first time my husband's been totally relaxed from his stress-filled job. We had a handicap accessable room which was perfect for my handicapped brother-in-law. The only complaint we had was that we didn't have enough time to spend there. We highly recommend this resort for people of all ages and groups. You won't be disappointed. You might even be lucky enough to get a cruise around the lake with the Woodwards on their boat as we did. Thanks, the McNulty family

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddmcnulty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I rented the Deluxe Suite sight unseen and didn't tell my wife. We were going to Brigton from Presque Isle to attend our grand daughter's graduation from high school. She was thrilled with the room, the accommodations, amenities, and most of all the staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: Check their website, info@highlandlakeresort.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmcavaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by this quiet and quaint lakeside resort. Even though we went a bit before the season started (1st week of June) Highland Lake was set-up for the season and we were able to take advantage of the kayaks, beach, lake swimming, tennis court, and dock. It was obvious that the owners care about the facilities and your stay. Our room was newly painted. The bathroom also seemed to have been updated recently. All in all – I would go back to the resort. It provides a great alternative to a rental house as you can do it for a weekend getaway. Also, the Deluxe Suite has a kitchenette which saved us money on breakfast and lunch. Each room comes equip with a Kerig coffee machine which is also a nice amenity.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bostonite18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We were only in Bridgton for one night at the end of May, and many of the lodging facilities in the area weren't open for the season yet. Most of those that were had no vacancies when we tried to get a last minute reservation.

The Highland Lake Resort is a resort in the original sense of the word: a place where a family can go and have lots of options for a good time without having to run all over the place--a big plus with gas prices doing their current dance! Swimming, boating, fishing, tennis, rolling down the grassy hills, playing pool or card games, or just finding a quiet place to sit and stare at the lake or read a book. All within walking distance of the village of Bridgton.

One shortcoming, which may not be a problem a month from now, is that the building has obviously suffered from neglect in recent years. However, the owners are currently engaged in an ambitious renovation that, when complete should make this a great place to come with the whole family--from Grandma right down to the youngest sprout. It was very quiet during our stay, but I expect it's pretty noisy during the summer season.

Also, this is not a facility for wheelchair-bound patrons. There was only one ramp that I saw on the property, leading to two rooms; and there is a moderately steep walk of about 30 feet from the nearest parking space to the base of the ramp

The website is accurate when it describes this as a "no frills" accomodation. It's clean, but nothing fancy (at least not in the standard rooms like the one we stayed in).

Their prices struck me as high for the quality of the accomodations; but I haven't tried other facilities in the area. They may be in line with local values.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hcpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgton
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Mountain Inn
Pleasant Mountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Bridgton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
355 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
61 reviews
19.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Resort

Address: 115 N High St, Bridgton, ME 04009-3734
Location: United States > Maine > Bridgton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Price Range: $56 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Affordable! Owned and operated by native Mainers, this family-run resort motel features modern amenities with a lakeside inn atmosphere. Only 50 minutes from Portland, 35 minutes from North Conway, NH, and 3 hours from Boston. Private sandy swimming beach, free use of boats, canoes, and kayaks, picnic area, Family recreation area, game room, fitness center, health spa. All rooms have a covered deck with lakeview, color TV, phone, radio, A/C, heat, in-room Keurig coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Kitchenettes, Executive Rooms, and Deluxe Suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub available. Walk to downtown shopping and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Highland Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Bridgton
Highland Lake Resort Bridgton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing