We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fisherman's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagate Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boothbay Harbor Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mid-Town Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topside Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
305
45
10
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
45
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteb btea sethigh tidekeurig coffee makerwithin walking distancethird floorhelpful with suggestionstop floorevery morningbreakfasts were greatstayed nightsbed and breakfastrooms are comfortablein townperfect staycorner room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 369 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The room was small and noisy. Admittedly it was the last in the house when we booked it but it was poor. The bathroom was in a closet and it was hard to get to the toilet paper.

There were cards all over the place warning about utility usage and generally transferring any liability to the guest. The breakfast was good but the quantity was limited. We asked for more blueberry muffins but were not served because the staff wasn't sure they had enough for all guests. As blueberry muffins were the signature item we assumed there would be enough for at least two per guest.
A good desperation lodging but not ready for prime time

Room Tip: stay on the harbor side of the house if possible. The street side is noisey.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seymour S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborage, Owner at Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Thank you for your recent review, we always appreciate our guests feedback. We are sorry that you found your stay with us unenjoyable. Please keep in mind that we do offer 3 different categories of accommodations when selecting a room for your budget & room size preference. You chose one of our 2 economical and typical b&b sized Regular rooms for guests seeking a lesser expensive option. All of our other 9 rooms (Deluxe & Luxury Oceanfront rooms) were recently built with new construction in 2009. These 9 rooms have large bathrooms & are very spacious for a typical b&b -- these rooms are sized between 475 to 600 sq feet.
We offer many different room sizes & prices at our Inn to accommodate our guest needs. We do recommend to our guests when making a reservation to keep these different room options in mind or call to speak with the Innkeeper to help find a room that will provide them with a most comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We visited Boothbay over Columbus Day weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was more than we expected! The service was highly commendable and the accommodations clean, inviting and relaxing. The innkeeper was friendly, warm and went our of her way to meet our needs. My husband kayaked from the dock; we enjoyed the waterfront hot tub on two different nights; the breakfasts were very delicious. We had the opportunity to stay in two different rooms--both of which were special in their own way. The Harborage is within a short walk of all that Boothbay Harbor has to offer, and a short drive to other popular Maine destinations. We cannot wait to return to the Harborage and Boothbay Harbor!

Room Tip: The on-line pictures, descriptions of views are accurate. The end rooms--near the waterside-are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife and I went to Maine with no particular destination. While traveling to Booth Bay, which I picked for the lobster places, we found The Harborage and made a reservation. What a great find and convenient, as well as private, to everything. We stayed for one night and left for another village the next day yet midway through the day we went back to the Harborage for another nights stay in their best room. The first room exceeded expectations. Whale watching, great lobster pounds; the 3 pounder one night was decadent. Most lobster dinners can be had for $23 for two 1.25 lb crustaceans per person with corn. The honeymoon suite the second day with jacuzzi was great with wine. The view of the water both nights was perfect. We could have done without the squeegee at 7:30 in the morning outside our room getting rid of the water and waking us, a little noisy only then, otherwise perfect. The daily breakfasts were excellent and the staff was super for every question and request. Do yourself a favor and take in the Harborage, especially the honeymoon suite.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite or any room on the corner.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

A wonderful place to stay. Truthfully, everything about the Inn was perfect. I am a perfectionist and the management met my demanding standards with ease. The room and everything about the Inn was meticulous. Everything is within walking distance. The beauty of the area is very difficult to describe. This is a place I would like to come back to and spend a few days. I hated to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Very friendly and great accomodations. Sits on water during high tide. Had the feel of a B@B, but the accomodations of a good hotel. In walking distance of several good restaurants. Loved the outside common area. This could be a problem if the weather were cold, as there is no inside common area. Just really loved the owners and staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor have a good view, but not so many steps.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews