We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We just came back from spending a lovely holiday weekend at this jewel of a B&B. The owners were so accomodating and gave wonderful tips of places to see and do. Breakfast had a great variety and the main dish changed each morning which was nice. The hotel itself is beautiful and we stayed in the only dog friendly room which was great. The room was a nice size on the corner of the house by itself with a nice patio. Furnishings are a tad dated but that just adds to the charm of this place. It is within walking distance to everything in downtown Boothbay Harbor which was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina-P40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
184
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just completed our 4th visit. Monica and Tom are the best! Get home, get company and great breakfast. We're coming back in 2014! Thanks to our Inn keepers for and great visit! Boothbay Harbor great fun and get over to the lighthouses in area!

Room Tip: "Lots a room", best room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LITraveler1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the third B & B we've stayed in at Boothbay Harbor, and it will be our destination in future visits. The location is perfect for walking all around town and convenient to many restaurants. We have top praise for our hosts, Tom and Monica Churchill, who are very informative about the region and have many suggestions about activities to enjoy. Monica is an excellent cook. Her breakfasts are fantastic, and she provides lovely snacks which are available all day long. The rooms are comfortable and appropriately furnished for the period of the lovely old house. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and look forward to our next visit to Harbor House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Harbor House Inn. Our daughter had stayed there and recommended it to us. We were warmly greeted from the first moment we arrived. The Inn is beautiful and so charming and well kept up. Our room number 6 was big and cozy. Furniture very nice and the bed was very comfortable. One note of caution. To get to our room we had to climb two very steep sets of steps. This was especially an issue when carrying large pieces of luggage. We found the breakfast to be delicious. They were served in a very sunny dining room which was rvery relaxing. Monica and Tom were there to suggest what to do in and around Booth Bay. Monica even shared a cake recipe with me. The Inn is very close to the town. We enjoyed walking there. I have no problem recommending this Inn to anyone to comes to Booth Bay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our time at Harbor House Inn. We were greeted warmly from the first moment we arrived...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westlakevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Tom and Monica were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and the house is charming. We were thrilled that there is one room where they allow dogs. This room still had a king sized bed and a private bath. We will definitely stay there again if we go to Booth Bay Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAnnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Been going to boothbay since 1970- have stayed everywhere there over the years. As a result We never stay at B and B's anymore. Just a little to odd for us- just not our style- However, we found this place by accident and it is one of a kind. Tom and Monica, your hosts, are simply wonderful- accommodating, professional, attentive, and most importantly aware of giving guests their space. Nothing weird about this place, nothing inappropriate, well insulated walls, impeccably clean in and out, wonderful views from most of the rooms, a simply perfect top of the hill location (best in BBH), Fresh fruits and baked goods every AM, wonderful inside and outside accommodation to enjoy you Breakfast, very distinctive and nicely appointed rooms, so basically in the end, the price value is outstanding- the only reason we don't rate it 5 stars is because at $130-$170 a night you shouldn't expect 5 star treatment- but the treatment doesn't fall too short. Only downside is limited cable TV (like the rest of the area) for news freaks like us, but my wife reminded me that's why we go there- to disconnect. Simply a special place place run by a special couple! I feel bad not writing a review on this place sooner. Long overdue!!!

Room Tip: Look closely at the selection of rooms- they have a wide variety of features that are not in all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilion, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent three nights at the Harbor House Inn and loved every minute. Monica and Tom were perfect hosts. From their honest advice, good and bad, about where to eat, shop and play, to the spotless and comfortable room, the first rate breakfast and the view from their veranda, our stay was delightful. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Lots of steps, so the first floor room has easiest access to the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Property: Harbor House Inn
Address: 80 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From atop of McKown Hill in the heart of Boothbay Harbor, enjoy watching boating activity on the Bay in our quite, relaxed setting while being only a short walk from the docks, shops and restaurants. Six large rooms with private baths and king or queen beds are available. Each morning a hearty buffet breakfast is served with house specialties. Children and some pets are welcome. Ask about packages and specials rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing