We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent room, friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Maine
1 review
“Excellent room, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We searched online for a room to celebrate our anniversary. We looked about a week before we went, because it was a last minute decision. I had some specific things I was looking for which helped the decision making process. I wanted the room decor to be interesting and the idea of cookie cutter rooms didn't appeal in the slightest. I wanted a decent breakfast, and a reasonable price. I was also looking for a place that looked nice on the outside, as well. after looking at many hotels and rooms we came across the Harborage. The rooms looked nice online and it seemed to fit our needs. I didn't check out reviews, we just decided to book. I have to say that we loved everything about the Inn. The place is even nicer in person, and the location couldn't have been better suited to us. It is a short walking distance from the very middle of town and therefore a lot quieter than many of the more central locations. When we walked around town in the evening we couldn't believe how lucky we were, because we weren't looking in particular for a quiet place but in town there were lots of people, music, and noise.

The breakfast was delicious and the hosts were very helpful with local info. All the staff were friendly and chatty. The room was air-conditioned and beautiful, and the bed was outstanding. I don't think there is a single negative thing that I could even think of to say about this place, we were that pleased. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaugheySix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    43
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
250
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although the Harborage room that we were in was not "antiquey" it was lovely; spacious and extremely comfortable. The deck right outside was wonderful for viewing the harbor and the night sky. The hot tube was wonderful after a day of golf. More importantly they were extremely sensitive to the dietary needs of a person with celiacs! Breakfast was yummy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bige3551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family stayed for 4 days recently and had a fantastic time. Jennifer makes you feel right at home and gave us great pointers of places to see and restaurants. The breakfast is amazing. Loved the rooms which were very clean. The location is perfect - close to town so you can walk but it was still very peaceful to relax. We didn't want to leave. Definitely will return and already planning our next trip to the Harborage Inn and Boothbay Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jademugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed, by myself, for five days in July. The service, innkeeper and owners were wonderful. The breakfast of course, was amazing. The inn is an easy walk from the town. i went on a recommended boat tour of the area and it's the best one I've ever taken. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seema M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I (along with my wife's sister and her husband) recently returned from a short trip to Boothbay Harbor. In planning the trip months ago, we had many choices of places to stay. We are so glad we chose the Harborage Inn. A cross between a B&B and a small boutique hotel (exactly the type of property we like), from the moment we arrived Emory and her staff made us feel welcomed. The rooms are beautiful, the service is top notch and the breakfast is fabulous. The deck is a great place for morning coffee and an afternoon cocktail. It's within short walking distance to many of the area shops and attractions. As we walked around and got a first hand look at the other properties, we confirmed to ourselves that we made the right decision and will definitely choose the Harborage Inn again when we return to Boothbay Harbor. There's so much we didn't get to do this time and so many interesting restaurants to try, we're already making plans for next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rchilone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I chose The Harborage Inn to spend our 44th anniversary. Our choice was a good one! Jennifer and the staff were very friendly and efficient. We stayed in two different rooms and both were exceptional. The rooms were decorated beautifully, each with great views of the harbor. I especially liked the electric tea kettle and tea service. A very special touch and unexpected. The breakfasts were very tasty and we even were treated to sticky buns delivered hot from the oven to our room!

Room Tip: Corner suites have an exceptional view, however it seems all rooms are afforded a great view on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lafeher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just returned from my second stay at The Harborage Inn and once again I loved it! The rooms are beautifully decorated and include many little extras such as soft comfy robes, a Keurig coffee maker, electric teakettle along with an assortment of teas and coffee, two wine glasses and ice bucket, and a magnified makeup mirror in the bath and a hairdryer. In addition, we had a fridge and a round table and two comfy chairs. Most rooms, including #6 where I stayed, have a seating area with nice chairs on the very large deck overlooking the water. Below the Inn there is a hot tub on the lawn at the edge of the water.
Now for the best part...the breakfast! The hot menu item changes daily. During my stay I had fresh wild Maine blueberry pancakes one morning with homemade sausages and the second morning was a delicious French puff pastry filled with melted cheese and ham along with a homemade apple cinnamon coffee cake. The innkeepers select local farm products when possible. In addition to the hot items there is always fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, breads for toasting, fresh squeezed juices and coffee and tea. I am probably forgetting something! This Inn is run by a young couple who really do know how to provide a wonderful experience for their guests. Their employees are pleasant and helpful. The Inn is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. I look forward to another stay soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront

Property: Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Address: 75 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harborage Inn, completely rebuilt with new construction in 2009-10, where luxury first class accommodations meet the tranquil peace of the Maine coast. We offer all the modern amenities of a boutique inn with the comfort & charm of a relaxing oceanfront Bed & Breakfast. Our spacious Deluxe Rooms & Oceanfront Suites with panoramic water views of the harbor, oversized bathrooms, and sumptuous gourmet breakfasts are the reason we have welcomed decades of returning guests year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborage Inn On The Oceanfront Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing