We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort”
Review of Spruce Point Inn

Spruce Point Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Spruce Point Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $95
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Linekin Road
Description: Food & Wine Magazine came up with the idea of “Collaboration Nation” to describe chefs working with customers, vendors and each other to bring the best flavors and experiences to those who love food. The principles of Chefs Stiles and Weinerth are sourcing, preperation, and enhancement.Here at Spruce Point Inn in Boothbay Harbor, Chefs Stiles and Weinerth have operated on these principles from the beginning, sourcing the locally fished, farmed and harvested ingredients from the best seasonal farms and producers in Maine. They then prepare the menu with cooking techniques that preserve the foods integrity and nutrition. The final product is enhanced by optimizing nutritional value via product combination and menu diversity.Midcoast Maine is the beneficiary of a cornucopia of retired/relocated professionals who have left banking or IT to go back to the land and Chef Stiles – who grew up on a farm in local Lincolnville, just up the road -- has built relationships with local farms and other food purveyors, sourcing ingredients like the fresh Aroostook beets and lavender-honey chevre from Tourmaline Hill Farm, greens from the hothouse built by a drummer from the band Phish and cheese from the State of Maine Cheese Company, a business created by a Manhattan banker in Rockland.It's an exciting time to be in the restaurant business and especially exciting to be part of what’s happening here, says Chef Stiles.
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome Resort”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

You have got to try this property...it is absolutely amazing!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    30
    16
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mashpee, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“A truly hidden Gem !!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Spruce Point Inn is a truly a first class property with great amenities, a warm feel and is family-oriented. The inn turned out to be a truly hidden treasure. The owners and the staff go out of their way to make your trip enjoyable. Not only where they nice, they all clearly get that the point is to make the guests welcome and they accomplished that task magnificently! There is an absolutely beautiful view of the harbor, along with 2 great pools, games, bike rides, kayaking, fishing, and shuttles to town. We dined at Bogies for dinner one night, and the food was outstanding and the service great. The manager made it a point to come and talk with us, she was a truly wonderful young women. On our way back to our room we stopped at the S'Mores Station. This is exactly what it sounds like. A camp fire that had helpful staff members assisting the guests making the camp treats. The young staff, with their own guitars, played music and sang with everyone! Would I return? Absolutely I cannot wait! I wish we had more time to take advantage of all the amenities.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murs, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent dining!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed our evening there: the food, the ambiance, the view, service etc.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tang421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best resort; destination!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great service; away from the bustle but only a few minutes from downtown Boothbay Harbor.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaineRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Callous and inhospitable”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We visited the 88 restaurant to view the dining room and made a dining reservation well in advance of our family event. We made a specific seating request, and were told that our request would be granted. As the date of our event approached, we contact The 88 to reaffirm our reservation and seating request. It took a couple of queries to get a confirmation that our seating request would not be granted. Our party was to be seated elsewhere. We were really upset that they misled us, and canceled our reservation. No establishment should treat its patrons this way, and especially one that is upscale such as this one.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Morty_Meekle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Point Inn also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Spruce Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing