We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great staff”
Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Great helpful staff, this inn does require a few upgrades but it is is neat and clean and has very very large rooms, would be ideal for two couples or traveling with kids, the rooms are alot larger than your average hotel room, the free breakfast was perfect and if you want a larger breakfast there is a very nice resturant with good prices, this hotel appears to be run by a religious group... not that its a bad thing but "God Be With You" and "God Bless You" was said more than once by the staff in our short stay, Good value... $70 a night, I am not sure what rooms go for in this area but we found this a fair price, Free internet but we did not try it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan-Hfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Vacationland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 710 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2009

I was very please to able to found a room that would fix five adults in one room. The breakfast was great. The Lighthouse cafe has great food. I recommend this place to other to stay at. The staff was very plesant and helpful. This is great place to stay if you are traveling to the downeast area or just staying in Bangor.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladysric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed here on 2 different occasions and felt that the new owners had gone out of the way to make it comfortable and appealing. Decorated in a cozy country lodge fashion, we found the rooms in the annex building to be spacious, clean, quiet, and comfortable. We had a fridge and an electric fireplace which our teens thought was very cool. A fabulous breakfast followed the next morning. We don't go to Bangor/Brewer often, but this place is our new favorite place to stay (much better than the chain motels in my opinion). We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kincaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We were referred to this property by a friend who lives in Bangor and stayed there for three nights. The lobby was welcoming, the rooms were clean (we loved the electric fireplace!) and the service was excellent. The breakfast was outstanding and the Lighthouse Cafe is a wonderful addition. Their food is excellent and the prices are very reasonable. We were very impressed and will definitely stay there again if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Powell_WYSnowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

I hope those of you looking for a nice, quiet, newly renovated Inn with a staff that is outstanding you won't hesitate to stay here. The staff and owners are kind and caring and always have a smile. The new owners are a wonderful couple who truly care about people. That is why they purchased this Inn to make a difference in this community. They will make your stay a wonderufl and pleasant one. They will do all they can to make this a wonderful and memorable stay for you and your family. You will feel warm and welcome and glad you chose this Inn.
Remember, you can't please all the people all the time but you can try and that is what they do. So when you read the negative reviews know that they are bitter and unhappy people in the world and that they need to be around people like the folks at Vacationland Village Inn & Suites more and their life would be happier. Please read the positive responses and make a decision to stay here and you will be blessed. They have concerts in the Cafe every Friday and Saturday night. If you are local grab some family and friends and join my husband and I and our friens there for a great evening. You won't reget it!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Debra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I've been wanting to try Vacationland Village for a while and finally gave it a try. I never stayed here before but it's been under new ownership for the past year or so. It's obvious they have done some upgrades. The lobby is VERY nice. The room I had was one of the older ones but was newly painted, had new carpet, nice bathroom and it was clean. The furniture was old but not of main concern to me. The draperies barely covered the window and the mattress was soft - not a big distraction but both items should probably be replaced. My biggest problem was the the walls and floors of this building are VERY thin and noise definitely carried thru. The breakfast buffet was magnificent! For the money the place was decent. I've stayed in other places at that price in the area and they were horrible and dirty. This is definitely worth it's value with the breakfast buffet. Definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank glasshunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Every hotel within 100 miles was booked at this time except for this one, which should have been our first clue. When we arrived at the property and entered the lobby, our first thought was "What have we gotten ourselves into?" We did not see any evidence of the much advertised renovations in the lobby area. Before deciding to stay, we asked to see a room first, but the front desk attendant did not have any housekeeping staff on at the time so he would not be able to show us without checking us in. Since we had no other options, we decided to do this. During the check-in process, the phone at the front desk rang 3 times with guests voicing their complaints, all of which were side-stepped and ignored by the clerk as he basically told them he had no staff to attend to them, so there was nothing he could do. We were assigned a "newly renovated" room in the back building which we were told was just beautiful now. Well, we walked into the back building, and up the stairs into a hallway that could only be described as blah, creepy, and uninhabitable, Our room was at the very end on the back side. It was a renovated dump. I'd hate to see it before it was renovated, because I think everything was upgraded to resemble the 70's. The queen sized bed looked like someone had been lying on it as the bedspread was all lumpy and messed up. The tiles in the bathroom were loose and coming undone. Our view consisted of the pile of garbage including old siding, other building materials, and an old car. Viewing the room made us realize that we would rather drive 8 hours home than stay in this place, which is what we ended up doing. We returned the key to the desk, checked out, and hightailed out of there as fast as we could. Total length of stay: 8 minutes too long.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgePorgieMoncton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basketballfan2213, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2009

If a guest has a complaint, we ask them to call the front desk, and we will do our very best to fix the situation. If a guest doesn't even give us the chance to do anything, how can they be so upset? All the old building materials from the renovations have been hauled off, and our hallways are anything but "blah, creepy, and uninhabitable." They are illuminated by peaceful pine-cone sconces. But if cozy, Maine decorations make you think of creepy and uninhabitable, I can see why you wouldn't like our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
631 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#15 of 26 in Bangor
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Address: 453 Wilson St, Brewer, ME 04412-1414
Location: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range: $67 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing