We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“was allright”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaler's

Kaler's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“was allright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Used recommendations to choose this for our dinner in boothbay. We did not have lobster so the meal was pricey for something so forgetable. We should have gone elsewhere for a better seafood meal vs the lobster type joint that pretty much just does lobster. The mac and cheese was nothing to write home about. service was good tho.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PugmomNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    223
    84
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kempton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good food, friendly service. We ate there several times and all meals were of excellent quality.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“July 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

eat there everyday for lunch. Clam chowder !!! Excellent service, good food,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1Nakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Good food, fun atmosphere. Lobster pie was tasty. Friendly staff with no surprises. Affordable prices. Bar seating view wasn't as good as rest of the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank evadninorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant......HUGE portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Each year we visit Kalers as part of our annual pilgrimage to Boothbay Harbor, Maine.
Fore twenty five years we've made it a point to eat at Kalers. This place isn't the fanciest restaurant in Boothbay, but the atmosphere is comfortable and the food portions are huge. Try the Fisherman's Platter. It comes in two sizes, big and bigger. I couldn't eat all mine and that's a rarity for me. Mrs Kaler runs the place and always has a presence in the dining room. You get the " dinner at mom's" experience. The waitstaff is phenomenal, very attentive, upbeat and positive attitudes. They even have a touch tank on the deck to keep the busy while the food is cooking (and to keep them from squirming uncomfortable in their seats). You can have the opportunity to go out in the lobster boat to actually take part in the hauling in of the lobster traps by signing up with the waitress. Mrs Kaler's husband, Dan Dan the Lobsterman passed away, but the restaurant continues to produce the best value for the dollar and his presence is still felt throughout the restaurant. This place is a MUST visit for anyone traveling to Boothbay Harbor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaler's also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Kaler's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing