We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ports of Italy

Ports of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come and explore the cuisine of the Ports of Italy from our cozy restaurant on the waterfront in Boothbay Harbor.
USAFret
Level Contributor
239 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Italian dinner”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It had been two years since we visited Ports of Italy and I am happy to say it is just as great as I remembered it. The porchetta di ariccia is simply outstanding. Other dishes are very good as well. There is an extensive wine list. The staff, lead by the owner, is very friendly and attentive. This is not simply a neighborhood Italian restaurant it is one of the best places in the Boothbay region.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USAFret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    170
    57
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Food is excellent, NOISE is not!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After summer, the outside covered patio is enclosed to become the dining room. With concrete floor and hard wall and ceiling finishes, it is bad! No soft surfaces, Decible Rating in the 90's and not a pleasant space to enjoy what, otherwise, would be a wonderful dining experience. I would limit it to a summer visit, when the plastic wind shields are not in place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkefaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Italian/seafood fusion”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

An authentic Italian restaurant in the heart of Boothbay Harbour. Try the "Lob-stah" ravioli, and match with an Italian red.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heaven on a plate”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have eaten here for the last five years. I recommend the parking lot in the back of the restaurant with an enterace, Epecially good for older patrons that do not or cannot climb the steps from Commercial street. The food and service for the last five years have been constantly outstanding! Upon arrivial we were greeted by the owner who treated us like he was glad to see us, for me service and how your treated is as important as the food. Since we had reservations we were seated immediately. I feel that making resverations is a good idea no matter how busy or not a restaurant is. We were seated out on the deck, since it was an October evening the plastic was down and a heater was on. The space was very warm and comfortable.with a good view of the old homes in town. After talking to the owner for a while our water came over introduced himself and explained the specials and took our drink order. the wine list is extensive with a wide variety of wines. I ordered the lamb chops and my wife had the suckling pig, called porkchettia. Both dishes came with roasted potatoes and spinich. The three double lamb chops were cook perfectly, my wifes porkchetta was outstanding! For desert we shared the strawberries with age balsamic vingar and whipped cream. I would put the food and service here up against any Michlin star restaurant in the world.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DennisR245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved this restaurant-the food was great, the menu extensive with true Italian dishes. My husband had the suckling pig and it was fantastic. We had great service, the owner was helping out as they were very busy. It was just a wonderful evening, hope to return on our next trip. If I had any complaint I wish they had more parking. I know they have some behind the restaurant but it was full the night we were there and it was raining.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mgl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Italy also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ports of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing