We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professionals”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ports of Italy

Ports of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come and explore the cuisine of the Ports of Italy from our cozy restaurant on the waterfront in Boothbay Harbor.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Professionals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

In a sea or ordinary at high tide prices, this restaurant outclasses the rest and sets the bar in the harbor. I've had three meals in the past two months and each as good as the last. Service is attentive without being intrusive, and though the prices are equal to the competition, the value far exceeds them. This would be the place for the special meal on your vacation - and trust Sante (the owner) for wine selection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank island04575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    170
    57
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Firstclass dining in Booth Bay Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Solid menu, delightful staff, nice wine list, and delicious food make this a must stop in Booth Bay Harbor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy4334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caibou, Maine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited the Ports of Italy on two occasions, once mid-summer and just recently in September. We were introduced to this Gem last summer on a weekend trip to Boothbay Harbor. We cannot say enough about this amazing restaurant. The Owner Sante is always on the floor. The staff is top notch from beginning to end. The wait staff is extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of the dining experience. Wonderful drink and wine suggestions and they make each special sound delicious before you get your plate, it makes it hard to make a decision. All the Pasta is homemade, well everything is homemade. The food is not only delicious with mouthwatering with so many flavors, the plates are works of art, you hate to even dig into, But you do. We look forward to visiting next season and wish the entire staff a wonderful winter break.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBSHOSPITALITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Food was excellent, reasonably priced, and the service was crisp and efficient. We were there for dinner on a Sunday and ate on the upstairs patio. Although it got crowded as the time passed, we never felt rushed, nor was the noise level so high that we could not hear each other.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjrpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Return to a good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have made several trips to the Boothbay area over the past 15 years. Each time we have had dinner at the Ports of Italy and have not been disappointed. We again went a week ago and found the food delicious as always. However even though we were "off season" the restaurant was very crowded and noisy. It was our 25 anniversary and we were hoping for a quiet, romantic evening so we were a bit disappointed. However, the food did not disappoint us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelor124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Italy also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ports of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing