We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great supper at Schooners”

Schooners Seafood and Steakhouse
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Schooners, formerly Muddy Rudder, is a family owned business purchased by the Kessock family in mid-2011. Since that time its reputation has steadily grown as the best seafood restaurant in the area.In February 2012, the name was changed to Schooners Seafood & Steakhouse. In addition to our Maine Seafood, we now offer a unique selection of steak options.Every effort is made to purchase only fresh products whenever possible. For example, ALL of our meat entrees are fresh, never frozen, aged in our cooler, and hand-cut on site. Even our hamburgers and chicken entrees are fresh as well.Our patrons are also able to enjoy the finest view in the city; our large windows and outside deck overlook the beautiful Penibscot River just a few yards away.Try us. You’ll taste the difference.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great supper at Schooners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

It was one of those perfect July days in Maine. We sat out on the back deck and had a wonderful view of the Penobscot River and Bangor on the other side. Our waitress was friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable both about the food and the area. And my husband declared the clam chowder was the best he'd ever had! It was loaded with pieces of clam, and not that chewy stuff that you often get.
On the way out we passed a live jazz duo that the people inside seemed to be enjoying.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drummond111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    32
    16
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cyberspace
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“meh. kind of expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

the view of the river is the best part, otherwise skip it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonymous_euonymus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious and a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the boats go by as we ate our dinner, very nice establishment

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kgj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Lobster in recent memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were heading home to the Philadelphia area from a long road trip to Nova Scotia and PEI. We had eaten lobster in several places along the way, but ht best came last. I stopped at Schooners Seafood and Steakhouse on Sunday evening because there we many cars in the parking lot. I got lucky because they had a special for $30-- lobster, clam chowder, 1.5 lbs of steamed clans in a mesh bag and 2 veggies. My wife had fish chowder and a great salad.The friendly waitress said that the lobster would be 1.5 lbs but it was definitely bigger. The lobster was great-- must be how it cooked. It was much better than the one I had in Cheticamp at a restaurant by the water. Our table had a great view of the river. They had an interesting beer selection. I will stop here when I get back this way-- for sure! -- drwayneb

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank drwayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Schooners was recommended by the hotel desk clerk and she was spot on. The food was excellent. The staff was very accomodating - we started with deck seats but the chilly wind forced us indoors and we got a great window table. My wife wanted surf and turf however she doesn't deal with whole lobsters. So the restaurant included lobster (claw) meat with her steak (additional charge) which was perfect for her. And the steak tasted great. I had the lobster and it was excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_BO_burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Seafood and Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing