We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I've just finished reading some of the previous reviews and just needed to make a comment in all fairness: The experience we had was nothing like the negative experiences I just read about! If we had read those reviews we probably would not have come. The place may have been that way at one time, but it is not now. First off, the innkeeper (Stephanie) was very friendly and accommodating. She gave us great information on local activities and sightseeing. I'm a photographer and was able to get some of the best shot's of wlldlife I've ever taken. We left MA. on a "wing it" trip North. Our plan was Bar Harbor until the jeep started acting up so we settled for Booth bay (and glad we did). We stayed in the penthouse, which was more than comfortable, clean and spacious--- kitchen, master bedroom, bedroom, living room and outside deck with rocking chairs. The beautiful view of the bay you can see from the photo I've uploaded. Oh yea, breakfast --- fresh bagels, cereal, ripe bananas, apples, sausage bake (Stephanie's special), vegetable quiche and plenty of coffee. I ate too much! The Inn was full and we met some interesting people whom we were able to chat with in the common living room, while eating on our wooden fold out tables. Very cozy, very homey! Loved it! Best little getaway, possibly ever!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photodude57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 281 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

Atmosphere was quaint and very tasteful. Rooms perfect. Parking tight but adaquet. Breakfast was just what one could hope for. We can not wait to go back and enjoy all they had to offer. A very short walk to town. Loved all the personal touches.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dbswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

A Simply lovely time away from home; the innkeeper made us feel part of her family;accomodations and location are superb; off street parking and a short walk to town

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MORTGAGE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

This place had charm, character, location, and great people. Our hostess, Stephanie, was very personable and helped us make our time in Boothbay Harbor very relaxing and fun. The breakfast was fantastic! We were awakened both mornings to the smell of fresh coffee brewing and cinnamon bread and blueberry bread baking. There was fresh fruit and yogurt, seafood quiche and a sausage egg bake, all served in a quaint sitting room/sun room. The place was located right on the water and was also close to everything we needed--restaurants, shops, galleries, bookstore, ice cream shop, etc. We would definitely return to this spot!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kritztab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Our stay at the Harbour Towne Inn was in the penthouse apartment- the top floor of the house with a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a great view of Boothbay Harbor. The apt was spotless, including the bathroom, and my bed was very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The location was perfect as it was just a few short blocks to the main downtown area. Each balcony had planters on the railing overflowing with beautiful, lush flowers. The effect was stunning! We had a great time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leenerbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

This was my family's first trip to Maine and we looked forward to it. When contacting "George" he rushed us into thinking we had to reserve or lose a room. When we arrived, we were delighted from the outside, then we walked in. Our room, on the second floor was musty, very old furnishings and had ants. We called George and he had them come up and spray. There was noone else staying there although he made it sound as if we were lucky to get a room. Breakfast was a stale danish from the local grocery, laid out in a small hallway. The next day, George left for a family day out, so noone was around all day. Long story short, it was horrible, and he charged us $250 a night..Never again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trish11Pennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay_Harbor_Inn, Manager at Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for the review. My father has Alzheimers and he no longer is running the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We booked this hotel trough Expedia, and used the hotel's own website to get a feel for what to expect. This was a big mistake - from our arrival, the owner denied all knowledge of the booking, despite me having e-mail confirmation. A room was found, small but quite comfortable, but the bathroom, particularly the "bath' falls well short of purpose, being the size of a large sink! The "views" of the harbour were very much obscured by adjacent trees, and the very below average breakfast should be regarded as a token gesture by the owner. This was probably a lovely place to stay in its day, but it has been denied any TLC by a somewhat "couldn't care less" owner. This is probably a last resort option if accommodation is scarce, otherwise don't bother. Sorry, Towne Inn - you just don't make the grade!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LyeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront

Address: 71 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $173 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a thrill and surprise to learn that we have been chosen as the signature image of the annual guide to Maine Guide to Inns and Bed & Breakfast accommodations, published by the Maine Tourism Association. Our sweet little waterfront deck is on the cover of the magazine, as well as the online guide! We hope you'll find your way to our special little spot and share your own special memory of the majestic Maine coast. Located on the waterfront in the heart of the scenic coastal town of Boothbay Harbor, our historic Victorian Bed and Breakfast has earned the distinction as the "finest B&B on the Waterfront." Our waterfront Inn, located on Boothbay Harbor enjoys the ever changing tides of the Harbor, specializes in gracious Down East hospitality, accommodations with water views, and decks overlooking Boothbay Harbor. Guests love our convenient location, right on the water and just steps to downtown Boothbay Harbor’s shops, restaurants and boating excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boothbay Harbour
Harbour Towne Inn On The Waterfront Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing