We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable get away for Pastor and wife”
Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had the Vacationland recommended to us from an aquaintance. We had never stayed that far from the center of Bangor so we were hesitant. The service was incredible, the treatment as a Pastor was like no other, and my wife and I were so pleased with the overall atmosphere from the hommey entrance way, to the down to earth folks at the desk, to the young girls overheard discussing a Christian conference while we were eating breakfast our first morning. We've decided we'll never stay anywhere else when we come back to Bangor, thank you again, God bless, see you next time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevsWarren-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest(s):

Word of Mouth is our best advertising! Please let us know your aquaintances names so we can personally thank them for referring you to Vacationland Inn for lodging. We appreciate your decision to stay with us when traveling to the Greater Bangor area. THANK YOU! Bangor is only 5 miles from Vacationland Inn and Downtown Bangor is only 1.5 miles away. We look forward to your return stays and will strive to continue to make this your home away from home when traveling. Blessings to you and your wife. Your kind comments will be shared with the entire staff of the Inn.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 724 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had stayed at Vactionland Inn about 3 years ago. When I returned all I could say was "WOW" so many renovations! The entire place looks "AMAZING." Our rooms was clean, the staff was very friendly, and the bed in our room was so comfortable! Could get a better bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenbush12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your lodging experience at Vacationland Inn with others on Trip Advisor. The entire staff has an ongoing effort to continue with the upgrades and changes in each room and common areas. Guest comments help us to improve lodging experiences here. We look forward to your future stays. Your kind comments will be shared with the entire staff at Vacationland Inn.

Safe travels during the holiday season!

Kind Regards,

Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

At first glance this is a very modest Inn. However, a lot like an Oreo cookie with the modest chocolate outer wafers, inside is filled with a pleasant surprise. When first arriving at the conveniently located Inn, the portico which is adorned with a nice wicker swing & chair set ensures a dry entrance. The front desk personnel (Cheryl & Brad) are warm-welcoming, friendly, quick to accommodate, and very helpful. In the lobby I found the lobster trap rocking chairs & table to be very creative. It was brought to my attention that they can be ordered/purchased in several different colors. In other portions of the well-equipped lobby, there is a fireplace, a statue of a Maine black bear, a statue of a bull moose, a rock waterfall, comfortable leather furniture, Amish rocking chairs, a desktop computer, and a flat panel television. Downstairs there is a conference center with ample seating, a kitchen area, a game room with a pool table, foosball, ping pong, & board games. I couldn't help but think what a great restaurant & lounge the conference center definitely has the capability of being. However, the Inn provides a delicious breakfast with coffee, juices, cereal, a variety of bagels, toast, and make your own waffles with amazing homemade blueberry & strawberry sauces, maple syrup, & whip cream to top them with! The room was reasonably priced, clean, & comfortable, with high speed internet, a desk, microwave, refrigerator, iron, coffee maker, and plenty of towels. I especially enjoyed the Desert Breeze natural shampoo, which I found invigorating & awakening. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the Bangor/Brewer area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest(s):

WE LOVE OREO COOKIES! Thank you for your comments and especially the overnight loding with Vacationland Inn. We share guests comments with each staff when they are mentioned by name. Both Cheryl and Brad will be notified of your onliine comments regarding their customer service. We are so pleased that you found your "home away from home" here in the heart of Brewer Maine. We strive to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere with friendly staff that go the extra "smile" for our guests. Our slogan is "Come as a stranger and leave as a friend; your adventure begins at Vacationland Inn." We look forward to seeing you during your future stays. Safe traveling for the holiday season.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We just stayed at the Vacationland Inn in Brewer this past week end. A very pleasant surprise. I would recommend booking a room in the Annex. The King bed room we booked was huge. It was decorated nicely and very cozy. Our friends stayed in a double room and it was also very roomy. For breakfast they do have the best waffles in town, included with your stay, and the staff is extremely pleasant. We have been going to Bangor for years and generally stayed over by the mall and shopping area but it has become very expenisve and busy This was a refreshing change and still just a short drive to get to the mall and shopping area. Also there are nice restaurants within walking distance to the motel that are very good. Sheryl and Brad thanks for a great stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for staying at Vacationland Inn. Your review will be shared with both Cheryl and Brad personally. We look forward to you returning on your future trips to the Greater Bangor area when you are shopping. On your return stay be sure to check the Inn's Guest Services area for valuable savings coupons that we provide for our guests to shop at local businesses. You can also receive additional discounts with some local restaurants just for stay at Vacationland Inn. Enjoy the upcoming holidays and safe traveling. Again, Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you and your friends lodgiing with us!

Kind Regards,

Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had booked at another hotel in Bangor and were very dissappointed. I called Vacationland and got a room for under 70.00. The guy at the front desk was VERY friendly, and the girl who worked in the breakfast area was great as well. The room was on the smaller side and a little outdated, but it was clean. We didn't need a big room, it was just a place to sleep. It was clean and that was what really mattered. We thought the breakfast was great, but the breakfast area was small, and made it hard to find a seat. Waffles were AWESOME though, and there were lots of other options for people who don't like Waffles! The girl working was right there to help everyone with the waffle maker and made sure everything was replenished. We would definatly stay here again, and recommed it to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SONYA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for stayig with us at the Vacationland Inn. We look forward to your returning stays when traveling to the Bangor / Brewer area. Your kind comments regarding our staff will be shared with each of them personally. On your return stays, if the breakfast room is full, ask the front desk attendant if the conference center is available and there is additional seating there for our guests. Please introduce yourself when you return to the inn.. safe traveling and thank you again for lodging with Vacationland Inn.

Kind Regards

Leeanne, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 1 night here and it was "okay". We were in the main part of the hotel and it is very dated. But, it was clean..so I was happy about that.The room is small,the bed was a small double bed. I found it cold through the night. The young fellow on the desk did not tell us about the free continental breakfast(we found it the next morning quite by accident) and he did not mention the WiFI or how to access it(we had to phone the front desk to inquire) The waffles you make yourself are good,but there was a big line-up(which did not move fast) as there were only 2 waffle stations. Coffee was excellent!
My biggest complaint would be the side door which is left unlocked all night-the stairway up to our room was right at the top of that stairwell.I asked the front desk about it and the fellow told me "It's okay,there is someone on the front desk all night" Well,so what? You can't see the side door from the front desk. All the more reason to lock it at night,so all guests can use front door! If I were a woman travelling alone,I would be very incomfortable with that. Mgmt really needs to look at this.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for staying at Vacationland Inn. We apologize that you were not made aware of all the services available. Yes, we have free Wi-Fi and Complimentary Breakfast with home-made waffles with wild Maine Blueberry sauce. You mentioned the coffee was "excellent" we do have 10oz bags available for purchase for our guest to take home to enjoy in between their stays. On your return stays feel free to contact us prior to your stay to be sure we get you in a room that is different from your prior stay. We value your lodging and look forward to your future stays at Vacationland Inn. Safe Traveling.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We did not make reservations. We stopped by in the late afternoon during the week and we were able to use a coupon from hotel coupons and our room cost $59 plus tax for a double room. The gentleman at the front desk who we dealt with was very friendly and courteous.

We stayed in the main building. There was a door to outside and one to the hallway. We were located close to the main lobby. We were not bothered by any noise. The room was a bit out-dated but clean. There was fridge in the room - it had to be turned on. There was a microwave as well. The hair dryer worked fine. No problems with water pressure or temperature in the shower. We accessed the wifi without any difficulties.

The breakfast room opened at 5 am, very pleased with the early start. You could cook your own waffle, or choose cereal and toast as well as coffee, tea, and juice. There was an outside patio that would be nice in warmer weather. We had dinner at the restaurant next door - large portions, friendly waitress, discount for Vacationland Inn guests.

We would definitely spend a night here in the future, good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_Shell13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for loding with Vacationland Inn. We appreciate your kind words in your review regarding our friendly and courteous staff. We will be sure to share your review with the entire staff and certainly look forward to seeing you again during your future stays. Safe Traveling.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
5.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
3.9 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
645 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 26 in Bangor
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Address: 453 Wilson St, Brewer, ME 04412-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range: $76 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing