We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax and enjoy the ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morawaka Tea Garden Lodge
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days in July and had a thoroughly relaxing time in this wonderful bungalow on a large working tea estate. The bungalow is spacious and comfortable with a wide terrace where you can relax and enjoy the iced tea that is always available. The rooms are clean and tastful and the garden is beautiful with many different kinds of flowers and a vegetable garden that provides most of the food for the imaginative and varied meals. The service is impeccable and Kumari and Sumehda, the owners, are attentive ,k nowledgable and fun and they speak perfect English. You are free to walk around the estate and visit the school for the pickers children . there is also a rubber plantation and you can arrange a tour of the fascinating tea factory which produces fine, tasty tea which is exported all over the world. I guarantee that I will never take tea for granted again! Highly recommended for a visit.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have en suite bathrooms but there are only a few rooms so sharing is not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAWMatara_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We loved the scenic valley in Sri Lanka's hill country. We enjoyed our large room and its country charm as well as the large veranda and dining area which provide great atmosphere. We enjoyed excellent food, warm hospitality and a chance to see and experience the real rural Sri Lanka. The owners are very hospitable and made our stay really special. We loved the peaceful, relaxing setting with the comfortable, traditional lodge located amid the tea plants and exotic trees and vegetation. We enjoyed the colorful small town located nearby. The valley is very beautiful and remains unspoiled.

Sri Lanka is a real jewel. Wonderful people, good food, and lots to do and see.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted_price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My stay in the Morawaka tea estate lodge was a great experience because of the unique landscape of the plantation and the environment and because of the nice accomodation in the wonderful and elegant lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Over the years we've stayed in a full range of accommodation, but nothing bests the location, hospitality and cuisine offered by Morawaka Tea Garden Lodge. During our stay in March 2013 we were welcomed warmly into our hosts' home. The lodge fits seamlessly into the plantation's rubber trees and tea plants. Every room features local wood, crafts and art; our bathroom was spotless with lots of natural light. Delicious meals, which are served in the dining room, feature local specialities using quality fresh ingredients. The plantation's tea is available throughout the day especially on the veranda where there is excellent bird watching or places to relax and read. Laundry and plantation tours including its school can be arranged. From Sumedha's and Kumari's welcome to our farewell, a stay at the lodge is a must to experience the true Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very different to what we thought,exceeded our expectations.Good service, very friendly,everybody was so friendly and kind.Beautiful scenery,incredibly natural.an amazing place I must say! Food was excellent though spicy.Now that we have found great place,we will return again to see and explore more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hirantha_muthukuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What is to be said when you journey to the far corners of Mother Earth and find an overwhelming slice of paradise? Perhaps I wax poetic, but you will too if you decide to put Sri Lanka on your radar and make this unforgettable journey for yourself.

My husband Willy and I, along with five other members of our group visited Sri Lanka for nine days at the end of February into early March as a pre-trip with Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) prior to our base trip to India. Part of our itinerary included a two-night stay at the home of Sumedha Kulatunga and his wife Kumari, proprietors of the Morwaka Tea Garden Lodge. The estate had its beginnings in the late 1800's when it was started by Sumedha's great grandfather. Two generations later, the family tradition not only continues to produce the finest quality teas from the best green tea leaf, it is done with the idea in mind that taking care of the workers is a moral imperative. The focus of our visit was to gain the full experience of life on an estate where tea is grown, harvested, picked and marketed. We met workers tapping rubber latex from the estate's rubber trees and had a quick "Rubber 101" lesson that added to our knowledge base. A visit to the estate's school gave us a wonderful opportunity to meet teachers and children eager to show us around, display their knowledge and appreciation for the opportunity to have the doors of knowledge open to them by the Kulatunga family who purchase the uniforms for the students, pay the teachers' salaries and supply the materials of instruction as well. A home-hosted lunch in the hills above the estate at the home of one of the workers made an indelible impression of the vitality of the community created by the Kulatunga's in return for the labor intensive efforts of the tea estate workers.

Our "down time" to pause and reflect on each day's experiences could not have found a more inviting "nest" than the estate's lodge. Pictures, paintings, maps and other artifacts revealing the breadth and depth of Sri Lankan craftsmanship graced the warmly colored walls of the common areas. A large veranda overlooking the estate was the perfect place to relax, wrap one's head around the beauty of the landscape (particularly dramatic at sunrise) and enjoy the tea and other temptations offered by our ever-present vivacious hostess, Kumari.

Breakfast, lunch and dinnertime were greeted by all of us with eager anticipation, happy to savor new and unusual local cuisine. Curry made from the pendulous purple banana flower, breakfast curds made with buffalo milk with a sugary accompanied by a"rock-candy like" brown confection known as jaggery to gently crunch while eating the curd and tea filled our stomachs and slaked our thirst. The variety of breads, soups, fruit and legumes known and unfamiliar all yielded delightful smiles of approval from one and all.

From the candle-lit greeting and dinner the night we arrived, through the all-too-few days that we experienced the Kulatunga family and their benevolent enterprise,our accommodations were truly comfortable. Each room was very large, immaculate and had the romantic appeal of a comfortable canopy bed. The bathrooms had plenty of hot water for showers and standard toilet fixtures. Believe me, there is NO roughing it at the estate.

Although our visit was brief and we had more than three weeks ahead of us as we continued on the rest of our visit to the incredibly lush and beautiful island of Sri Lanka and onward to the Heart of India, it was difficult to bid adieu to what was truly a majestic and magical experience in meeting Sumedha and Kumari and having the opportunity to spend a couple of days at home on the estate at the Morawaka Tea Garden Lodge.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are of equal comfort and appeal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2842bayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Need a Holiday in the cool climes, surrounded by nature, listening to the birds and bees, amidst a tea plantation.... Morawaka Tea Garden Lodge is the answer. This has been our 4th visit and always we have had such a wonderful vacation. Enjoy the great walks in the tea and rubber plantation as well as a hike to the Sinharaja forest reserve. Staff are very friendly and make your stay really comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roshi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morawaka Tea Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morawaka Tea Garden Lodge

Address: Morawaka Estate, Morawaka 81470, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Morawaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Morawaka
Price Range: $70 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are visiting Galle, it is only one and half hour to drive from Galle to morawaka. You will be in the middle of the tea Garden lodge.Travelling from Nuwaraeliya you will be able to take a very scenic route thru. Ratnapura and via Suriyakanda, which is one of the most scenice routes in sri lanka.You can go to the safari Park in UdaWalawe from the Lodge in approx 3 hrs.Traveling to the Sinharaja forest trekking is only one hour.Unawatuna is only one hour from here.From Hikkaduwa it is only 2.5 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Morawaka Tea Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing