We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic dinner”
Review of Ports of Italy

Ports of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come and explore the cuisine of the Ports of Italy from our cozy restaurant on the waterfront in Boothbay Harbor.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were touring Maine for fall color in mid October and stayed in Boothbay for a couple of days. Unfortunately, many businesses and lodging have closed for the season, even though it was a fantastic time of year to enjoy the color. Lucky for us the Ports of Italy was still open! Best food and service ever. We had starters, salad, dinner and dessert and cappuccino. Everything was first class, fast and delicious. I believe they are probably closed by now for the season, but be sure to visit, because after eating non-stop seafood on our trip, the Italian food was wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    173
    57
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The outside dining and food were lovely. We would went back twice and each time was as good as the last.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MukiAndFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Twice this year”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This fine Italian restaurant is a regular stop for us on our annual trips to Maine. This year we enjoyed two fine meals, one outside on the deck and one inside near the bar. Although we prefer the deck, we met some interesting folks near our table at the bar. The lobster risotto is one of our favorite entrees and the caprese salad is a unique presentation. Service from Tony was great with gentle guidance to dishes we should consider.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring tx
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“doesn't get any better than this”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Food (pasta excellent sauce), pork dish a house speciality enough for 2 and outstanding, and steak with cheese also wonderful
owner used to be a NYC chef so all the stops pulled out for this restaurant to have high quality and freshness, excellent wines, and huge portions
it was just the thing when we were tired of one more lobster meal

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lynn48SpringTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Columbus weekend 2012”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We are frequent visitors to BBH. We had been meaning to try Ports of Italy for awhile. We finally had the opportunity last Saturday night. We arrived at around 5:00 and were told by the owner that we should have made a reservation but he said he could seat us. We opted to sit at the bar because we like eating at bars in general. The bartender and other wait staff were very attentive and helpful. The food was amazing. I had a frutti di mare dish with black ink pasta. My spouse had pasta Bolognese which was to die for. I am from an Italian family and learned how to cook from my mother who was and outstanding Italian cook. Therefore, I am quite critical of restaurant Italian food as she was. I cannot say enough about the food at Ports of Italy. It was probably the best I have ever had and that includes restaurants in Boston where I am from. Everything was delicious. Yes, the owner was a bit surly but hey, if you're serving food that good, I guess you have a right to be a little arrogant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaze49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Italy also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ports of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing