We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”

Tom's Homestead 1821 Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Bridgton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Orlanda fl
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The exterior is very attractive. The dining room is very traditional. The hostess was very grumpy. As the dining room was without A/C and very warm, we opted to leave before being seated for dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgton, Maine, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We love Tom's. If you are the type that is in a hurry,wait until you have time to enjoy a dining experience. The service here is paced and NEVER hurried. You will have anple time to study the menu and ask questions of the Waitstaff. The courses come perfectly timed and we've found the food to be consistantly Excellent. A lifes work,Tom has restored a fine old home into a cozy eatery with anple room.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine dining at it's charming best.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The chef here is super. Down home cooking at it's best. Large portions are the norm. Wonderful variety to choose from. THe atmosphere is so nice. The place has an ambiance of years ago. The lunch specials are always a treat. Dinner is to die for. Friendly servers. Another favorite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not very friendly.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently had lunch after being away for 3-4 years and now I know why we hadn't been back. The waitress was not very friendly, beginning with when we first walked in. We felt like we were inconveniencing her by wanting to have lunch there. She also answered the phone to take reservations so we had to listen to her complain to some one there about how busy they would be at 5:00. It's tourist season, she should be happy people are coming to dine.

She did bring water, menus and took our order but then we waited, and waited, and we were the second party there for lunch and no one else there! One person received the wrong soup, but instead of saying "oh I am sorry" or something to that effect, she questioned him. I always thought the "customer was always right".

The food was adequate, we will not be hurrying back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMom713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reservations”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrive there early. For supper. And nobody. Was. There and the hostess. Ask if we had reservations. I turned around and saw. There was not a soul in the place. I said you got to be kidding so she sat us very good meal.worth the price

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eat1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Homestead 1821 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tom's Homestead 1821 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing