We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine Above the Tide Line at the Rocktide on the Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocktide Inn & Restaurant - CLOSED

Rocktide Inn & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy spectacular harbor views, a menu full of fresh seafood and delicious dishes to tease the taste buds, and the On the Rocks Lounge at the Rocktide Inn & Restaurant. Situated on the water on the east side in beautiful downtown Boothbay Harbor, the Rocktide has been a landmark in the harbor since 1968. Enjoy hot popovers with every meal, and one of the finest selections of house wine and liquor to be found on the water. Enjoy good times and great food at the Rocktide Inn & Restaurant.
New England - USA
Level Contributor
403 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Dine Above the Tide Line at the Rocktide on the Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I dined here recently with a large group of friends. The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had everything from giant hamburgers to steaks to calamari to lobsters. The location is really nice --- right on the ocean. We ate on an open air porch with a lovely view. A young man played steel drum music for entertainment, and we enjoyed listening to him and watching the boats going in and out of the harbor. Everyone seemed very satisfied with their meals. I ordered the champagne lobster, and it was excellent. My only complaint was that the portion was too small. But other people had generous portions of what they ordered, so I guess that was the size of my particular dish. I could have eaten two portions. Pricey, but not over the top. This is definitely a destination restaurant. Take your time and enjoy the whole experience at your leisure. This would be a wonderful place to bring your sweetheart for a romantic dinner by the ocean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayTee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    71
    30
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rock on,not!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

As a guest, one of the wait staff encouraged us to try it out. Unfortunately, the presence of entertainment overwhelmed the kitchen as well as wait staff. We waited over an hour and a half for our food. Apologies are nice but grow tired after an hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BRPROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“What a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Didn't expect much, but we were too tired to venture far from our B&B. The room was sophisticated for the area and the food was very very good and it was good QPR. The service, probably college kids on summer break, was fine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cellarmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic seaside dinner at sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had the perfect romantic dinner on the deck at Rocktide. The sun was setting and we had a table overlooking the harbor and buildings on the other side. There were other diners around us but they melted into the background. The service was quick and efficient, food was very nice. The bar area was also fun, both the formal bar area as well as the open lounge where they had live music playing. Perfect for a special dinner with fun friends or a romantic occasion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Harpswell, Maine, United States
2 reviews
“Fabulous location, delicious meal, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I met another couple at the Rocktide Inn & Restaurant for dinner recently and couldn't have been more pleased. It was a gorgeous summer evening (the kind we long for all winter long here in Maine), and the restaurant location - right on the water - was ideal. We sat outside (the restaurant has a spacious outdoor deck and you have the option of being under an awning or not) and watched the sunset while enjoying good food and attentive service. All too often, the food at restaurants like this doesn't measure up to the setting. Not so in this case. We all had seafood dishes and the kitchen definitely knows how to cook fish, whether it's broiled or fried. While our dinners came with sides, we also ordered an a la carte side dish (creamed spinach) which was delicious and generously portioned (one is enough for four). And the prices are reasonable, given the quality of the food (and did I mention the beautiful setting???). We'd definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocktide Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing