We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning...”
Review of Atlantic Ark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Ark Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My new husband and I spent our wedding night in the amazingly gorgeous "Bliss" room at the Atlantic Ark Inn. After we were enthusiastically greeted by Donna, Michelle and Devon, we were taken on a tour our the beautiful inn. It concluded when we got to the 3rd floor and our room. The bed was in the middle, facing the arch window. We were able to sit on the bed and stare out the window at the beautiful harbor. We had our own private balcony where my husband saw a shooting star! The huge jacuzzi tub was very realxing with a glass of champagne.
Breakfast was delicious and the company as we sat on the porch was delightful. Donna and her staff were fantastic. They were very informative on the area and gave us an amazing recommendation for dinner. There were plenty of brochures but Devon knew the right places for us to go. We could not have asked for a better wedding night than we had. Thank you...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bliss room but were able to peek at the others. They were all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

One word. INCREDIBLE!! Donna, Devon and Michelle exceeded our expectations. They were so accomodating and friendly. Michelle keeps the inn inmaculately clean and tidy while Devon makes delicious mouth watering breakfasts and tends to the flowers and many other duties. We did not mind having meatless breakfasts at all. Donna runs the inn and is an interesting woman. She is a pleasure.

After spending 4 fun-filled days in Boothbay Harbor, it was sad to leave our new friends. Our cottage was lovely and quiet. There is even a pond behind it so you can be lulled asleep by the frogs and evening sounds of summer. The private porch is a great place to sit and read or just gaze at the harbor across the street.I even fell asleep on the lounge after a day at the beach.

I especially loved the location since it was away from the hustle and bustle of downtown and noise. The footbridge to downtown is a short walk from the inn and always busy. Lots of activity
to watch with all the boats. Downtown is not overcrowded with tourists except on weekends, but even then not bad at all.

We enjoyed breakfast on the patio evey morning and met some very nice travelers each day sharing stories and suggestions on places to eat or see. Definitely something you don't experience at a hotel or big resort.

If I had to pick a few things to improve on, I would have to focus on the accomodations, since the service is top- notch. The cottage bath is very small but fine for a short stay. It could use a picture or two along with some more towel space and shelves to store toiletries on since the countertop is small. Another light would also help since the shower area is dark.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina33166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Back again for a quick getaway, Devon makes a breakfast that's worth the stay by it's selft. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Will be back.

Room Tip: Favorite room is second floor on the side with a balcony and exterior access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend stay here! The room we stayed in (Bliss) was so beautiful and clean. The windows were airy and it was really quiet! We had a beautiful view of the harbor. We didn't get to meet Donna but Devon and Michelle took very good care of us. The breakfast was delicious every morning (we stayed 2 nights). Devon was so accommodating in letting us know which restaurants were recommended and giving us brief but detailed instructions on how to get to downtown. What we loved about the B&B is that they were accommodating but not invasive. We truly enjoyed our time there and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpea312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We previewed nearly every Boothbay hotel and B&B on an early-season Saturday when we were feeling particularly choosey and had time to kill. Atlantic Ark was our number one choice based on how immaculately clean and fresh the rooms were with soft sheets and a quiet location. We stayed in the cottage, a detached bungalow with a small 3/4 bathroom, private rocking-chair porch, narrow view of the harbor and minimal street noise.

The breakfasts were three-course: fruits, light egg dish and finished with pastry. We were elated to be served fresh, light and healthy fare. Donna served cheeses in the afternoon and maintained beverage service throughout the day.

Boothbay has many inns and in our experience, Tripadvisor's rankings accurately reflected the quality of the accommodations. When choosing, it's helpful to know that most of the inns are located on the heavily-travelled thoroughfares. After the close of business, car noise dies down, but no matter where you stay, you may prefer a room that does not face the street. A delightful footbridge connects the center of town to the eastern side of the bay, making nearly every destination within walking distance to "the thick of things."

You may share our romantic notion of finishing the day on a private deck overlooking the harbor (which typically requires a premium). We found this idea irrelevant. Boothbay isn't optimally situated for westerly sunsets and the smells of low tide diminish the enthusiasm for deck-lounging. Most of the area's attractions are outdoors with plentiful ocean scenery, so that urgency to "bay watch" is organically satisfied throughout the day. Plus, the Maine summer sun shines late into the evening, and most likely, you'll be at a restaurant rather than your hotel during that "magic" hour. However, if it's a sunset you want, the locals will gladly tell you their favorite sunset points located a short distance by car. Bring a picnic basket.

Room Tip: You cannot make a bad room choice at the Atlantic Ark. Bathrooms do vary greatly, so if you require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExploreFun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Although situated on the eastern side of Booth Bay, this B&B is a very short and convenient walk across the footbridge to the center of activity on the western side. The rooms are exceptionally clean, and for those with allergy concerns, there is no mustiness or mold to contend with, as some homes of this vintage may present. The Bliss room is a great escape, as it covers the entire third floor and has walls of windows and a private balcony. The bathroom is very spacious with a jetted soaking tub. There is no shower in this room, but the tub does have a shower wand that serves the purpose. Donna is an engaging hostess, and Devin and Michelle team up to serve warm breakfasts in the morning and to keep the place spotless. The food is not gourmet, as others have noted, but it is still good and the genuineness of everyone there more than compensates.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at this quaint B&B. We reserved the 3rd floor room and were so pleased with our accommodations. The room had so many very tasteful architectural details, was very serene and peaceful, had a wonderful jacuzzi tub surrounded by windows, and had a nice view of the harbor. Wonderful linens, fresh flowers, bright and airy room...it was so relaxing. My husband and I enjoyed our wine sitting outside on our 3rd floor private balcony and felt like we were in a treehouse! The inn had a wonderful porch also. Everything was within walking distance of the inn. The B&B owner was delightful, the breakfast was delicious and our stay was wonderful. An excellent value for the money. We will definitely return when we're in the area again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
1.7 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Thistle Inn
The Thistle Inn
#14 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Ark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Ark Inn

Address: 62 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $167 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Ark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atlantic Ark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Ark Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing