We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is Maine.”

Beth's Kitchen Cafe
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Bridgton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is Maine.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great food. I had the smoked Gouda cheese quiche. Excellent. The Sumatra coffee was so good. This little cafe is what you think about when you say Maine. You will miss out on a great experience if you go to Greenville and not stop at Beth's Kitchen Cafe

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizCanada54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    45
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlanda fl
Level Contributor
139 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Busiest Spot in the Region”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our August trip found us in this cafe late one morning to buy sandwiches for our kayak trip. It was past peak summer season, and the surrounding area was not overly crowded. We found that most of the local population was in this cafe either lingering over breakfast or getting a take-out lunch. A few minor mistakes in the order, but great sandwich selection, better than average selection of sides, baked goods and beverages. Would like to return for breakfast some day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrific Breakfast Cafe”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our family has been catching breakfast at Beth's Cafe once each August, for as long as it's been in operation, while visiting Bridgton. It's the only breakfast spot that we have returned to. The other restaurants that offer breakfast in town are fine restaurants but offer more traditional "short order" breakfast food. Beth's Cafe offers excellent locally roasted coffees, home made muffins and other pastries, made-to-order breakfast food, and desserts and lunch fare (We have never purchased the desserts or lunch fare as we are not in town after breakfast time.) The new location is more spacious, but it is suffering growing pains. As other reviewers have noted, flatlanders usually don't understand that there is no wait staff -- you have to order at the counter.

We feel that the service has slowed, unfortunately. But it's worth the wait (the food is amazing!), and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I think more staff may be necessary.

The atmosphere is lovely and relaxing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deirdre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebago, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beth's - great food - - - however”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been going to Beth's for years for breakfast and lunch and have always found the food to be excellent and the service pleasant and professional. However . . . what I have experienced in the new location is that it seems a bit disorganized. There are a lot of summer residents that go there so it is very busy during the summer season. I am not sure that everyone that comes in understands that they need to order at the counter. I saw a family sit down and appeared to be waiting for someone, then it dawned on me that they were waiting for wait staff. Of course, we told them the rountine and they got in line, they thought that was a take-out line. At breakfast, which seems to be the most hectic time, I've watched people leave because the line was moving so slowly. My suggestion would be to have menus available to pick up at the doors to be browsed before getting to the counter. Orders could then be placed quicker. Also list the quiche and muffin selection available, maybe on a visable blackboard or stand that someone can update as selections run out. I think another cash register would help so two lines could form. Easy fixes, hate to see folks leave and miss out on the great food and nice location!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etitcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great CAFE”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We really liked the food (muffins, veggie dishes, lobster rolls, home made desserts) We also liked the outdoor seating area that is really private from the road and has lots of flowers and trees. Lovely place for breakfast or lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beth's Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beth's Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing