We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Not So Happy Holliday”
Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Not So Happy Holliday”
Reviewed March 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed here and it ranks up there with one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had. We were quoted the wrong price when we made reservations, the pillow had hair on it and the floor was filthy. In general the room was not very clean. Upon check out I informed the front desk clerk of the bad experience and all we got was a hollow sorry and disagreement from another employee. The employee actually argued that the linens and room were clean. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone even as a last resort. If everything in town is full go to another town, pitch a tent, sleep in your car, just don't waste your time and money at this hotel.

  • Liked — mt husband
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank QUILTCalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twincitymotorinn_gm, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2008
Unfortunately, every so often, we encounter guests who are impossible to please. Our policy as a business is we DO NOT do refunds at check-out if that is the first time a complaint is made. If at check-in or during the night there is a problem, we immediately seek to fix it to our very best ability. However, many people show up in the morning and say that when they checked in "this and that" were wrong... If there truly was a significant problem it would be reported at the time of the problem and not 15 hours later in the morning...
The same is true at any establishment... Call the front desk immediately, and please let us know if you have ANY problems.... But please do not make up problems in the morning when it is too late to even check on them or fix them. Further more, please do not be upset that we will not refund your money after you spent the entire night in the room without ONE complaint....
We truly seek to provide each guest with a pleasant and enjoyable stay...If they have any problems at all, we strive to resolve them immediately and to their satisfaction....This guest did not allow us to do this and judged us harshly and did so WITHOUT MERIT....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    256
    79
    26
    24
See reviews for
209
260
43
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caribou, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

I recently spent 29 days at Twin City Motor Inn while my husband was a patient at Brewer Rehab. I checked with the new management even though the motel was NOT recommended to me. I always like to give "the new guys" a chance. The management and staff was consistently kind and considerate. The continental breakfast was excellent and my room was tended with prompt care each morning. Although the main building of the Inn has not yet been remodeled, it is spotlessly clean and well kept. I would not hesitate to recommend Twin City Motor Inn. Keep up the good work! And thanks for the support and kindness given to me in a most difficult time.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Northern-Maine-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

we have always stayed at this motel, but last year we decided not to go back because it had become so run down and dirty. well, when we got to bangor-brewer this year, not another room to be found in any other motel, so we had to go back to twin city. WELL what a nice surprise it was when we walked through the door. Every thing was new and improved AND clean. we were there in june 2007, and went back sept.2007. the new family that took it over are doing such a great job. thank you all. the new breakfast room was a great addition! i have already recommended twin city motel to a few people and they are going to stay there. best of luck! we will be back thank you. heather fudge, nova scotia, canada

  • Liked — location , clean, great owners
  • Disliked — was all good!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank zelda57p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west burke, vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

My wife and I had a very nice 4 night stay from 7-12-07 to checkout on 7-16-07. The Inn is under new ownership and the new owners are working hard to correct any deficiencies there may have been. Our room was very nice. They are renovating the "Tea Room" and have a wonderful continental breakfast every morning. The Tea Room will be open soon and already is looking good. Everyone we met, from the owners, their family, or the associates were very cordial and attentive to our comfort. Thank You to the owners Ross and Cheryl and to Zachary and Anna for a great stay.
Vern and Donna Forthun
West Burke, Vermont

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — distance to the mall
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dakota7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
3.2 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Property: Vacationland Inn
Address: 453 Wilson St, Brewer, ME 04412-1414
Location: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing