We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay elsewhere.”
Review of The Thistle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Thistle Inn
Ranked #14 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Would stay elsewhere.”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at several B&B's on a trip along the Maine coastline. This was our only disappointment. Our reception was non existent. We stayed 2 nights. The Inn smells unpleasant. Our original room on the third floor was an embarrassment and should not be offered for occupancy. Luckily on our 2nd night a staff member allowed us to switch to a second floor room which which offered necessities such as light, ventilation and usable furniture. The computer for guest use is non existent. The coffee area was ill equipped and dirty. The breakfast was good. Typical snacks and beverages usually available at B&B's were not available.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. If you must stay here avoid the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryndan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    28
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
15
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I picked up my daughter in Boston after finishing her freshman year and arrived at the Inn in time for a late relaxing (and incredible) dinner before retiring to our very comfortable room. Having chatted with Max at great length while we ate - the exhausted now sophomore did not make it up in time for all of the activities of the Fisherman's Festival but we had lunch and toured the harbor and shops and relaxed again at the Inn before another outstanding dinner. Then touring light houses and the coast of Maine we found the Inn to always welcome us back. And the Mary Day room was perfect for getting a little work caught up each morning. We would definitely recommend The Thistle Inn for your stay in Boothbay Harbor and the restaurant is not to miss.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Really lovely place - was travelling for business and found myself with an overnight in Boothbay Harbor. Found this place with online reservations. Hosts were lovely - room was clean, comfortable and spacious! Space is not something you find often in old New England Inns. I arrived at happy hour and the pub is clearly a favorite with locals as well as tourists. Nice conversations over dinner and the owner/chef made a point of visiting with folks.

Room Tip: I stayed in the only room downstairs - close to the private entrance and parking. Very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curleykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Thistle Inn was originally built as a residence in the 1860's for a sea captain . . . Reed. One can only imagine what Booth Bay Harbor was like back then . . . Captain Reed returning from a voyage, crossing the large granite stoop, opening the door, ascending the narrow steps, traversing the wide pine planks. He was to leave later in the 1860's for another voyage, sure to turn one last time for one more look at his happy home he was sad to leave before boarding the ship, but just as surely not . . . ever to return. Lost at sea was his final distinction upon this earth; yet, that notoriety rests with the Captain . . . beneath the waves.

We walked the footprint of this hallowed home with the respect and reverence it was due. The wind did blow, the leaves did rustle, the house did speak in the stillness of the night. We were never afraid for we knew that he knew . . . we were there only for a brief stay.

Room Tip: Go online to choose your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First

The Good;

Excellent restaurant. The Inn has both a Pub menu and a Full Gourmet Menu. The Tuna Tar Tar appetizer was a meal in itself. The Lobster wrapped in puff pastry was 5 stars as well. The Lobster and Filet Mignon were both cooked perfect as was the Lazy Man's Lobster. You can't go wrong in this restaurant. There is an extensive Wine List as well.

The Breakfast was acceptable but the omelet was a collapsed egg wrapper filled with some over cooked veggies. Blueberry Pancakes were excellent. Real Maple syrup. Coffee good, not exceptional.

One negative comment.

My wife and I ate dinner out one night. We returned to the inn and went to the bar for a "night cap". We sat down at the bar, right next to the register, where the barmaid was having a social conversation with another woman. She ignored us for over a minute or two. Her friend left and the barmaid still ignored us by staring into the point of sale computer. We simply got up and left. Max lost a $15 sale and the barkeep a $5 tip. Oh well. Strange Days indeed.



The Bad:
Housekeeping really lacked a genuine effort to keep our room clean. We checked in to find long and curly black hairs in the tub, on the sink, and stuck along top of the baseboard radiator covers. Dust "bunnies" rolled around the bedroom like sage brush along the desert floor. We complied with the "green request" by using our towels more than one night.. We left them in the hamper on the 2nd night only to return on that day to find we were shorted one hand towel, no bath mat and one less facecloth. Oh well. We opened the windows only to find filthy window sills. Black dirt along each and every one. I don't think the bathroom or the bedroom had been dusted in a very long time. We had asked Max, the owner, to please have the bath cleaned properly. He said he had been having a "problem" lately with housekeeping but would take care of it "tomorrow". Tomorrow never came.

The Ugly:

The Sherman Zwicker Room

The room sorely needs a new carpet and redecoration. The furnishings, except for the bed, are a mismatched collection of old furniture that one would likely see in a yard sale. The small dorm size refrigerator sits on the floor! One has to bend over to place or take out a beverage. A small table for it would be the obvious solution. The room is dark because the three lamps provide very little illumination. There is no overhead lighting in the room. One can not easily read after the sun goes down. Three windows provide good day light but are festooned with long dark silky curtains one has to slide along the top curtain rod to open. The TV is a small computer monitor with about a 14" screen. No exterior speakers as they are built into the monitor providing a tin can type broadcast. I don't understand why there is no HD TV attached to the wall. The bed, which takes up most of the room, maybe comfortable for those who like to sleep on a rock, but soft is not how I would describe it. My back muscles were twisted into a spastic reaction every morning upon rising from the mattress.

In summary, I would recommend the restaurant but would opt for accommodations elsewhere in Booth Bay Harbor until there is a major make over of the Thistle Inn rooms if every one is a bad as the one we were assigned named the Sherman Zwicker.

Ca'mon Max, reinvest some of your capital back into the Inn. Get a table for the frig. Install a flat screen HD TV on the wall., and spring for a new Chinese rug to replace the worn and tattered one in the Swicker room now. Try brightening up the room with brighter curtains and better lamps that emit brighter light. And finally get your housekeeper to clean those filthy window sills and teach them how to vacuum and use cleaning materials like the Swiffer. Go for it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brien33731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I love to travel and we were very impressed with this Inn. We stayed in the Timberwind and loved the privacy and private entrance. It was a lovely place and we enjoyed every aspect of our stay here. From the quaint location, to the comfortable and private room with the sky light and open windows to enjoy the salty breeze. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast on the patio. The patio reminded me of being in a tree house, the branches are all around you with strewn lights hanging. It was a lovely place and I would recommend any couple to stay there for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: We chose the Timberwind so we could have a private entrance and also be away from the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeFox2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Property: The Thistle Inn
Address: 55 Oak St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1818
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle Inn is a historic sea captains home that offers 5 elegantly appointed rooms in addition to a fine dining restaurant, pub and wine store. A continental breakfast starts out your day of exploring the beautiful coast line and town of Boothbay Harbor. The Thistle Inn is for those that enjoy the convenience of an on site restaurant, elegant rooms and a perfect homebase for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing