We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favor - STAY HERE!”
Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great rooms, more than we expected. Clean, fridge, microwave, very spacious and what a phenominal breakfast! We could not have asked for anything more. Walreen's, Rite Aid, KFC, Taco Bell, and Tim Horton's all VERY close! The young lady at the front desk assisted us in finding safe places to walk without traffic - she gave us several options. She also suggested local restaurants for great seafood! I am so glad we did not stay at those high priced hotels in Bangor. The next time I travel to Maine, my first call will be to Vacationland! Do yourself a favor - STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms did not have an elevator, but we did not have much to carry up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your review.. Your comments will be shared with the entire staff. Our priority is to serve our guest to our best ability. We are pleased that you have chosen Vacationland Inn and look forward to your many return stays.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne Hewey
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 726 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just got back from a few days/nights in the Brewer area where we stayed at Vacationland Inn in
Brewer, Maine. Totally enjoyed being there. Karen in the breakfast area is the best and makes the very, very best blueberries for morning be it a waffle or just a english muffin. The gal on the front desk (long red hair - didn't get her name) is most friendly and helpful. Already booked a trip
back in November and would recommend Vacationland Inn to anyone going that way. Comfort like at home with friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitts88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

We look forward to seeing you in November this year. We will be sure to share your kind remarks regarding our staff's customer service with them directly. We will have the famous homemade waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry Sauce ready for you in November as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Vacationland Inn and look forward to seeing you back in November.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We (family of 4) stayed at the Vacationland for 2 nights in August while in Bangor for back to school shopping. The hotel offers romms with 3 beds which is a plus for us. The room was on the fist floor in the annex. Room was very quiet.

The room was reasonably equipped and beds comfortable. Our only maintenance issue was with a plugged shower drain that the maintenace staff took care of promply. the from desk even gave us a key to another room to sue from showers while they were working on our bathroom.

Breakfast is good, though a bit limited in selection if you aren't into the signature waffles. Coffee was very good.

We will definitely stay at Vacationland again whil passing through or visiting Bangor.

Room Tip: Annex rooms a a bit newer, but need to walk across the paking lot to go to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichA252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for lodging with Vacationland Inn while on your Back-to-School shopping trip with your family. Thank you for your patiece with our maintenance staff as they had to do some minor plumbing for you in the bathroom. We value and appreciate your willingness and understanding. On future stays, remember the restaurant next door to us, Coach House, they will give you 10% off their breakfast menu for lodging with Vacationland Inn. We are glad that you and your family will return to stay with us. Safe traveling. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The best deal in Maine for the money. Clean roooms, excellent staff, the greatest waffle breakfast, with blueberry sauce to die for. A person can't go wrong choosing this inn. Comfort like your bed at home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guests:

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We value and appreciate all our guests comments. As all our trip advisor comments are, yours will be shared with the staff. We look forward to your return stay. May we recommend Room 259? A quaint beach house feel in the heart of Brewer, Maine. A foliage drive to Acadia National Park is well worth the return visit as well. We look forward to your future stays!

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was really debating writing a review at all because the people there were soooo nice! But, I read reviews and chose this Inn based on them, so here goes..
I saw the photo's of tubs and fireplaces in the rooms and was so looking forward to that! The room we got couldn't be further from what was pictured! I wish we were able to upload pics here so I could show you what I walked into..
The room was from the 70's. The bathroom had tile that was cracked, molded, and stained. There was a stopper for the tub that was older then I am! I'm okay with dated as long as it is clean and in working order. My bathroom was dirty with (to put it nicely) "body hair" on the tub walls and edge. There were brown spots on the wall that could have been numerous things, that did come off with a dampened tissue. We called the front desk and they did page the house keeper; it did take her a while to get to us, but was super nice. I offered to show her the spots to be sure she didn't think we were just being picky jerks and she said she would wash the whole bathroom and not to worry about it.
WELL.... The "body hair" moved from the tub to the wall, and the spots remained as did the hair on the floor. The tub and sink leak. The room smelled musty with a deodorized smell on top of it.
We were told they are working on renovating the rooms. I hope for them they do it sooner then later, because again, the people were awesome, the room, not so much!
The breakfast was disappointing because you couldn't cut the english muffins to toast them because they and the bread were frozen together. The line for the waffle makers (2 of them) was so long it probably would have taken an hour to get one.
This was all mentioned during checkout, and they did treat us well. I will return, but only to the updated rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room in the back building..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

We strive daily to improve and keep up with the many rooms. Your feedback helps us to be sure this is taking place daily. Thank you! We do apologize for the long strand of hair in the bathroom behind the door that was on the wall. It was a pleasure to meet you personally along with our head housekeeper when you let us know what you found. The head housekeeper came with management to address this issue promptly. The evening prior, we accomodated you in a move from one room with more ammenties to this room near the lobby as you requested because you were traveling alone. Please know that on your return stay, we do have a breakfast attendent that is there to help in any way to prepare waffles or provide other toasting breads for your enjoyment. There is cereals both hot and cold as well as the Home-made waffles. Just let the breakfast attendent know you are waiting and she will assist in making one upon availablility as you get your other breakfast items. With your future stays, please let us know that you are traveling alone and prefer a room closer to the lobby. Please do not wait until check out when you find anythiing out of sorts in your room. We have staff available 24/7 to assist with any issues. Thank you again and we look forward to your future stays.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The stay was extended by an extra day, we were tired and the breakfast was great, Karen was attentive and saw to the breakfast room was a pleasant experience; the bagels and cream cheese were delicious and the waffles and blueberry sauce were great! I don't drink coffee, but I have it on good authority that the coffee was fresh, hot, and on the money! I liked the variety of teas offered. Will definitely come again and suggest this place!

Room Tip: choose the double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lourdes g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

We appreciate your patronage and the fact that you chose to lodge with Vacationland Inn on the recommendation from your Cab Drive, Steve. Let us know the Cab Company's name and we will send them a thank you. We will be sure to tell Karen you appreciated her customer service. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast with homemade waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry Sauce. The coffees are roasted for us and privately labled. We do have 10oz bags for purchase as gifts at the front desk in the lobby to give as gifts to that coffee authority. We are pleased you stayed at Vacationland Inn and look forward to your future stays.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here two nights in late August 2012. The first night was a Wednesday on our way through the US to the Maritimes of Canada. The second night was a Sunday on our way back through the US to another part of Canada. The first night we booked entirely online with zero problems. The second night my husband booked via telephone and we had zero problems.

The staff were friendly and helpful, provided us with directions to different things in town. The location of the Inn is very close to a variety of restaurants (including a Tim Hortons!!!) and discount shopping (dollar stores, Goodwill and Marsdens). There is a Kmart and other bigger shopping stores not too far away in Bangor which we learned is Brewer's twin city.

When we had a "problem" with our air conditioning (horror!) someone came almost immediately to fix it for us. It was such an ancient model that we had just turned it on wrong somehow but it ended up working very well and we were freezing by morning (a good thing IMO). The second night, the a/c was located awkwardly behind the fridge and microwave and too high for me (shorty) to easily reach; I had to climb up on a chair and it was a pain -- but it was a newer model and worked well also in the end.

We had no problem sleeping at night. There was not a lot of noise in the area nor within the hotel itself. I was worried a bit because the first night we were on the first floor, directly beside the ice machine and dining room, but there were no issues with noise whatsoever.

Both nights we had drive-up rooms on the first floor. We didn't find that noisy either. There seemed ample parking but people did not necessarily park in front of the room they were staying in as "our spot" was taken more than once.

It was very handy that the rooms both had doors to access both the inside and the outside of the hotel. We felt very safe and comfortable.

The decor in our rooms, while dated and in need of an update, was very clean. Everything looked and smelled fresh, even if stains or spots were noticable. We had no issue with the carpeting and wandered around in our sock-feet.

The two double beds we had were comfy - not too soft, not too hard. Pillows were comfy too. No complaints.

The fridge, microwave, tv and telephones all worked just fine. It is handy to have those available when you travel.

The bathrooms could have used some renovating - the door opened awkwardly in one of the rooms - but everything was clean. I did notice that a chocolate bar wrapper was hiding behind the bedside table one of the nights. Obviously they don't pull out the furniture often but everything else still looked vacuumed and clean.

There was a computer/internet station in the lobby that people were using. I had trouble getting the wifi to work in our room and gave up only because I was too travel-weary to care. I'm sure if I had called for assistance it would have been readily available.

The breakfast consisted of various coffees, juices, cereals, breads and bagels (with butter, peanut butter and cream cheese) that you toasted yourself and waffles that you make yourself with premade batter. I, personally, would have liked more protein options though I know this is difficult to provide. The breakfast room is staffed by a very cheery young lady who is happy to help you out. I believe you can eat outside at tables too. We preferred the a/c of our room, though, so munched there.

Overall, it is great value for the money. We definitely recommend this Inn and will make a point of staying here on our next trip through the US.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your kind and honest feedback. We value that you returned to us after your first visit and hope when you return again and again so you will notice the ongoing updates and changes we are doing. We have feedback forms for our guests in all the rooms for guests to let our staff know immediately of any issues such as stains, a/c, microwave or any type issue that need maintenance and/or housekeeping. You can always contact the front desk with any issues. We have 24 hour on-call staff to assist with our guests needs. Thank you again for your kind words and honest feedback. We value your repeat stays and look forward to your future ones as well. Safe Traveling and see you again soon.



Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
5.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
3.9 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
536 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 26 in Bangor
263 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Charles Inn
The Charles Inn
#20 of 26 in Bangor
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Address: 453 Wilson St, Brewer, ME 04412-1414
Location: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range: $81 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing