We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Boothbay Harbor”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Venice, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great B&B in Boothbay Harbor”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed just for one night and we had to leave early in the morning, but the keepers had some breakfast ready for us anyway. Cozy, New England feeling. Great position, out of the traffic but close to the restaurants and shops. Very nice views from the porch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ftico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
188
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Harbor House Inn was exactly what we were looking for- a quaint, relaxing, and easy access to everything in the Harbor Area. Tom and Monica were excellent hosts; top rate hospitality. What I most enjoyed was the relaxed atmosphere in the breakfast room - they offered a variety of breakfast items within a reasonable time every morning. No stress to be at breakfast at a certain time. I will definitely return to Harbor House Inn.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Harbor House Inn. We had a little more relaxing time than when we were here last. It gave us more time to spend at the Inn and really enjoy the hospitality, the location and the views from our third floor room. The Inn is located on McKown Hill, one of the highest points in Boothbay Harbor and the views in all directions are spectacular. Normally both Tom and Monica Churchill would be our hosts for the weekend, but Monica was away. Tom carried on in the same manner as we came to expect from both of them. Over the last twenty years of visiting Boothbay Harbor we consider the Harbor House as one of our much loved Inns.

Room Tip: One of the two third floor rooms. 5 or 6, 5 is the bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent three nights at Harbor House and were sorry to leave. Its hilltop location (think cool breezes), our gracious hosts, and the beautiful views from the porches were a pleasure. Just like home, but with gorgeous scenery and much better breakfasts. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The walk to the waterfront is quick. We stayed in the KnotMuch room which was nicely decorated and very clean. The room is more spacious than we expected. The breakfasts were great.

Room Tip: Take a cruise on the water to learn how lobsters are caught. Take a sail on the LazyJack sailboat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I spent our 35th anniversary here. This B&B is on top of the highest point of the Boothbay Harbor peninsula. Many rooms at this and other lodgings in town offer close water views, but only in one direction. At Harbor House, splurge on Room #5 (Lotsa Room), the only room in town that has water views in three different directions and three different bodies of water: The East window looks out over the town and the river. The South picture window looks out over the large bay, viewing Burnt Island Lighthouse, and the open ocean. The West window looks out over the smaller bay. From the couch in the adjoining sitting area, relax and watch the schooners, tour boats, fishing boats, and private yachts going out into, and returning from, both bays. Even a great view of the west bay from the bathroom, which is very large and has a jacuzzi tub! The entire room is very spacious and has a comfortable bed, rocking chair, and other seating. Well worth the money for its size, furnishings, location, and those VIEWS. The house also has ample parking and is only a two block walk to the town, shops, and the wharf! The breakfasts, which consist of an extensive buffet including hot & cold drinks, fruit, cereals, breads, muffins and the like, accompanied by a daily hot specialty, are excellent! During the day, drinks, cookies and candies are available - just enough to take the edge of your hunger when returning from an adventure. Tom and Monica are terrific hosts and truly know the area to give great advice if you didn't thoroughly research the area. My wife and I have only been doing the B&B scene for about six years; mainly along the eastern seaboard and along the Chesapeake Bay. We do our research and look for great value for the buck. Harbor House, in Boothbay Harbor, is one of, if not THE best B&B we've found anywhere. So, if you are going to go to Boothbay Harbor and prefer the special attention that only a B&B can offer, you've gotta check this place out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanFam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, Maine
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have visited the Harbor House over many years now, and am in love with the inn, the hosts (and their four-legged greeters) and the location. Tom and Monica are founts of knowledge about the area and goings-on, but once you've sat on their fabulous wrap-around porch overlooking the harbor with a cup of coffee, some hot muffins or baked French toast, fresh fruit. . . you may not want to venture out at all. The Inn has so much originality and personality, and they have restored every original feature possible, and improved on those that could bring more comfort and beauty to the surroundings. Driving access is simple, the center of town is a short walk away, and cultural, social, water/boating and botanical venues are within short drives. Sitting at the top of the hill as it does, the Harbor House would seem to have proximity to the best of what Boothbay Harbor has to offer.

Room Tip: There is wonderful light and creature comforts in each room and all are unique. The 3rd floor suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Property: Harbor House Inn
Address: 80 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From atop of McKown Hill in the heart of Boothbay Harbor, enjoy watching boating activity on the Bay in our quite, relaxed setting while being only a short walk from the docks, shops and restaurants. Eight large rooms with private baths and king or queen beds are available. Each morning a hearty breakfast is served with house specialties. Ask about packages and specials rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing