We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mid-Town Motel(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boothbay Harbor Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$120
$110
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagate Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
$999
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Linekin Bay Resort(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$150
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
92
9
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach morningcoffee cakedelicious fruitwonderful hostswonderful placenice balconyboothbay areaenjoyed our stayclean roomsin townjimmuffinsporchmaineideas
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 101 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Wonderful place! Very welcoming, beautiful grounds, and a most delicious breakfast. Excellent coffee, fresh and homemade. Balconies are beautiful! Professional and kind. Motorcycle friendly. We stayed here on the last night of our tour of Maine, and it was the most comfortable, clean and friendly! We will recommend to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Howard House. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. The beds are very comfortable. The Farrins are wonderful hosts; so friendly and full of excellent recomendations of where to dine out.

The breakfasts are exceptional. Ginny's blueberry muffins are superb, as are the fresh fruit, coffee cake, and the wonderful hot dishes she prepares each day.

It is on the outskirts of Boothbay Harbor, and away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area, which suited us well. It is very quiet, so sitting on the balcony in the evenings is a real treat. We share the same opinions as the others that have commented on this wonderful place. We will definitely be staying here the next time we come up to this part of the country.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvssysprog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My entire family and I again had the pleasure of staying at the Howard House. Howard House is surrounded in beautiful landscaping, the owners are knowledgeable, genuine and warm, the food is superb, the rooms are charming and well maintained with lovely views. They booked our rooms so that we were next to each other which allowed us to gather and enjoy the views from the decking connecting the back of our rooms. You can stay here and visit Camden, Bar Harbor, Wiscasset, day trip to Portland...but there's so much to do in Boothbay itself! Ask the owners if you have no ideas about what to do! Each suggestion we checked out was worth it. Oh, and don't forget to have an ice cream at the stand a bit down the road on the opposite side of the street! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. State upstairs or down.
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

When we visit the Howard House it's like visiting with family. The rooms are comfortable and clean with very pleasant surroundings, and the breakfast is to die for! Ginny is an amazing cook! It is located a short drive away from the harbor, convenient and quiet. We were there last week and on our last morning Ginny Farrin sat with us and we got caught up with our families and what our now adult children are doing, like long time friends. We wished we could have stayed longer. We've stayed at many B&Bs over the years and the Howard House is the one we return to year after year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilSister52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

My husband and I have vacationed at the Howard House Lodge B&B for 31 years. It is a lovely, charming B&B. The same family has owned and operated it since opening. Jim and Ginny are very helpful and personable. They go out of their way to make you comfortable. You experience the full flavor of Maine hospitality here. The rooms are, by far, the largest and most comfortable of most B&B's. Pristine and inviting. We have never experienced any musty smell, as the other reviewer has mentioned. Quite the opposite. Mornings are so relaxing while eating breakfast on the deck under the canopy. Everything is fresh and homemade. Little personal touches make it so warm. We have never wanted to look for another place because we have always had a terrific stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bzbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews