We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed.”
Review of Ports of Italy

Ports of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come and explore the cuisine of the Ports of Italy from our cozy restaurant on the waterfront in Boothbay Harbor.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not to be missed.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Hard to choose Italian when you're in a seafood town, but don't let this place slip by. Charming restaurant and outstanding food. They get very busy so sit back and enjoy your meal. We shared a fennel salad and each had pasta. The other couple also shared a salad and she had an appetizer for her meal, which was more than enough. All four of us were very pleased. Our friends were staying a week in Booth Bay - said they definitely would have one more dinner here.

Helpful?
Thank shesailedvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    175
    58
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had Prosciutto Di Parma & Melone which was amazing. Then I loved my roasted suckling pig that i had there and my wife had handmade veal and pork stuffed ravioli which she loved as well. Good food and nice ambiance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank deepdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have been to Ports of Italy before last Monday, but again we had an excellent meal, service and ambiance. Love this restaurant with so many choices of where to sit: main dining room, the bar and the balcony. We cannot say enough about Ports of Italy. My husband travels all over the country and eats at fine dining establishments often, and he said this is his favorite!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank clare n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
421 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Italian on the porch”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Given that Boothbay Harbor is a tourist destination, Ports is a step above the usual red gravy Italian--with a very welcoming maitre d'. Located on the 2nd floor with both indoor and outdoor porch seating, the food here is consistently good. There is a variety of pasta and meat dishes as well as an especially light and summery fennel and orange salad. A favorite of ours is the veal saltimbocca. They also have an antipasto buffet of a number of cold vegetables and the like.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the hassle”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

First of all, I understand that many restaurants around need to take reservations, I get it. But for a Sunday night with only 2 people we get an incredibly rude host who seemed bothered by us that we didn't even have a reservation? And instead of pleasantly telling us it would be 15, 30, or even 45 minute wait, he walks away and points at 2 seats buried at the end of the bar if we want to sit there--and we never saw him again.

We've heard the food is quite good here, but honestly, we want the full experience--we don't always go to a restaurant JUST for the food--this place has barely a view of the harbor (not worth it in my opinion), no outdoor seating, and clearly no good first point of contact.

We won't be going back, instead we went to Brown's Wharf--excellent 5 star restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Btetrault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Italy also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ports of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing