We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but slow.”

Mama D's Cafe Mercantile
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I gave this a 2 only because of the service. Very slow and unattentive. The servers were nice, but we had to wait a long time for everything. Food and atmosphere was great.

Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Owner at Mama D's Cafe Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry for your poor experience, we are currently in a "changing of the guard" having lost two strong servers who have returned to school and we are training a new server. When we are busy the kitchen can get backed up because we have limited space and only two people cooking. We hope you'll give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Mama D's Cafe Mercantile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 268 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

After hearing lots of recommendations, we went here for breakfast which was excellent. However, the owner could not have been ruder and made us feel extremely uncomfortable. The help seemed to be doing the best they could under what must be hard working conditions.

Thank WendyGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Owner at Mama D's Cafe Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed. As for the owner being rude, may I ask if you came back into the kitchen because the owner, myself, was cooking. I'm not sure who was rude to you but I'm sorry you had a poor experience. I hope you'll give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had lunch at Mama D's. The vegetable soup was served very hot and was delicious with chunks of tomatoes and pieces of cheese. I had the roast beef wrap which was also very good. The wrap was accompanied by pickles, a small celery and carrot stick. Our service from our server was excellent. She was very attentive and friendly. The blueberry cake was excellent. We enjoyed this meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jstark5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A friendly and welcoming place.
The loaded blueberry Belgian waffles are GREAT!
We've heard that they have live music on Wednesdays too!
Too bad we missed it.

Thank travelNmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect. The service and the atmosphere were awesome, the coffee was great, eggs and toast were very good, and the Belgian waffle was unbelievable...highly recommended!

Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama D's Cafe Mercantile also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mama D's Cafe Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing