We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbor House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topside Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagate Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boothbay Harbor Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mid-Town Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linekin Bay Resort(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
242
34
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
34
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bshort walkhill overlookingsmall hillbreakfast was deliciousfresh fruitcookieseach morningplace to stayhelpful with suggestionsthird floorcomfy bedcoffee teaview of the baylarge bathroomquicheair conditioner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 282 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The walk to the waterfront is quick. We stayed in the KnotMuch room which was nicely decorated and very clean. The room is more spacious than we expected. The breakfasts were great.

Room Tip: Take a cruise on the water to learn how lobsters are caught. Take a sail on the LazyJack sailboat. Reasonable costs and a great experience.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I spent our 35th anniversary here. This B&B is on top of the highest point of the Boothbay Harbor peninsula. Many rooms at this and other lodgings in town offer close water views, but only in one direction. At Harbor House, splurge on Room #5 (Lotsa Room), the only room in town that has water views in three different directions and three different bodies of water: The East window looks out over the town and the river. The South picture window looks out over the large bay, viewing Burnt Island Lighthouse, and the open ocean. The West window looks out over the smaller bay. From the couch in the adjoining sitting area, relax and watch the schooners, tour boats, fishing boats, and private yachts going out into, and returning from, both bays. Even a great view of the west bay from the bathroom, which is very large and has a jacuzzi tub! The entire room is very spacious and has a comfortable bed, rocking chair, and other seating. Well worth the money for its size, furnishings, location, and those VIEWS. The house also has ample parking and is only a two block walk to the town, shops, and the wharf! The breakfasts, which consist of an extensive buffet including hot & cold drinks, fruit, cereals, breads, muffins and the like, accompanied by a daily hot specialty, are excellent! During the day, drinks, cookies and candies are available - just enough to take the edge of your hunger when returning from an adventure. Tom and Monica are terrific hosts and truly know the area to give great advice if you didn't thoroughly research the area. My wife and I have only been doing the B&B scene for about six years; mainly along the eastern seaboard and along the Chesapeake Bay. We do our research and look for great value for the buck. Harbor House, in Boothbay Harbor, is one of, if not THE best B&B we've found anywhere. So, if you are going to go to Boothbay Harbor and prefer the special attention that only a B&B can offer, you've gotta check this place out!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanFam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have visited the Harbor House over many years now, and am in love with the inn, the hosts (and their four-legged greeters) and the location. Tom and Monica are founts of knowledge about the area and goings-on, but once you've sat on their fabulous wrap-around porch overlooking the harbor with a cup of coffee, some hot muffins or baked French toast, fresh fruit. . . you may not want to venture out at all. The Inn has so much originality and personality, and they have restored every original feature possible, and improved on those that could bring more comfort and beauty to the surroundings. Driving access is simple, the center of town is a short walk away, and cultural, social, water/boating and botanical venues are within short drives. Sitting at the top of the hill as it does, the Harbor House would seem to have proximity to the best of what Boothbay Harbor has to offer.

Room Tip: There is wonderful light and creature comforts in each room and all are unique. The 3rd floor suite is particularly luxurious yet still in an intimate, cottagey fashion
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Harbor House for two nights. Tom and Monica are great hosts, very friendly and helpful , recommending some great places to visit during our stay. Our room was clean, beautifully decorated and the breakfast was more than we expected, very delicious. Would love to go back again!

Room Tip: "Knot much room" is very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinceReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor House Inn for two nights and enjoyed the inn and the location. We tried in the "Other Room #7" - a good sized room with a wonderful cross breeze and a great deck out back. Tom and Monica were very accommodating innkeepers - they provided us with plenty of information on things to do in the area. The Inn is set up on a hill within walking distance to downtown Boothbay; yes, it's a walk down (or up) hill but that was fine for us. Breakfast was great and served within a hour and a half so there was plenty of flexibility. We had a special request during our trip and Tom was extremely gracious with our request which we really appreciated. The only 'complaint' and it's not really a complaint was the our room had non-existent wi-fi reception. While the Harbor House had wi-fi, it did not work in our room. As an avid iPad user, I would have preferred to have the capability of using it in my room. Other than that, our stay was great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews