We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream value”
Review of Downeast Ice Cream

Downeast Ice Cream
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best ice cream value”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent variety of flavors. We ordered one scoop, could not imagine eating 2, 3, or 4! Excellent taste. Very reasonably priced. When there is a line it moves at a good pace and is worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F13fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    75
    21
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caratunk, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Large Scoop”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I ordered a single scoop ice cream cone. It was HUGE! I tried the cinnamon gingersnap flavor. Large chunks of gingersnap cookies in it. Delicious and soooo rich!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glad we saved room for ice cream!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good ice cream with lots of great choices. We stopped here after dinner in the harbor, and all 3 of us were glad we did. Even though I didn't get the flavor I ordered, the ice cream was very creamy and delicious. We can see why this is a popular ice cream spot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait...”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Yes they have a huge selection of flavors, but it is not worth the wait at night to get ice cream here. Go earlier in the day when there is no wait- much more worthwhile.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Landersfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream and they give you a lot for the money!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is always packed. They have great ice cream and I had a double scoop. They gave me 5 scoops. So good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hersey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downeast Ice Cream also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Downeast Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing