We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to eat”
Review of Kaler's

Kaler's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Casual atmosphere with great food, friendly staff and good prices. The crab and lobster cakes were delicious!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyM174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    232
    87
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mass
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second "not so good" meal.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I want to like Kaler's because it is kind of cute. The prices are a little high but that does not bother me too much. I have been there three times in the last two years. The first time I woudl classify my meal as average but the last time, August of 2012 and this past Saturday, I was very disappointed. We were there for lunch and I ordered a salad with lobster. The salad was washed but not spun so the salad was dripping wet. The lobster had to have been previously frozen. Tough and full of water also. I complained at the waitress took the salad off the bill but would not remove the lobster from teh bill. That's okay but they won't be seeing me again. My companions' meals were similar, nothing to write home about for sure. I really do WANT to like Kaler's but they make it difficult.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pegleg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful Harbor View While Eating”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Kaler’s was on our list of possible restaurants and as we were driving into Boothbay Harbor, we came upon it so we stopped in for lunch. This place is so cute and casual. The atmosphere was very fisherman and lobstery. We got our very first glimpse of Boothbay Harbor here and it was magnificent. We changed our table so we could be seated near a window to see the great view. I ordered breaded fried lobster. I never heard of fried lobster before and it was delicious. It came with an order of fries and coleslaw. My sister had their stuffed haddock and she said it was also delicious. We did have to wait a bit for our food even though it wasn’t very crowded but the place is so pleasant, it didn’t matter and it gave us a chance to go outside their back door to drink in the beautiful view of the harbor. Definitely make this a place to eat when in Boothbay Harbor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful family restaurant!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a really nice location with good food and a great staff! If you visit Boothbay Harbor make sure you stop here!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVE THE VIEW”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Several years ago we stopped at this wonderful resturant. We had the Deep Fried Lobster. We went back there this year just for the view of the harbor and the Deep Fried Lobster and of course the wonderful chowda. When in Maine, this is a must place to stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaler's also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Kaler's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing