We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Parkers Arms

Parkers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A contemporary country inn with its fair share of history, The Parkers Arms is located just outside of Clitheroe in the prettily sleepy village of Newton in Bowland where, so we���re told ���you can hear the grass grow���. The beautifully traditional whitewashed inn, hung with colourful baskets of flowers and lined with parasol shaded outdoor tables, invites guests in with the promise of glorious regional food and a relaxed but sophisticated atmosphere ��� both of which it delivers in spades. The cuisine is rightfully British, with a few global treats of course, based on local and seasonal ingredients cooked using creativity and imagination as well as a little tradition too (and speaking of tradition we absolutely insist you try the fantastic Sunday roast here at The Parkers Arms). Pints of good local ales are joined by delicious wines from all over the globe, so whether you���re resting after a bracing dog walk or celebrating a special occasion, The Parkers Arms has not only the food but the drink to suit too. Indeed, balancing modern and classic style, informal and efficient service and relaxed and special food, The Parkers Arms appears to have created what could quite easily be the perfect local inn.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Went with my parent and their lifelong friend to celebrate a rare reunion. AJ (front of house) as fabulously welcoming as usual. Excellent food and even stayed to enjoy the gorgeous garden for another drinkie afterwards. Didn't want to ruin the fun by going home! Go there. You won't be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

AJ and us all at Parkers are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit as usual. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Stosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

superb food when you get it,told to wait due to a large booking, so we waited and waited and when we asked for service the front of house more or less told us to wait even longer, needless to say we left and ate at a more obliging pub down the road.Eaten there before but sorry to say won`t be going back which is a shame because we are always being asked for recommendations from friends and family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank peterw5506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Its always a pleasure to serve enthusiastic diners. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on trip advisor. Look forward to welcoming you soon again.
All the best
Stosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Myself, my brother and sister, and my 4 year old nephew visited the Parkers Arms today for what we were hoping would be a nice lunch in a nice environment.

We definitely weren't disappointed. Upon arrival our host (AJ?) welcomed us at the bar and pointed us in the direction of our table, before kindly giving us a portion of the Parkers potato skins and mayonnaise on the house as a "Tweet treat"!

The location is fantastic, and some of the views of the surrounding areas need to be seen.

After a round of drinks and settling in the food arrived - and there is no other way to put this - it was superb. The quality of the meat in the Bowland burger and the freshness of the Fleetwood haddock was a joy - not to mention the excellent triple cooked chips.

My brother was quite clear in his opinion that the burger he had was without a doubt the best he had ever tasted, and the beer battered fish was right up there as far as myself and my sister were concerned.

For dessert, my brother and I each gave the chocolate and peanut butter cheesecake a go and it was absolutely brilliant, it is a must have for anyone visiting. A must. My sister opted for no afters, but upon having a small sample of the cheesecake it was obvious she thought she had made the wrong decision! My nephew opted for some choc chunk ice cream, and AJ was extremely helpful in grabbing a tub that wouldn't need to sit for a few minutes to melt slightly, so the lad could tuck in straight away.

Throughout we were made very welcome, and AJ was a great host and was very good with my nephew, always happy to talk but never overbearing - exactly what a good host should be!

There is no question that we will be back, probably in the very near future as there are so many more things on the menu we simply have to try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

So glad you enjoyed Parkers and what it is all about. Really look forward to welcoming again.
Kind regards
Stosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A bit out of the way in a delightful village - a good place for lunch whilst visiting the Trough of Bowland. Menu super with great pies! Not open until 12noon so we were a bit disappointed not to get morning coffee as we had arrived early for a walk. Very friendly host

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SydneyfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor
Best wishes
Stosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We didn't call until after 8 to make a booking and after checking our time was okay with the kitchen we turned up at 9 to be seated at a cracking table by the window in, what used to be, the Tap Room. After a couple of beers of course… Lancaster Amber and Bowland Gold

Folk who know A & I also know this is our local pub but this time we had visitors over from Paris, both experienced journo's and both used to the finer parts of Parisian dining – on expenses of course so they choose the best!

Starters included the Local Estate Venison Carpaccio with damsons and damson jelly and O commented that the black peppercorn crust on the meat was superb and complemented the venison very, very well.

Home cured Loch Duart salmon was my own choice of starter and the presentation was - as usual - first class, comment on by V as being among the best she had seen - certainly as good as anything they saw by the Sienne. There was a mix of shallots, greens and creamed cheese to add to the flavour of the fish.

A had the Terrine which came with a great slab of bread and another wonderful salad accompaniment.

Starters were accompanied by a chilled Sancerre and room temp Fleurie, brought to the table with proper wine goblets – not your Ikea style large glsses served in so many places.

O&V were very impressed – not only with the food but with the excellent ambience in the place. Friend’s dogs fizzed around their tables, popping over to ours when tempted by staying hands, while the mix of table diners and locals drinking simply confirms this as an excellent place to meet for dinner or simply drinks. We were sat next to a table of 8 who were all thoroughly enjoying themselves and all around the pub were smiling faces and happy people and, as the night went on, more locals seemed to be joining the crowd having eaten elsewhere.

More Sancerre and Fleurie came along as we tucked into our mains: a slab of rib eye beautifully cooked, a cheese tart for the Veggie V, steak salad with a sweet chillie dressing on A’s plate and the ubiquitous burger for O.

Nothing overly difficult but it’s very easy to go wrong on the simple stuff but not a chance of that in this place – everything was wonderfully presented with a great mix of salads among the offering.

Our “taxi” turned up at the appointed time but we were running a bit behind having enjoyed taken our time and enjoying ourselves so much; subsequently we corked the wine and chose the Chocolate and Peanut cheesecake and Wet Nellie puddings to take home. Was that a problem – no, of course not.

Can I sum it up in one word of recommendation? GO!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Delighted we made you proud and you enjoyed your meal with us. Look forward to feeding you all again sometime.
Kind regards
Stosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkers Arms also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Waddington, Clitheroe
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Parkers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing